Oh No, +4 is 55, +4.5 47, +5 61, +5.5 58, +6 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
Hi!

Just checked a +4 and Shadow is 55. This is the lowest number we've ever seen. I know we're not below 40, but.... not sure where he's going to go. WIll retest in 30 min.. or should I sooner?


Fed Shadow at 10:45pm- now he's 61 (30 minutes later) Test again in 30 min?
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55

I am fairly new here myself, but I would test again in 30 minutes. Has he been eating at all? I would be prepared with some HC food, maybe something with gravy, and also karo syrup or honey, just in case he drops much lower. If you do feed any regular food, just feed a little, in case you need him to eat for you later.
I am sure someone will be responding soon!
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55

Ok- will test 30 min post 55- which is 15 minutes from now. He's been eating fine... is acting fine now.

I have Karo syrup here and food...
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55

Ok while we wait on an experienced doser. Please give 2 teaspoons of high carb food with gravy only or 1 drop of syrup in 2 teaspoons of low carb. Retest in 30minutes and post here but keep checking meantime to see if anyone else with more xperiences checks in. I will be here waiting to see what happens.


The good news is tomorrow he gets a dose decrease to 2.75units.

Wendy
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55

What kind of food do you have? If you have high carb, give him a teaspoon or two and test again in 30 mins. You don't want to fill him up as you might need to feed for a while. You can also add two drops of karo or honey to low or medium carb food.
Liz
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55

I have low carb food. Just gave him 2 tsp with a drop of karo... he's looking at me like Im crazy for giving him such a small amount.
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55

Good! We like a good appy. Could you also update the subject line with the new value? You have to edit the very first post for it to show up on the forum.
5/19 Shadow PMPS 402;+4 55;+4.5 47

Wow, that is an amazing drop from his preshot. Good catch! :-D
Liz
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55

You're doing exactly the right things. I would be a bit more generous with the Karo -- like 3 drops. It sometimes takes more than one bump with HC to bring the numbers up. Keep testing and giving a small amount of HC food until you see the numbers have stabilized in a safer range.

Here are the written instructions for handling low numbers. It helps to have them handy.

And, just so this doesn't get lost in the morning, you want to reduce Shadow's dose back to 2.75u. The drop in numbers below 50 warrants a dose reduction.
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55, +4.5 47, +5 61

Yep! We want to make sure he is still rising and what happens when the syrup wears off...
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55, +4.5 47, +5 61

Yes!

The Karo may start to wear off and the numbers could wobble back down. You'll need to keep testing and feeding to make sure they stay in the current range (or thereabout).

It's also quite likely that numbers will zoom back up. Given the drop from 400s to the 40s, I would not be in the least bit surprised if your AMPS was back in the 400s.
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55, +4.5 47, +5 61, +5.5 58

+ 5.5 is 58... check again in 30? Boy this is going to be a long night... and I'm working at 7am :sad:
 
Re: Oh No, +4 is 55, +4.5 47, +5 61, +5.5 58

He should be getting close to nadir. You could give him some more LC food to eat, maybe two teaspoons.
Liz
 
If it were me, I'd feed him and leave out some food. Do you have an automatic feeder? If not, leave some food out with water on it so it won't dry out. Good job!
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top