I have moved the discussion from a new member’s thread to here in order to address another member’s questions without hijacking a thread.
From the TR guidelines (this applies to any cat where the member is following TR).
My point in all this is most of this advice is given with great confidence that it is correct. It’s not uncommon for members to occasionally give incorrect advice. It happens. But it’s concerning to us when a new member is giving dosing advice with little to no experience with FD and no spreadsheet for other members to peruse. I strongly urge caution to all members that when considering advice given by someone, see how long they’ve been here and perhaps seek advice from more experienced members who have been using the insulin for a while and who actually have a SS for their cat. If a member is not managing their own cat’s FD well, I’d be very hesitant to take their advice. Having said that, emotional support and someone just being there is great and a function all members can have. I am sure that is greatly appreciated, Eve, so thank you for that.
.
Whichever protocol you follow, the increments should be done in quarter units (as in 0.25 IU) as opposed to 0.5 IU.
There have been many situations in the past where we have new members increase the dose by 0.5u even if the method of regulation is SLGS. Certainly, it is built into TR and it does not matter how long the cat has been on insulin or how much data the member has.(With that said there are exceptions to this rule, but only/mainly when the cat has been on insulin for a prolonged time and/or you have enough data to know that he can take such a high increase (0.5 IU) without his BG dropping too low too fast, and when the cat is on a much higher dose of insulin, to begin with. Neither of these conditions apply to Fistuk!)
From the TR guidelines (this applies to any cat where the member is following TR).
Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
First, please use mg/dL here. We don’t use mmol/L in threads since this is a US site. Second, the rate of drop is ECID. What you have suggested is feeding a drop of about 72 mg/dL. However, for my kitty, I had to take action at drops of 50 mg/dL. The caregiver has to determine what drops are fast enough that they need to feed them to slow them down. We don’t have a hard and fast rule but certainly, I would start looking at drops of 50 or more and fine-tune up or down from there.When you see his BG dropping rapidly (as in more than 4 mmol/L per hour) give him medium carb food,
Bhooma has provided the correct information.We regard foods "medium carb" that are between 6-8% dry matter carbs (more experienced members: please correct me on this if I'm wrong), not sure what brands are available to you in Switzerland, here we have Whiskas Kitten 7.5% dry matter carbs and Felix Adult 8% ish. Felix Senior is about 10% I believe, which would fall into the "high carb" bracket -
We have recently had an involved discussion on the board about this statement. While, on this board, we support shooting consistently in terms of dose and timing, it’s due to our methods of regulation. Lantus has variability and other boards use sliding scales for dosing and different shot times. Again, we believe the TR and SLGS methods are the best methods for regulation but it doesn’t mean they are the only ones.Lantus likes consistency, both regarding dosage and ti
Off board advising is against the rules of this board and if members are doing it, it is reason for being banned. I would also like to caution all members reading this and especially @shellys that Eve (.:. in.active .:.) has only been here a short time and she has neither the experience nor the knowledge of FD to be providing dosing advice. I would further warn all new members to never accept advice from anyone who does not share their own cat’s spreadsheet with the group by having it linked in their signature block.I'll keep an eye on your spreadsheet, but if I don't pick up your calls in time, definitely post here, so others can jump in and help you.
Any online calculators which use guaranteed analysis are not going to give you accurate information. In order to get accurate info, you must actually find where the company has posted (or you have to call them) the dry matter basis or as-fed values. You can then follow these instructions to determine the % calories from carbs.You can calculate the dry matter carb % per 100g using an online calculator like this.
We use a modified TR protocol here based on anecdotal information. So, it is not exactly the same or even just vary by format/wording as Tilly’s or the actual TR protocol as written by Roomp and Rand.They all essentially say the same though, some format/wording just may be clearer for different members.
My point in all this is most of this advice is given with great confidence that it is correct. It’s not uncommon for members to occasionally give incorrect advice. It happens. But it’s concerning to us when a new member is giving dosing advice with little to no experience with FD and no spreadsheet for other members to peruse. I strongly urge caution to all members that when considering advice given by someone, see how long they’ve been here and perhaps seek advice from more experienced members who have been using the insulin for a while and who actually have a SS for their cat. If a member is not managing their own cat’s FD well, I’d be very hesitant to take their advice. Having said that, emotional support and someone just being there is great and a function all members can have. I am sure that is greatly appreciated, Eve, so thank you for that.
.
Last edited: