Susan and Timmy
Member Since 2017
Timmy's numbers have been going up over the past few days. I don't understand why. Could some of you take a look at his SS and guide me. We seemed to be doing so well. Ugh! That red number this am has me defeated.
Thanks for the reply. I haven't posted a question in a bit, but I have been reading every post I can just to educate myself. So much great info here!I could totally be off but it looks like he was doing better when the dosage was only 2.5 per 24 hours. If he were my cat I would give the same dosage both day and night. I would do 1.25 both times, hold it for 3 to 4 days and see what it does. He is totally on wet food? No getting to any dry?
Hard to tell how much of YA is eaten because my other cat is now on the same diet. I can tell Timmy is eating it overnight because he picks each piece up and eats it outside of his dish, leaving evidence. I have not reduced the wet food during the day since that is his primary food.How much YA is eaten overnight?
Are you still feeding the same amount of canned?
Reducing the amount of canned to reflect how much YA is eaten?
You are dosing lower at night. This is making his am number higher. Why are you reducing the dose? I'd recommend going to 2.5 when the preshots are over 300. You wanna start seeing more low blues.Timmy's numbers have been going up over the past few days. I don't understand why. Could some of you take a look at his SS and guide me. We seemed to be doing so well. Ugh! That red number this am has me defeated.
So what I need to do is keep him at 2 units a.m. and p.m.? Some cats do well with sliding scale dosing - ie., different dose AM and PM according to BG level but others need the consistency of the same dose at both times. You don't have many days where you did that. Why not try a dose, say 1.5 u, both AM and PM for three days in a row then evaluate to see if it needs to go up. When you change dose stick to 0.25 u increments. You can eyeball that on a U40 syringe with half unit marks.Timmy's numbers have been going up over the past few days. I don't understand why. Could some of you take a look at his SS and guide me. We seemed to be doing so well. Ugh! That red number this am has me defeated.
I would not do 2 units twice a day, since that would be 4 units a day. We also haven't seen what a consistent dose would do for him. I wouldn't increase or decrease his doses in the evening or morning (not unles he's below 200, then I would follow the protocol of stalling and seeing if his BG raises over the following 30 minutes without food) if it doesn't,then skip the shot.I am dosing lower at night because I am afraid I won't wake up if he has a problem. Day is fine, night I am just so freaked out.So what I need to do is keep him at 2 units a.m. and p.m.?
Also his Vetsulin is at day 28. Could that be causing some of the shift in his numbers, or do you think it is more the lower dose at night?