Numbers going up!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan and Timmy

Member Since 2017
Timmy's numbers have been going up over the past few days. I don't understand why. Could some of you take a look at his SS and guide me. We seemed to be doing so well. Ugh! That red number this am has me defeated.
 
I could totally be off but it looks like he was doing better when the dosage was only 2.5 per 24 hours. If he were my cat I would give the same dosage both day and night. I would do 1.25 both times, hold it for 3 to 4 days and see what it does. He is totally on wet food? No getting to any dry?
 
I could totally be off but it looks like he was doing better when the dosage was only 2.5 per 24 hours. If he were my cat I would give the same dosage both day and night. I would do 1.25 both times, hold it for 3 to 4 days and see what it does. He is totally on wet food? No getting to any dry?
Thanks for the reply. I haven't posted a question in a bit, but I have been reading every post I can just to educate myself. So much great info here! :) He is on low carb wet food, except for about 6 hours at night when I leave out YA Mature Zero dry for him to graze. I started YA at night about 2 weeks ago. The YA gets picked up about 6 a.m. and wet food all day until about 11 or 12 at night.

So the two different doses are causing the higher numbers?
 
I just tested him and he is at 211. He is going down in 100 point increments every 2 hours. I'm trying to find a pattern here.
 
How much YA is eaten overnight?
Are you still feeding the same amount of canned?
Reducing the amount of canned to reflect how much YA is eaten?
Hard to tell how much of YA is eaten because my other cat is now on the same diet. I can tell Timmy is eating it overnight because he picks each piece up and eats it outside of his dish, leaving evidence. I have not reduced the wet food during the day since that is his primary food.
 
Timmy's numbers have been going up over the past few days. I don't understand why. Could some of you take a look at his SS and guide me. We seemed to be doing so well. Ugh! That red number this am has me defeated.
You are dosing lower at night. This is making his am number higher. Why are you reducing the dose? I'd recommend going to 2.5 when the preshots are over 300. You wanna start seeing more low blues.
 
I am dosing lower at night because I am afraid I won't wake up if he has a problem. Day is fine, night I am just so freaked out. :nailbiting: So what I need to do is keep him at 2 units a.m. and p.m.?

Also his Vetsulin is at day 28. Could that be causing some of the shift in his numbers, or do you think it is more the lower dose at night?
 
Timmy's numbers have been going up over the past few days. I don't understand why. Could some of you take a look at his SS and guide me. We seemed to be doing so well. Ugh! That red number this am has me defeated.
Some cats do well with sliding scale dosing - ie., different dose AM and PM according to BG level but others need the consistency of the same dose at both times. You don't have many days where you did that. Why not try a dose, say 1.5 u, both AM and PM for three days in a row then evaluate to see if it needs to go up. When you change dose stick to 0.25 u increments. You can eyeball that on a U40 syringe with half unit marks.
 
I am dosing lower at night because I am afraid I won't wake up if he has a problem. Day is fine, night I am just so freaked out. :nailbiting: So what I need to do is keep him at 2 units a.m. and p.m.?

Also his Vetsulin is at day 28. Could that be causing some of the shift in his numbers, or do you think it is more the lower dose at night?
I would not do 2 units twice a day, since that would be 4 units a day. We also haven't seen what a consistent dose would do for him. I wouldn't increase or decrease his doses in the evening or morning (not unles he's below 200, then I would follow the protocol of stalling and seeing if his BG raises over the following 30 minutes without food) if it doesn't,then skip the shot.

He's done his best when the doses are between 2.5 to 3.5 that's why if he were mine I would start at 1.25 for each dose, wait 3 days to see where he is going. I think the changing the doses is causing his pancreas stress, therefore switching of the doses doesn't seem to be working for him.

ETA will you be getting new insulin soon? I would also like to see (if it is possible a +5 number at night)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top