Numbers still high

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn & Rupert

Very Active Member
Hi, it's me again, was wondering about why Rupert's numbers are still high today. I gave a fur shot last night (ugh, and thanks for your help with that), but think I did get a little in him. AMPS today was 395, gave 1.5 u, tested again @ +2 and he is still high @ 387. I am pretty sure I did NOT give a fur shot! No wetness (I always check) and even did a sniff test. He did throw up a lot after his feeding and shot, my fault because I gave him much more than normal. He ate a little after that, but didn't seem to interested in food at his +2 test. Could the throwing up affect his BG numbers? thanks in advance!
 
Yes, vomiting is a stress on the body and that can raise glucose.
Vomiting is also a possible sign of illness and if so, that illness could be raising the glucose. Examples include pancreatitis and renal disease.
 
Yes, vomiting is a stress on the body and that can raise glucose.
Vomiting is also a possible sign of illness and if so, that illness could be raising the glucose. Examples include pancreatitis and renal disease.
I will keep a close eye on him, he seems ok and this is the first time he has thrown up, since starting treatment. I will just monitor and hope for the best. Thank you BJM, have a pleasant Sunday!
 
It is completely normal if after two hours, +2, you test and his numbers are higher, the same or slightly lower than your pre shot test. From +2, it will start coming down. If at a +2 you get a huge drop say 30-50 percent, you are more than likely in for active cycle i.e. low nadir.
 
It is completely normal if after two hours, +2, you test and his numbers are higher, the same or slightly lower than your pre shot test. From +2, it will start coming down. If at a +2 you get a huge drop say 30-50 percent, you are more than likely in for active cycle i.e. low nadir.
Makes sense Merlin, usually he drops @ +2, but I am learning that nothing is absolute when it comes to diabetes! I will keep watching him and test again soon. I think I am being paranoid about fur shots now, but I was determined I would not miss this morning and almost positive I didn't. There is that little "wee" bit of doubt still lingering, but I must move on and hope I did it right! I know now not to shot if fur shot suspected, so either way, I will have to deal with it. Thanks for your help and have a (hopefully) relaxing Sunday!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top