? October 30, 2019 - Freckles - AMPS= 28.1 (505), +12=25.9(466), +14=21.4 (385.2)

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
Hi All, (last night she got into some bread dough so I think that's cause for the super high number this morning! arghhh)

Looking for some advice with dosing. I'm not seeing much change in Freckles' numbers. Background: -diagnosed Sept. 23/2019 (started with 1u porcine insulin), a few days later vet switched to Lantus.
- After a blood glucose curve at vets, they up'd her Lantus insulin to 2.5 u.
- Shot 2.5 units from Oct. 11-Oct. 25 (numbers were usually in the 20's (400's) and during that time weaned her off of dry kibble and was eating Royal Canin wet for diabetics.
-October 26 dropped to 1.5 u of lantus from advice of forum members (general consensus was too high of insulin increase too fast)
-gradually stopped feeding Royal Canin wet and switched to Fancy Feast pate - Turkey-giblets currently.
-since I'm gone for work 12 hours a day, I'm testing when I get home, as often as I can to get more numbers to help direct her treatment.
-I can do another glucose curve on Saturday

Wondering what I should do from here?? Her appetite is unreal - will go after everything and anything- but she's getting fed 1.5 cans of Fancy Feast twice a day (I'm adding water to it to try and slow her down a bit). Suggestions?
 
Hi Judy . Freckles sure is a cutie . If you want to draw more attention to your condo quickly you can put a question mark pre fix in front of the title . Hopefully that will help you get the answers you need :)
 
Hi Judy . Freckles sure is a cutie . If you want to draw more attention to your condo quickly you can put a question mark pre fix in front of the title . Hopefully that will help you get the answers you need :)
Oh.... I found the question mark thing. Thanks for the tip!
 
Hi Judy. Since Freckles is now off dry, you do have the option of attempting TR but it sounds like SLGS might be more suitable for you for now. Have you read the sticky detailing the two methods?

As per SLGS, you should hold the dose for 7 days. I'd hold for now and do a curve on Saturday as planned.

You can also feed more than twice a day. Many of us feed smaller meals throughout the day. An auto feeder might be helpful for when you're out of the house. Feeding several meals a day will keep kitty happy and is easier on the pancreas.

Does Freckles have a history of DKA? You want to make sure she eats enough if she does. The recipe for DKA is high BSL + not enough calories + not enough insulin.
 
Personally, I think you got bad advice to drop the dose. Some cats need more insulin, and the spreadsheet tells me that. I would go up to 2.0 units. The dose on the AM cycle of 10/28 is missing. I presume you shot the same dose?

My Neko got into bread dough once, she went black too. :rolleyes:
 
Hi Judy. Since Freckles is now off dry, you do have the option of attempting TR but it sounds like SLGS might be more suitable for you for now. Have you read the sticky detailing the two methods?

As per SLGS, you should hold the dose for 7 days. I'd hold for now and do a curve on Saturday as planned.
Yes, I can do that.

You can also feed more than twice a day. Many of us feed smaller meals throughout the day. An auto feeder might be helpful for when you're out of the house. Feeding several meals a day will keep kitty happy and is easier on the pancreas.

Does Freckles have a history of DKA? You want to make sure she eats enough if she does. The recipe for DKA is high BSL + not enough calories + not enough insulin.

Hi Crista. Thanks for your reply. I don't think I can follow the TR protocol right now as I commute 1 hour to work am and pm and am not there to feed multiple meals per day. There are 3 other cats and 2 dogs in the house as well. Locking Freckles in a room would result in the house turning to wood shavings! I'm trying to spread out her breakfast and supper by freezing 1/4 can of Fancy Feast and giving her that - but it's usually gone with 5 minutes.

I didn't even know that wet food auto feeders existed! Is there a popular brand?I don't know if she has DKA. When I was at the vets, they weren't able to get a urine sample. I posted the lab results on my spread sheet. She is not lethargic and she hasn't been vomiting as I understand those are some of the symptoms. I am ready to take a urine sample and test for keto but I haven't seen her in the litter box when I'm home.
 
Personally, I think you got bad advice to drop the dose. Some cats need more insulin, and the spreadsheet tells me that. I would go up to 2.0 units. The dose on the AM cycle of 10/28 is missing. I presume you shot the same dose?

My Neko got into bread dough once, she went black too. :rolleyes:

Thanks Wendy. I don't know why the AM cycle dose for 10/28 was missing. I enter my data on the World spreadsheet and it usually transfers over to the US, but yes, I did shoot the same dose.

Our house is quickly getting some NEW RULES to avoid more 'food accidents'!
 
Good morning, Judy :cat: You have some awesome advice being given from experienced Board members to help you and Freckles .....will check in later ;)
 
Awesome that you ordered the auto feeder already! PetSafe is a popular brand. I had an issue with one of my feeders not opening one door so I returned it for a replacement. Otherwise, they’re very helpful :)

Some have ice packs but freezing the food works just as well.

Btw, I’d listen to Wendy in regards to dosing :)
 
I agree with Wendy...try to increase as soon as you can...looks like Freckles could use the help to get those numbers moving downward.
 
I agree with Wendy...try to increase as soon as you can...looks like Freckles could use the help to get those numbers moving downward.

Thanks Sue. I gave Freckles her 1.5 u 90 minutes ago. Can I give her another .5 anytime now?

Also, when I got home, I discovered that opened the top cupboard and got into some old caramel popcorn that I didn't even know existed! She also got an 100 calorie size bag of popcorn. I'm not sure how much she got of each or when she got into them because no one was home for 12 hours. I'm thinking/hoping that she didn't get much since the dogs are usually pretty on the ball for anything that falls on the floor. The house now looks secure: baby locks on the garbage can, dog food bin and cupboard, a stick going through handles of other handles and a collar securing two other cupboard doors. DH is at his wits end. Storage places that have been 'safe' for many years is no longer!
 
Hi Judy :bighug: Sounds like you are getting your ducks in a row with Freckles and that's good news . You are such a wonderful Momma to Freckles ❤️ Glad her appy is good :)
 
Hi Judy :bighug: Sounds like you are getting your ducks in a row with Freckles and that's good news . You are such a wonderful Momma to Freckles ❤️ Glad her appy is good :)
Thanks Beth for your kinds words. Things are a bit frantic around here tonight. One of my other cats has a urinary tract infection, so will be taking him into the vet tomorrow. So I've got one cat eating everything in sight and another cat peeing every place. Thank goodness the other 2 cats and 2 dogs are cooperating! Sheesh!!! lol
 
Hi Judy. Since Freckles is now off dry, you do have the option of attempting TR but it sounds like SLGS might be more suitable for you for now. Have you read the sticky detailing the two methods?

As per SLGS, you should hold the dose for 7 days. I'd hold for now and do a curve on Saturday as planned.

You can also feed more than twice a day. Many of us feed smaller meals throughout the day. An auto feeder might be helpful for when you're out of the house. Feeding several meals a day will keep kitty happy and is easier on the pancreas.

Does Freckles have a history of DKA? You want to make sure she eats enough if she does. The recipe for DKA is high BSL + not enough calories + not enough insulin.

I was able to catch a urine sample this morning and colour was negative! Thank goodness. :)
Hi Judy. Since Freckles is now off dry, you do have the option of attempting TR but it sounds like SLGS might be more suitable for you for now. Have you read the sticky detailing the two methods?



As per SLGS, you should hold the dose for 7 days. I'd hold for now and do a curve on Saturday as planned.

You can also feed more than twice a day. Many of us feed smaller meals throughout the day. An auto feeder might be helpful for when you're out of the house. Feeding several meals a day will keep kitty happy and is easier on the pancreas.

Does Freckles have a history of DKA? You want to make sure she eats enough if she does. The recipe for DKA is high BSL + not enough calories + not enough insulin.

Thank you so much for your suggestion of an autofeeder! I received the auto feeder today and started using it tonight.
 
Hi Judy, I saw your other post about using the auto-feeder and I just wanted to mention that we're only allowed one post/condo per day. Helps to keep things together - as the conversation about using the auto-feeder is here on this condo - and now on another condo without any context (history, discussion, etc.)

I have the Pet Safe auto feeder and use it whenever I have to leave Luci for extended periods of time (like recently for surgery)...I set it up to feed her a mixture of LC/MC every two hours to keep her numbers up over the approximately 8 hour span that I was away. It worked like a charm and although she was running lower that day, and most likely hit the 'greens' she most likely didn't go too low - because the food was coming frequently - and she ate every serving.

Enjoy your new auto-feeder :)
 
Hi Judy, I saw your other post about using the auto-feeder and I just wanted to mention that we're only allowed one post/condo per day. Helps to keep things together - as the conversation about using the auto-feeder is here on this condo - and now on another condo without any context (history, discussion, etc.)

I have the Pet Safe auto feeder and use it whenever I have to leave Luci for extended periods of time (like recently for surgery)...I set it up to feed her a mixture of LC/MC every two hours to keep her numbers up over the approximately 8 hour span that I was away. It worked like a charm and although she was running lower that day, and most likely hit the 'greens' she most likely didn't go too low - because the food was coming frequently - and she ate every serving.

Enjoy your new auto-feeder :)
Hi Sue Thanks for the info regarding posts that makes sense. I have the Pet Safe auto feeder as well. So do you put more food in the compartments that Luci would eat around nadir time? or same amount of food in each compartment?
 
Back
Top