Sarah and Baby
Member Since 2011
OK, thank you to everyone who helped me with the low BS problem yesterday. My mom tested her when she got there at 8pm and she was 325 so she did not go up too badly.
D/T the overabundance of BS readings in the 300's, after conferencing with my mom and my aunt who are both nurses with extensive experience with diabetic patients, I decided to up my dose to 1.5 daily. Unfortunately, I am not around to do a curve right now and I won't be able to do one until next wednesday. I am a little concerned with the low numbers I have been getting, but because of her history of ketones in her urine, I am not willing to go another week with her numbers reading so high.
Her first dose of 1.5 was this morning at +12 from last night. check out her spreadsheet and let me know what you think.
In summary, Baby was diagnosed 3 months ago, started her on Humulin insulin 2 units, moved her up to 3, and then dropped her back to 1 when I found FMDB, on Lori and Tom's advice. Switched to lantus last month, started at 1u on 7/31, moved up to 1.25 on 8/8, and now up to 1.5 on 8/17. When Baby was originally diagnosed, she had ketones in her urine, I bought ketone testing strips but have not been able to test yet.
I think that's basically it. Thank you so much everyone for the help!!!
Update: Baby's PMPS was 145, so advised no shot. I really don't know what to do here, if you have some ideas, please let me know. My mom who is caring for my cat while i'm on vacation, said that Baby didn't eat all day. I'm just completely lost here.
This is cross-posted to the Health board.
D/T the overabundance of BS readings in the 300's, after conferencing with my mom and my aunt who are both nurses with extensive experience with diabetic patients, I decided to up my dose to 1.5 daily. Unfortunately, I am not around to do a curve right now and I won't be able to do one until next wednesday. I am a little concerned with the low numbers I have been getting, but because of her history of ketones in her urine, I am not willing to go another week with her numbers reading so high.
Her first dose of 1.5 was this morning at +12 from last night. check out her spreadsheet and let me know what you think.
In summary, Baby was diagnosed 3 months ago, started her on Humulin insulin 2 units, moved her up to 3, and then dropped her back to 1 when I found FMDB, on Lori and Tom's advice. Switched to lantus last month, started at 1u on 7/31, moved up to 1.25 on 8/8, and now up to 1.5 on 8/17. When Baby was originally diagnosed, she had ketones in her urine, I bought ketone testing strips but have not been able to test yet.
I think that's basically it. Thank you so much everyone for the help!!!
Update: Baby's PMPS was 145, so advised no shot. I really don't know what to do here, if you have some ideas, please let me know. My mom who is caring for my cat while i'm on vacation, said that Baby didn't eat all day. I'm just completely lost here.
This is cross-posted to the Health board.