Oldie needs some advice... Vomiting and BG is 36 at +10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Member Since 2009
Hi all - Tiggy has been well regulated for several years on a tiny dose of Levemir.

This summer, he got a URI (sneezing, coughing and mild reduction in appetite) and started antibiotics last Monday.

He started vomiting, and today can't seem to hold his food down. At +10, his BG is 36. After offering fortiflora on his canned food, offering high carb FF -- I offered him some Wilderness dry food (18% carbs). He ate some and within 20 minutes - puked it up.

Since he has been off his food, we've been giving half doses anyway - but now he can't seem to hold down food.

He is being affectionate (more than usual) and no symptoms of Hypo. He wants to eat, but reluctant after several puking events in the last week.

At what point do I take him back to the vet? he still has 3 more days of Antibiotics.
 
What antibiotic, Phoebe? Could also try Pepcid A/C in the a.m. and a cerenia at night. Mishka is on both and with the cerenia she is 5 days on, 2 days off. Has Tiggy ever been on this particular antibiotic before?
 
He is on Clavamox, which he has used before, but the vet increased the dose this time because last time, it took 20 days to clear up infection (again URI).

I have some Pepcid AC. Is Cerenia prescription / veterinary or available OTC?
 
Cerenia I always get from the vet. Tiny, oval shaped pill that I cut into 1/4's and can hardly find that 1/4 piece to get into Mishka. Could be Clavamox is doing it. Was a culture done on the urine?
 
Sorry, had UTI in mind, not URI. Weather is no help either. I always gave a med max of 3 days and with no sign of improvement I would ask vet for a different med.
Hope Tiggy gets better soon but ask for Cerenia tomorrow.....Pepcid a.m. and cerenia p.m.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top