If you are doing the SLGS method you would stick with the same dose..
The stickie says that if the nadir is between 90 and 149 to stick with the same dose.
Tuffy looks like he is a bouncy kitty as he seems to be bouncing each time he gets a blue or green number. This is quite normal and hopefully these bounces will reduce as he gets more used to being in better numbers. At the moment his body thinks the higher numbers are better for him. The more you can keep him in better numbers the more his body will get used to them.
That's what I figured, but I think I read or was told something about holding a dose for too long may not be that great because his body will get use to it and if the numbers are higher it's not good? Something along those lines.
So he tends to run in the blacks every other day or so. I know it's his bounces, but I hate it. Do you think if I hold this dose for longer his body will become more settled and won't bounce as much?
Didn’t you say you were thinking of swapping to TR? Are you around enough to do that? If so you will be able to increase the dose quicker if it is needed.
Bounces are frustrating but there is not much you can do about them except increase when needed and hope your kitty will get used to the lower numbers and stop bouncing. Some cats bounce all the way to remission.
Holding a dose won’t stop the bouncing if it’s not the right dose.
I can't until after I get back from after the weekend of the 22. I was going to attempt it then.
I keep being told that I test enough to do TR. My issue is still the same, I can't do midday checks Mon-Thurs. So my concern is if I adjust the dose on a Monday I won't be able to check the nadir. How will I know if I hold or adjust the dose if I can't check?
Yes it’s always tough if you work. You could adjust the dose on a Thursday evening and then you have until Monday to test more often during the day. You would increase when it was best for you to test. If it doesn’t work out you can always swap back.
So I could adjust Thursday, test over the weekend, then adjust Saturday night, test Sunday. I then wait till Friday, test at nadir, and if needed adjust Fri night and test again?
I think you are misreading the SLGS instructions. The SLGS instructions state:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
The dose changes are not based on only one or two nadirs in the cycle. The majority of the nadirs would need to be in the 90 - 149 range. The majority of TK's nadirs are are larger than 150 so you would want to increase the dose.
Take a look at Gabby's SS. I worked all through her 6.5 years of FD. It helped that she had an early nadir and I adjusted my test times to compensate. Generally, you try to get the tests during the PM cycle if you can't be home during the AM cycle. This post on managing TR with a full time job may be useful.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) , since he's been on 1.5 I haven't been getting his nadir. I've been getting before and after so I really don't know how low he gets at night. Definitely a reason to make sure I change my timing. I test before bed, then wake up randomly to test again.