On 3 units any thoughts 12/6 Bailie AMPS 351 @+4 328

Your previous post for continuity
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-1-bailie-amps-17-9-4-7-2-thoughts.284158/#post-3128593
@Nancyco*
What dosing method are you following? Can you please add that to your signature and spreadsheet so members know :cat:
I had somebody do the signature for me. I don’t know how to do that. I will see if she will help me. I think I’m using the start logo slow but I’ve got a problem with my vet. And it’s a long story.
 
I had somebody do the signature for me. I don’t know how to do that. I will see if she will help me. I think I’m using the start logo slow but I’ve got a problem with my vet. And it’s a long story.
OK if you want to try and add SLGS to your signature I can tell you how to do it
Tap on your name up top, then tap on the word signature add SLGS and then tap save. If you don't feel comfortable trying to do it yourself I can tag Chris to do it for you
Are you feeding any dry food at all?
 
OK if you want to try and add SLGS to your signature I can tell you how to do it
Tap on your name up top, then tap on the word signature add SLGS and then tap save. If you don't feel comfortable trying to do it yourself I can tag Chris to do it for you
Are you feeding any dry food at all?
OK I did it. Thank you so much. That was pretty easy. Lol. OK here’s the problem. I had him fully switched over to Dr. Elsie’s from Farmina NND weight management. However, he was having problems pooping. And he had to get an enema . So I then put him back on Farmina for a couple of days and felt guilty so I added back the Dr.Esleys now he is having poop problems again so I am mixing the food . he also is not a wet food eater. I got him as a dry food junkie. I’m so upset about it but I try every single day to give him wet. I found one that he’s kind of liking it’s called finicky cat it’s seafood though. Anyways, I don’t know what to do about the constipation issue. He is also on restore lax. Maybe that’s why his numbers are going up
 
I’m trying to put the heading correctly . I forgot that there was a way to do it. So I was trying to erase that.
Do you mean your title?
This is how I would do it, ? On 3 units Any Thoughts 12-6 Bailie AMPS-351 @+4 328
To change look to the right of your post you will see the word Thread Title , tap on that , then tap on Edit Title , you can erase

Bailie Lantus 3.00 any thoughts and type what I said
Then tap save when you want to add more BG numbers to your title do the same thing tap on Thread Tools, then tap on Edit Title add more tests that you did , you can add the PMPS BG also and any other tests after that
 
Last edited:
Do you mean your title?
This is how I would do it, ? On 3 units Any Thoughts 12-6 Bailie AMPS-351 @+4 328
To change look to the right of your post you will see the word Thread Title , tap on that , then tap on Edit Title , you can erase

Bailie Lantus 3.00 any thoughts and type what I said
Then tap save when you want to add more BG numbers to your title do the same thing tap on Thread Tools, then tap on Edit Title add note tests that you did , you can add the PMPS BG also and any other tests after that
Ok I will try thanks so much I feel stupid lol
 
Ok I will try thanks so much I feel stupid lol
Hi Nancy, don’t ever feel stupid! We were all new here and we are all still learning every single day. Welcome to you and your beautiful Bailie!
You are in good hands. Diane has guided you well already.
I’m sure that some of the experts whom she tagged will weigh in and give you some good advice.

You could possibly try some psyllium husk for constipation. I use one to two pinches with each feeding and that seems to keep Ivy pretty regular.
There’s lots of suggestions here you could always do a search for constipation and see what recommendations come up. I hope this helps.
I wish you the best of luck with your sweet kitty. :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Nancy, don’t ever feel stupid! We were all new here and we are all still learning every single day. Welcome to you and your beautiful Bailie!
You are in good hands. Diane has guided you well already.
I’m sure that some of the experts whom she tagged will weigh in and give you some good advice.

You could possibly try some psyllium husk for constipation. I use one to two pinches with each feeding and that seems to keep Ivy pretty regular.
There’s lots of suggestions here you could always do a search for constipation and see what recommendations come up. I hope this helps.
I wish you the best of luck with your sweet kitty. :bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much you are so sweet .
 
I know you are having problems with your vet but it’s hard to advise on dosing when not following a method . It doesn’t need to be one of ours until after the dental and even then a modified method is possible. We call that custom. Since you are feeding dry food it’s not suggested that you increase sooner than 6 cycles when the nadirs are over 250 and with SLGS it’s 7 days before a change. Maybe lower your reduction point to 70 until the dental or you see better bg. Add custom dosing to your signature.

Please ask for dosing advice before making changes.


You aren’t stupid. Feline diabetes is complicated. Keep asking questions.
 
I know you are having problems with your vet but it’s hard to advise on dosing when not following a method . It doesn’t need to be one of ours until after the dental and even then a modified method is possible. We call that custom. Since you are feeding dry food it’s not suggested that you increase sooner than 6 cycles when the nadirs are over 250 and with SLGS it’s 7 days before a change. Maybe lower your reduction point to 70 until the dental or you see better bg. Add custom dosing to your signature.

Please ask for dosing advice before making changes.


You aren’t stupid. Feline diabetes is complicated. Keep asking questions.
Do you think the 3 units could be too much ?
 
I don’t understand what you mean by the reduction point sorry. Could you tell me what that means?

With our SLGS method you reduce the dose if the bg is under 90. That’s why you reduced to 2.75 because the bg was at 77. I’m suggesting you reduce if 70 since you have your vet issues. I think 3.0 is ok for now. Does that make sense?
 
With our SLGS method you reduce the dose if the bg is under 90. That’s why you reduced to 2.75 because the bg was at 77. I’m suggesting you reduce if 70 since you have your vet issues. I think 3.0 is ok for now. Does that make sense?
I’m so sorry No I don’t quite understand
 
With our SLGS method you reduce the dose if the bg is under 90. That’s why you reduced to 2.75 because the bg was at 77. I’m suggesting you reduce if 70 since you have your vet issues. I think 3.0 is ok for now. Does that make sense?
Just read it back and converted the numbers yes I think I know what you mean .
 
I’m so upset about it but I try every single day to give him wet. I found one that he’s kind of liking it’s called finicky cat it’s seafood though. Anyways, I don’t know what to do about the constipation issue. He is also on restore lax. Maybe that’s why his numbers are going up

Have you tried the Chunky Chicken Fancy Feast? Or the "flaked"? Sometimes texture is a big deal in whether a cat will eat something or not.

The Restorlax wouldn't cause his BG to rise. A lot of us have used it. There's nothing in it that would raise the BG.

I think you just haven't hit a good dose for her yet, and of course, the dental disease is a factor that can raise the BG too. I'd hold the 3U dose for now and let's see how she's doing this weekend.

ETA: You also need to make a firm decision about if you're going to follow our dosing method or you're going to do what your vet tells you to do. I know you've been concerned in the past about your vet telling you one thing and us telling you another, but we need to know which you're going to do. If you do our SLGS dosing method, then we will be able to help you with when to increase as well as when to decrease, but if you're going to do what your vet tells you, it makes it pretty impossible for us to help you much. We'd still try, but we know how our dosing methods work and our advice comes from those dosing methods, not your vets.

Also, you don't need to worry about putting your spreadsheet link in your post. It's in your Signature now so every time you post, we can see it.

upload_2023-12-6_14-15-14.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-6_14-15-14.png
    upload_2023-12-6_14-15-14.png
    104.3 KB · Views: 215
Last edited:
Have you tried the Chunky Chicken Fancy Feast? Or the "flaked"? Sometimes texture is a big deal in whether a cat will eat something or not.

The Restorlax wouldn't cause his BG to rise. A lot of us have used it. There's nothing in it that would raise the BG.

I think you just haven't hit a good dose for her yet, and of course, the dental disease is a factor that can raise the BG too. I'd hold the 3U dose for now and let's see how she's doing this weekend.

ETA: You also need to make a firm decision about if you're going to follow our dosing method or you're going to do what your vet tells you to do. I know you've been concerned in the past about your vet telling you one thing and us telling you another, but we need to know which you're going to do. If you do our SLGS dosing method, then we will be able to help you with when to increase as well as when to decrease, but if you're going to do what your vet tells you, it makes it pretty impossible for us to help you much. We'd still try, but we know how our dosing methods work and our advice comes from those dosing methods, not your vets.

Also, you don't need to worry about putting your spreadsheet link in your post. It's in your Signature now so every time you post, we can see it.

View attachment 68234
Ok thank you .
 
Back
Top