Cat mom
Member Since 2017
I got off to a very rocky start when my cat was diagnosed diabetic. The vet rx'd Novolin 1 unit twice per day and for the first few days the BG just kept going higher. I wondered if the Alphatrack 2 was working correctly and bought a new one just in case. My vet advised I increase to 2 units twice per day, but my gut feeling said to wait. Good thing I did by day 5 his BG crashed to 70 and he was staggering and falling down. After that situation was resolved, that scared me so much, I swore off a few things, dry food...gone! No more insulin.
It's 2 weeks now no dry food and insulin and his BG is in the 100's. He seems a little better, still wobbly on his feet at times, definitely not his old self.
He's skinny as ever and my other 3 cats that also had access (and now don't) to dry food are doing ok, one of them has lost weight, but she could afford to, she was a little heavy.
My vet has been on Easter vacation and has no idea all that has happened since she left. I will talk to her when she returns in the next day or two.
When he was diagnosed with diabetes, I asked for a copy of the blood test and he had an apparent infection the ER vet did not catch, high WBC. When I brought it up she put him on a weeks worth of antibiotics, which I don't even know were the correct ones or long enough because she never mentioned what the infection could be.
I cannot believe the BG difference when stopping dry. I would never feed a cat dry food again and I've done it my entire life.
I am worried about the infection he had and wonder if needs more antibiotics.
When cats BG return to a normal range, can they still act diabetic? A little off balance, etc?
It's confusing.
It's 2 weeks now no dry food and insulin and his BG is in the 100's. He seems a little better, still wobbly on his feet at times, definitely not his old self.
He's skinny as ever and my other 3 cats that also had access (and now don't) to dry food are doing ok, one of them has lost weight, but she could afford to, she was a little heavy.
My vet has been on Easter vacation and has no idea all that has happened since she left. I will talk to her when she returns in the next day or two.
When he was diagnosed with diabetes, I asked for a copy of the blood test and he had an apparent infection the ER vet did not catch, high WBC. When I brought it up she put him on a weeks worth of antibiotics, which I don't even know were the correct ones or long enough because she never mentioned what the infection could be.
I cannot believe the BG difference when stopping dry. I would never feed a cat dry food again and I've done it my entire life.
I am worried about the infection he had and wonder if needs more antibiotics.
When cats BG return to a normal range, can they still act diabetic? A little off balance, etc?
It's confusing.
. Things are looking very nice 