Now he's just messing with me. 1/13 Sam AMPS 137

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Active Member
This cat is trying to drive me crazy. :mrgreen: I couldn't sleep (again) last night so I checked him at +8 and he was 97, so this AMPS of 137 isn't that surprising. I did think it would be higher tho. He's eaten twice since that +8.

Will recheck in an hour.
 
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT Be happy! Be thrilled! Do a happy dance!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat This is a very good thing!
 
That would make two of us. :-D

I just don't get it in light of his weird flat numbers the last two days.

PS. I know you're not in a happy place right now. I'm praying hard for you and Harley.
 
Yippee!!!! Back on track, woohoo! In your SS, I'd put the 240 where you gave 0.2 as your PS, and put the +12, +14, etc. in the notes, then you can put the dose in the dose column so it's clear the 191 is after a shot. Pretty cool overall though! I would have gone with maybe a fat 0.6, but no worries, we'll see what happens! I wonder if the wonkiness is that when there is enough insulin on board his pancreas is really running with it, vs. if not quite enough his pancreas dozes off, and thus the big contrast in different cycles. Just a guess. The secret (I have read, never succeeded with it myself) is to give enough insulin to support their pancreas but not overwhelm it. So you don't want to shoot too low and have the pancreas have to do a lot of work when it still needs some healing time, but of course you don't want to shoot too heavy either.

Have you experimented with feeding as a way to bring #s down? Some people have success when they have an apparent sputtering pancreas and some longer duration & stuff going on, with feeding on a lower PS, like a 140 or something, and then seeing if the #s come down on their own after that. If not and the #s are rising then you know to go ahead and give insulin, vs. if the #s come down then you wait and see how the pancreas goes it from there (but definitely you want to give insulin if the PS is over 200, they usually don't come down on their own from #s like that). I doubt Mr. P is really ready to take over since the dose is still not micro, but ya' never know! Sometimes you will see a rapid dose decrease path (like maybe what you saw from 2u down to this level) down to something like 0.2 or even lower before they kick the habit, or sometimes they just go it on their own all of a sudden. Or sometimes they never do, hard to say. Which doesn't really help I know :) mostly to say anything can happen really, so get set to stay on your toes, LOL!
 
Thanks for your prayers, they are greatly appreciated.

The two scariest times for the bean of a diabetic cat are when they are dx and when they go OTJ.

Sometimes they go off all at once and sometimes they do it a little at a time, you need to be on your toes for either event just in case.

You are doing great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top