Arkali
Member Since 2018
Some of you may have seen my woes about switching to a Relion Micro last week. The main issue is that it tests super low. There's a 15-point differential for two-leggeds, and on Gypsy it measures a full 30 points lower than my OneTouch. Tonight I lowered her insulin (Lantus) to .75u and it said her BG is 38. Three eight. On the One Touch, that would be 68, which would be fine. But she is showing ZERO signs of hypo. She looks / acts fine. I gave her a couple of Temptations just to give her a bit of a boost, but yeah. I find myself not trusting this meter, and that's not a good place to be.
Would you:
1) Mentally add about +30 to the readings since that appears to be the differential?
2) Act as though the readings are correct despite being fairly sure they aren't?
3) Get another Relion?
4) Go back to using the One Touch despite the added cost?
5) Something else?
Thank you!
Edit to add: I just swapped the battery out. It tested 7 points lower, but close enough for government work
, so it's not the battery. Didn't think it was, but figured it wouldn't hurt.
Also: I had some Abbott FreeStyle control solution and took a test with that. Result was 93. Back of the canister says L1: 25 - 46, L2: 87-145, L3: 243 - 404. So I'm taking it that it falls in the low end of the normal range. I'm still thinking of swapping it for another tomorrow.
Would you:
1) Mentally add about +30 to the readings since that appears to be the differential?
2) Act as though the readings are correct despite being fairly sure they aren't?
3) Get another Relion?
4) Go back to using the One Touch despite the added cost?
5) Something else?
Thank you!
Edit to add: I just swapped the battery out. It tested 7 points lower, but close enough for government work
Also: I had some Abbott FreeStyle control solution and took a test with that. Result was 93. Back of the canister says L1: 25 - 46, L2: 87-145, L3: 243 - 404. So I'm taking it that it falls in the low end of the normal range. I'm still thinking of swapping it for another tomorrow.
Last edited:
), but I’d be extremely nervous about shooting on greens, especially her normal dose. 