Numbers all over the map - need eyes on this

Status
Not open for further replies.
I did Fitzel's first curve today (except for +10) and am really concerned about her numbers. Fitzel's PMPS number was 339!!! This is the highest she's ever been since I started testing the end of June.

You'll also see that she crashed mid afternoon with +6 coming in at 46.

Instead of her regular .5u, I gave her a skinny .4u tonight concerned she might be rebounding. If anyone can take a look at her SS I would love to know your thoughts.

Shai
 
I was just about to sign off (2 am here @-)), but took a quick glance at Health and saw your post.

First, whenever you get a WTH?!? BG, re-test. I think we've all gotten weird numbers that made no sense. Sometimes it's real, sometimes it's a wonky strip. If you carbed her up to get her out of those low greens, then a higher than anticipated PS is not out of the question. I see a number of skipped shots, and maybe you weren't comfortable shooting low blues yet (trust me, I understand that feeling), so it's hard to analyze just what is happening on Fitzel's SS. You need at least 3 days of consistent dosing to trust any patterns that develop. Give it time. One pink number is not a huge concern. Tomorrow is a new day. Pick a dose that you feel comfortable with, and do your best to stay with it. Then we can look at Fitzel's numbers and see if an adjustment is warranted. For what it's worth, I think a lot of sugarcats can feel punky initially when their BGs are fluctuating like what you are seeing. But also trust your instincts if you feel something else is going on with Fitzel's health. You know her best.

MJ
 
I agree.

Didn't you just change diet recently?
That spike almost looks like she had dry food...
That spike could also be a reaction to the two skipped doses. (not all reactions are immediate)
That's why you want to hold a dosage the same if you can for a week.

Which insulin are you on? IF it is Lantus , there is a shed effect that the body stores reserves and after getting the two skipped dosages,
now the shed was spent and needs to replenish itself and when that happens you will get a spike.

So need to know which insulin so the people with the same kind can respond.
If your numbers don't decrease and you'll be around tomorrow try to stay consistent.

Also, respond to dropping numbers before too low by offering food. Eating will help bring numbes back up.
Are you free feeding or just twice a day?

Lots of questions.
 
Oh, blessed Night Owls!

In answer to questions: I did retest 20 minutes after, and she was still 339.

I gave Fitzel 7 Temptations to raise her numbers after getting the 46. She also gets 2 Temptations as a treat after her BG check - maybe too many carbs?

She was given dins after her +8 number of 114mg/dl. I fed Wellness Chicken - Fitzel ate a little less than usual but no increase in water consumption or litter box use.

I use Lantus.

I haven't changed her diet since she started on all wet food back in June. I feed Merrick, Wellness and FF classic.

Fitzel is not free fed, but given meals three times a day, usually within an hour of the same time for each meal, each day.

Yes, I haven't been brave enough to shoot off of numbers in the 100's. Perhaps it's time to rethink that, but I don't know how low for her is safe. I agree I don't have enough consistency with her dosage (because of the missed shots) and that could play into this. I was just reading up on the 'shed' and she most likely used hers up when I didn't shoot. I feel like crawling between a rock and a hard place just to find a bit of comfort after today and tonight.

Maybe it was too soon to do a curve? I don't know. I'm sure the number spike had something to do with tracking her down every two hours and sticking her with the lancet. By the last test tonight I had to pull her out from under the piano. Very unhappy cat - unhappy Mommy too as she probably will punish me by not coming to bed.

I feel overwhelmed by the amount of info I need to discover and understand in order to give Fitzel the best and most consistent treatment. Then applying that information to the specifics of my kitty. I keep thinking that I still don't know that one piece or ten pieces of information that will help me to help her. That I'll turn left when I should have turned right. That the next article, or the next post I could have read will reveal the secret and I got too tired, or signed off a minute or two too soon.

Is second guessing oneself a side effect of kitty diabetes?
Shai
 
I think we all live in a world of second guessing now, especially when we don't get the reaction we were expecting.

It sounds like you are doing the right things to me. I don't know what 7 tempations are. I'm looking that up now.

Oh ... those! eek.
I'm pretty sure they are worse than dry food. I had those too before dx.
My girl had surgery back in march ( lost 7 more teeth, all fangs) and she wasn't eatiing her dry food anymore, maybe a kibble or two in the night
so I started letting her have more treats.

I can't actually find any info anywhere as to what the carb load, calorie load, etc was for temptations or pounce or greenies so you know they HAVE to be bad when they won't tell you that info.

I bet that's your spike right there. It's probably like an alcoholic who's quit cold turkey getting a big glass.
Throw those away! ( I know it's hard , i still have all the old treats in a bag like I'm going to give them to some other cat :roll:
I'll go throw mine away too since I know I'm never giving them out again.

We don't have many choices in treats anymore but there are a few.
I found one called PureBites - freeze dried pure protein,, 0 carbs.
They come in shrimp, chicken, liver .... I hear turkey is out there too but haven't seen it yet.
I found them in the store , she likes them so I ordered a bunch to get the free shipping.

http://www.entirelypets.com/purebitessh ... r:keyword={keyword}&gclid=CNuFjYPZorECFQ8CQAody2v2bg

I've also heard of Bonito flakes ( some japanese fish that a flavor enhancer to sprinkle on food, it's in flakes so mine would like licking it off my hand
when I find it.

You can also give bites of your own food , like chicken or turkey . Mine loves raw shrimp and crab meat. I cut a shrimp up in tiny pieces ( no teeth)
and give her a couple of the pieces each time I stick her. She's getting more cooperative even tho' she hates being pricked or shot.
 
I bet the link I send doesn't work.
the store is entirelypets.com and you type purebites cat treats in the search box.

Thinking about all the treats makes me want to run into PetsMart and start ranting and raving about how awful all the stuff they sell is for cats.
All that dry food.
I do like petsmart , I'm just so annoyed that we've all been duped into thinking we were buying good products.

Caveat emptor. -- Let the buyer beware.


Of course, since half the vets out there don't know any better, why would we?
 
shai said:
Maybe it was too soon to do a curve?

All of the data that you can collect (ie. BG numbers, food eaten, behaviors, enviornmental - hot/humid/storms etc) is valuable and will most surely help you to make the best possible decisions in the future for your kitty. It will help you to see patters and to predict whether or not it will be safe to shoot at a lower number than you're comfortable shooting right now without the data.

Don't beat yourself up for not reading that "one more piece of information". I think we've all felt that way, but you have to know that you are doing the absolute best that you can! You can't possibly absorb all of the information here that quickly.... you have to take care of yourself too so that you can care for Fitzel.
 
I agree with Dyana -- you were seeing a bounce at PMPS. The drop into greens no doubt caused Fitzel's liver to "panic." When this happens, a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones are released which causes BG to rise. In addition, the Temptations had an effect. I'd encourage you to use a HC, gravy based food rather than Temptations or anything dry. It takes a while for the dry stuff to work its way out of your cat's system.

Can you please get a before bed test every night. You are missing half of your data by not getting any PM tests. In addition, many cats experience lower numbers at night.
 
Breathing a bit easier this morning. Fitzel's amps reading was 250mg/dl. I gave her .4u - same as last night.

Yikes - ALL TEMPTATIONS have been banned from our home. Thanks rhiannon (love your name btw) for the info on Purebites and Bonito flakes. Just so happens my wife is the manager of a culinary test kitchen that's specializes in seafood. I know for a fact they use bonito flakes - I'll find out if we can purchase some from the company. Great idea. Thank you Julie for your ideas as well. All info is gratefully appreciated.

Knolet, thank you so much for the reassurance. I needed to hear what you wrote.

Sienne, you're right about the after PM shot readings. Unfortunately in our house the PMPS reading is bedtime. My wife has to travel the dreaded 405 freeway and it takes her one and a half to two hours to get to work. She's up and out of the house by 5:30am - so the cats are up at 5:00am and well, I'm sure you know you can't ignore 3 cats meowing for breakfast. Perhaps I'll set an alarm and test later in the night. Not fun, but probably necessary.

Does anyone have a thought on continuing the .4u. I'm going to get a nadir reading today, but this morning I had to pull Fitzel out from under our bookcase to check her blood and after yesterday I want to let her alone for a bit. Stressed kitty, higher BG. At least I've learned that.

Shai
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top