OK - so a 68 at PS all of a sudden?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I raised him back to .7u as suggested by Vicky (was going to do it anyway :roll: ) and he has been settling to some lower PS (low 200s - mid 100s) pretty nicely. Then all of a sudden today he is 68? And this is 2 hours after eating.

I wonder if that was why he went from his normal cuddle/neck scritches to attacking my hands and biting and kicking pretty hard (about an hour before his PS) which is not his norm. Wonder how low he was then....

I am holding off on the dose to retest in a bit. Oh, wait, I know why he is doing this ohmygod_smile . I was supposed to leave in a few minutes to go to my aunts AND I was going to move him earlier tonight and tomorrow am (by 3 hrs) for my cat sitter as I am going out of town over the weekend.
 
Where on earth did that number come from?!?! My Oscar did the same thing to me this morning too actually. He likes to zoom after eating in the morning, so I just gave his regular dose and tested again in 2 hours just to double check he was going to follow his pattern.

If you test again and he is at least holding steady, then you can either give a reduced dose or a regular dose and feed a good amount. He should come up because of the food. Will you be able to sneak back in sometime today to do a spot check?
 
I ended up deciding to skip the shot until I got back and could test him. This isn't something I would have done if I had not needed to move him early by 3 hours in the next few days ON TOP of the low PS. So I shot a full dose at +19 and on a 251.

Now, of course, I h ave to move him later by a few hours.... :roll:
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I raised him back to .7u as suggested by Vicky (was going to do it anyway :roll: ) and he has been settling to some lower PS (low 200s - mid 100s) pretty nicely. Then all of a sudden today he is 68? And this is 2 hours after eating.

I wonder if that was why he went from his normal cuddle/neck scritches to attacking my hands and biting and kicking pretty hard (about an hour before his PS) which is not his norm. Wonder how low he was then....

I am holding off on the dose to retest in a bit. Oh, wait, I know why he is doing this ohmygod_smile . I was supposed to leave in a few minutes to go to my aunts AND I was going to move him earlier tonight and tomorrow am (by 3 hrs) for my cat sitter as I am going out of town over the weekend.


Now that will get your attention -- actually I think it is very positive (all apart from Jeddie's ability to steer your social schedule with his glucose). Not because the number is so low, but because it requires some explanation being at AM check -- it is data. Looks like you did not recheck (with his ear sensitivity I don't blame you) for a fluke strip, etc. I was looking at Jeddie's chart earlier -- think you have been doing a super job... I had a couple of other comments, but will hold off to see how the .7u delayed works out (I would not have raised.. how often have you heard me say that? lol).

PS I got the Denamarin .. what kind of pill pockets do you recommend?

Ilkka
 
I just use the regular pill pockets, but only a half of one for Beau's thyroid med and about a 6th of one to just wrap Jeddie's prozac (so it is like a coating on it) because I have to still pill Jeddie but keep him from tasting the med. Beau will politely take the pill pocket from my fingers and eat it. I know the regular ones have one of the sugars in them (sucrose? dextrose?) but I am giving only a tiny amount. The allergy ones (duck and pea) don't have sugar, but they sort of fall apart and they are really stinky.

Ilkka, why would you have not raised the dose? Do you mean when I raised him to .7u, or do you mean raising him above .7u? I am not thinking of raising him right now. As for raising him up to .7u, I did that because he was not getting very low nadirs - not below mid-upper 100s.

I didn't test again yesterday because I have never had a test strip fluke like that. I always assume a faulty test strip will give an error code. And its funny, I read people suggesting a testing error when the number is unexpectedly low, but not when it is unexpectedly high... why is that?

He didn't get out of the 200s today, apparently. (haven't updated his SS yet).
 
Re: OK - so a 68 at PS all of a sudden? +some data thoughts

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
I just use the regular pill pockets, but only a half of one for Beau's thyroid med and about a 6th of one to just wrap Jeddie's prozac (so it is like a coating on it) because I have to still pill Jeddie but keep him from tasting the med. Beau will politely take the pill pocket from my fingers and eat it. I know the regular ones have one of the sugars in them (sucrose? dextrose?) but I am giving only a tiny amount. The allergy ones (duck and pea) don't have sugar, but they sort of fall apart and they are really stinky.

Ilkka, why would you have not raised the dose? Do you mean when I raised him to .7u, or do you mean raising him above .7u? I am not thinking of raising him right now. As for raising him up to .7u, I did that because he was not getting very low nadirs - not below mid-upper 100s.

I didn't test again yesterday because I have never had a test strip fluke like that. I always assume a faulty test strip will give an error code. And its funny, I read people suggesting a testing error when the number is unexpectedly low, but not when it is unexpectedly high... why is that?

He didn't get out of the 200s today, apparently. (haven't updated his SS yet).

Sheila, thanks.. btw.. got the pill pockets yesterday, success! Tom ate the Denamarin without a hitch -- am astonished. I thought he would detect the evil tasting med hidden inside. May seem like a small thing, but it is a discovery...

Re the test strip -- you're right that people don't re-run the test when the results are out of line high... and they should. It's a problem with how we view data -- which is, selectively. However a very low reading at PS poses probably more consequences for dosing, than a single high number. Case in point, you delayed the shot and that was right. You can't take insulin back once injected...

The reason I said I may not have raised is that a PS of 68 is too weird, not business as usual.
  • [edited: deleted rest of paragraph.. I had misread something... thought you were planning to raise more, but you were already there...duh.. ]

This is not the place to go into detail about this, but I actually like to see numbers like that because they defy the regular explanations. Whatever they are, if they are real readings, they are also data. It seems to that some kind of framework for understanding "anomalies" is needed. Truly wonky numbers are meaningful and all those patterns that don't fit our preconceptions are as important as the ones that do. Sometimes the exception proves the rule; at other times, the exception proves the rule is broken. I think our understanding sugar cat dynamics is going to be radically revised in the coming decade. Were it not for insights into genomics and proteomics, DNA and replication, there would be no Lantus or Levemir, as we all know, but these "analogues" are just the beginning, and I think almost everything we believe about feline diabetes is due for a change. I think we are going to go beyond the idea that diabetes is a primarily problem of the pancreas (to the idea, probably, of an endocrine system disorder that manifests in the pancreas -- i.e., more of a "software" messaging than a "hardware" problem, esp in Type 2 diabetes).

Ilkka
 
BTW, I was gone all weekend and sitter was shooting but not testing so I left predrawn syringes with .5u (instead of .7u) "just in case". Jeddie was a nice 141 at +9 when I got home this afternoon. And 201 at pm PS.

I am just wondering about the lower dose....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top