Ole's curve AMPS 546 +2 444 +4 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Hi!

Ole's first curve. We are new to this forum, and my vet is completely on board with the changes that we make going forward. I think I just wanted to take a curve to see where we are as I have never done one. I can work from home today, so when opportunity strikes... Ole weighed 8.6 lbs this morning before breakfast and I believe his ideal weight is 9-11 lbs, but will check on that.

He has been on lantus since 6/20/13 after starting on Humulin upon diagnosis on 4/25/13. His current dosage is 5 units 2x/day which he began 12/13/13. His history is on his spread sheet.

Thanks again!
Rebekah
 
Welcome to LL, Rebekah and Ole!!! Great job with getting some tests in, and it's great that your vetty is on board! One thing we do strongly suggest is also getting evening tests in...especially a "before bed" test, because kitties sometimes like to go low at night, plus it really helps fill in the pieces of the puzzle. Please feel free to ask as many questions as you need...we're one big family here, and the knowledge and moral support are immense!
 
Hi Rebekah!

It looks like he was on Lantus, went I to remission, got pancreatitis and is now back. The starting ford for those using a TR protocol is .25u/kg of ideal weight. When he was first started on Lantus, 1u would have been a good dose for him and that is where i would have have started him back instead of 2u.

I'm sure this is redundant so please forgive me but, when he came out of remission, you started him 2u which is much higher then what he was on before and you did several 1u dose increases. We usually do not increase more than .25u if nadirs are less than 300 and we hold doses a little longer (generally 3 days) for high numbers.

I'm glad you took his dose down. If the dose was too high, it might take at least six cycles to drain the depot from that higher dose.

Please let us know your questions....we're happy to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top