now what do i do????

Status
Not open for further replies.

melba tee

Member Since 2014
Now I'm in trouble. I didn't give insulin at 36 hours because he didn't eat. He went up to 275 three hours later, I gave half a dose (0.5 U) and he hasn't come back down. I am about to give him another shot after 18 hours of not eating. Plan on staying home and testing, testing, testing...
 

Attachments

  • melba glucose curve.JPG
    melba glucose curve.JPG
    16.4 KB · Views: 373
That is not that abnormal since Lantus is a depot insulin and it takes awhile for the insulin to have full effect after missing shots..
Have you syringe fed?
Have you went to the vet about not eating for so long?
 
He has been on glargine since March. Started at one unit and was down to 0.5 units twice daily in late June as recommended by vet. I increased it back to one unit on Saturday because his numbers hover around 250-350 and rarely go down. I got that nice curve on Saturday and was encouraged because his nadir was visible.

He did have a few kibble last night when I gave the last shot. So I guess its only 12 hours since he has eaten... He is on mirtazapine for inappetence.

I am thinking of giving him one unit. I haven't administered it yet. If he goes too low, I can syringe feed.

Good to know it takes longer to take effect after missing shots... Thank you.
 
Pancreatitis can cause inappetance, as may more advanced renal disease.

Do you have a cause for the inappetance?
 
Ah. That'd do it.
Is he on any pain meds? They also may blunt hunger.

If he'll play, try about 15-20 minutes of it before feeding. It may trigger the hunt-catch-kill-eat-eliminate-groom-sleep behavior cycle and prompt some eating.
 
I gave him a full unit four hours ago and got scared so I syringe fed him about 20ml of chicken puree baby food.

He just ate some temptations :-D and is grooming now :-D Whew...

I checked his bg an hour ago. Its still 270. I will have to get up around 3 am to check his sugar.

He is on bupo for pain. And subQ for potassium. I find a little walk often stimulates his appetite.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top