Numbers all over the place

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sammysmom

Member Since 2013
Hello wonderful friends,

So after three weeks OTJ our vet recommended testing two hours after eating. After weeks of relatively normal numbers tonight we got 261. It's upsetting as it seemed diabetes had gone into remission. I don't know whether to Give a small dose of insulin or not given that most numbers have been below 150; two, four, even six hours after feeding (for weeks now) any recommendations are greatly appreciated.
 
I wouldn't rush to give insulin just yet. I'd get some tests in tomorrow possibly and if kitty stays higher for a day or two, then maybe consider insulin, as long as there's nothing else that could be causing it, i.e. pain, infection, food, changes in his life that could be stressful, etc.....? if there's a chance there's something else causing it, you might have to go to the vet to have him checked out.
 
Thank you lynnlee. I can't think of anything particularly stressful going on. Thanks for the advice, I tend to be anxious as I have gotten into situations where I have had to barrow/ open new credit cards to help pay for kitty's care and I just dont want to miss something or give insulin pre emptively. I appreciate your help :)
 
And an hour later ( again no insulin given in three weeks) BG is 158. Seems like a pretty dramatic drop....thought?.
 
Is it possible he got into contraband? Do you have dogs/ food sitting out? Even one kibble can spike them.
Did you get a new brand of cat food? It's carb value might not be what you think it is.
Or a new treat? So many of the treats are worse than the food...

You will want to keep testing to see if this was a random event or is happening frequently.
 
Thanks Rhiannon and shadow,

We don't have any other pets so I'm not sure whats going on. I just tested and it was 281 half hour before normal feeding time the only thing I can think of is we bought a new case of his same food and gave him the first can last night. Is it possible something is wrong with this particular case? I'm going to test after he eats and I scheduled a fructosimine test for tomorrow.... Kinda bummed
 
How old is the meter? Do you have control solution to check that it is working properly.

Test strips can be defective/expired/exposed to moisture/humidity.

The pancreas can be operating in a 'sputtering' fashion.

Food lots vary in composition, based on what is most profitable to the manufacturer.
 
Thanks, well the meter is about two years old and is an accu check Aviva. Test strips are relatively new about three weeks ago was when we purchased them. I don't have a control solution but when we first started getting normal numbers were we certain something was up so I tested my own BG and it was normal. Maybe I should do this again? Just to make sure? It's odd, anyone ever heard of a cat just needing insulting once every four to six weeks?
 
You did mention a new case of food.
The nutrition values folks have collected are only single point in time values. The numbers can change from batch to batch.
 
Relapse can happen; his pancreas may not be stable yet. And look for dental issues, signs of illness, signs of urinary problems.

Follow the insulin protocol, and maybe give no more than 0.25 to 0.5 units when you can monitor him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top