Ollie, Thread 2: adjustment 25 May

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I actually need to ignore those pictures then if we don't have them here in Australia.
This is very confusing. I'll go and have a look at the syringe again and see what I can figure out.
If I'm not confident, he will go without.
 
The first line you have on the U100 syringe is the zero line like in the picture.
The only difference is that the smaller 1/2 unit markings, which are in between each one unit line.
 
Okay, here are two syringes, both with water.

The U100, .3 ml, is at the 2nd line.
The U40 is 1.0 ml is pictured at his usual dose which I don't want to repeat.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6910.jpeg
    IMG_6910.jpeg
    72.2 KB · Views: 113
If each increment, or line is 1 unit, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. I am at 0.2 unit line which equals .1 UC of Caninsulin.

I was at 1.0 unit of caninsulin, and I am reducing to .1 UC of Caninsulin.

Correct?

I think that's correct.

Current BG: 12.38 (for my records)
 
The U100, .3 ml, is at the 2nd line.
This is 2 units. You don't want this much.
That is 8 x too much insulin

each increment, or line is 1 unit, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. I am at 0.2 unit line which equals .1 UC of Caninsulin.

I was at 1.0 unit of caninsulin, and I am reducing to .1 UC of Caninsulin.

Correct?

I think that's correct.
No this is not correct.
Each of the lines in the U100 syringe is 1 unit. so if you look you will see 1,2,3,4,5. That is 5 units.
Then it goes to 10, 15, 20, 25, 30...that is 30 units.
If you want 0.1 of caninsulin you need to draw up 0.2 on the U100 syringe which is 1/4 of one of those lines
 
1/4 of one of these lines! That's so tiny!

Ok. I'm going to start at the first line, then reduce to half of that, then, half of that.

And post a picture. it barely moves, but that's how I'll measure it.

Here's the pic. I have the insulin with me, water in this picture though.
 
Hopefully you can see the picture above, Post #58.

I pulled to the first line. Then halved it, then halved that.

It equates to a drop of water but I know a drop of insulin is powerful.
 
Okay. His BG is only 9.9 mmol now.

Trying to make it even smaller. I was hoping it would be easier with the smaller .3 needle. it's delicate work. Barely off zero.

IMG_6914.jpeg
IMG_6913.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6914.jpeg
    IMG_6914.jpeg
    49.7 KB · Views: 205
  • IMG_6913.jpeg
    IMG_6913.jpeg
    47.1 KB · Views: 215
Yes, I'll try and take a better one. I appreciate your patience with me and the technology. Can you see the dribble on my finger?
 
And again, lightened.

This is using the new syringes, U100 .3 ml
Screenshot 2023-05-28 at 9.34.26 pm.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2023-05-28 at 9.34.26 pm.jpeg
    Screenshot 2023-05-28 at 9.34.26 pm.jpeg
    20.2 KB · Views: 209
BG 9.8 mmol.

After all that, i'm tempted to skip the dose unless he hits 11.

What do you think of the lightened pic, Bron?
 
Yes, I have given larger amounts with lower pre-shots, that's true.

I am home tomorrow from until about 11.00 am. My ONLINE exam goes live at 9 am. It goes for 130 mins. Then he goes to the vet at 11.30 am for another antibiotic shot and mouth check.

Then he gets dropped home, and I go back to work until 4.30 pm.
 
Last edited:
Well it is up to you whether you give the dose or not. You need to feel comfortable.
I would stick with the dose you have just drawn up unless it is proved to be too much or too little.
If you gave the dose now, you can't give the dose until 9.30 tomorrow morning which might be hard if you are in the middle of an exam.
The other option is to skip tonight and give the am dose at an earlier time slot. That will give you a few hours to see how the dose works before you have to drop him home again.
Good luck with the exam tomorrow!
 
Great ideas, Bron. Thank you for sticking with us.

I will get up at 6 am, and give him a dose and supervise it while I continue prep.

I need every single point of this exam, it's so hard. Thanks for the well-wishes.

I'll also start a new thread Bron. This one is v. long now.

Thanks heaps.
 
Just put skip in the SS so we can see what you have done.
Give him a good feed and then hopefully you can both sleep well.
Keep that syringe as a sample one but make sure you mark it in some way, so you don't get them mixed up:eek:
Let us know how he gets on at the vet and how the exam went!
 
Whew! This thread is very confusing to me (not your fault, my fault) because of all the different syringes, etc. I'm just very happy that you are now giving Ollie a smaller dose. You can always go back up if necessary. It's true that the vet's statement about the daily numbers not being important -- but what's important are the numbers over a week or two -- makes no sense! Daily numbers are important, since it only takes a really low number on one day... one hour... to send a cat into a symptomatic hypo! So how can daily numbers not be important? Anyway, I don't think y'all need me to tell you that. I hope all goes well on the exam and hope that Ollie's dental checkup is all good news. Oh, and I'm also really glad to see that Ollie's fur seems to be growing back (in the photo.)

Is it possible to get Ollie on a better insulin now that the dental is over? ProZinc or Lantus (Optisulin, right?) Weren't you going to look into that after the dental procedure was complete?
 
hi Suzanne and Darcy!

Yes, it's a confusing thread, we went back and forth, and also when I get overwhelmed I just can't take in or retain new knowledge, so it's my fault too. I repeat information and fail to comprehend simple things. I'm also studying masters level forensic science and about to sit a calculus/algebra exam (in 9 hours) working full time in senior leadership mental health and recently bought/moved into a new house. It's full on and this busy state contributes here sadly.

Yes, I have asked about changing to Optisulin. Initially, the vet was okay with changing, but for this recovery period she wanted to keep it as is. Probably just to reduce another variable in the recovery.

She was 'surprised' to see him on Caninsulin and I was relieved that I didn't have to convince her. I will ask again tomorrow about changing it when she too, can't ignore his recovery.

If you have any pros/cons on Caninsulin against Optisulin, I'm happy to use that knowledge in my chat with her.

I'll keep you informed x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top