Not sure what to call her dose..but its Working. AMPS 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well not sure if the dose is a .15 or a .2 or maybe less but its working, Musette's numbers the last few days have been steadily falling at her preshots. Basically it is about a human hair width above the zero line on the syringe, so as best as I can tell off of Sheila's pictures that would be .15u? Someone forgot to show her the stickies on how more insulin is suppose to bring about lower numbers, in Musette's case its just the reverse, less insulin results in lower numbers...Leave it to a Tortie to have to make everything a drama...lol

She still needs to clear the bounce she got going when I tried to raise her dose the other day, but so far this new dose seems to working (fingers crossed). She clearly doesn't think insulin is necessary. She comes willingly to be tested, but the moment she sees the syringe, she fights me. But she has learned that I'm not scared of her hissing at me...lol

But on the upside, just weighed her and she has gained nearly a pound since she got here. When I got her she weighed actually 6lbs. Today she is up to 6.8lbs. She is no longer flooding the litter box, and if I don't have a syringe in my hand very loving, barely look at her and the motor turns on. And she is walking much better as well, she had pretty bad neuropathy when I first saw her pictures, she was better when she first got her, and now she is leaping on and off of everything. Yesterday she even jumped up on the bathroom sink to help me put on my make-up.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: Not sure what to call her dose..but its Working. AMPS 20

Very nice report, Mel. I like Musette's avatar. It looks like her fur is filling in nicely...but I haven't seen an updated picture in a while. sigh (hinting) :smile:
 
Re: Not sure what to call her dose..but its Working. AMPS 20

LOL Marcy,

Ask and you shall receive. Got these just the other night of her, right before Jon stole the batteres out of the camera so he could put them in the TV remote. Priorities you know? :lol:

157.jpg


159.jpg


I need to find a background to get pictures of her against that really shows off all the tortie coloring she is starting to get in as her top coat grows back. Right now it looks like the only part of her that isn't going to be tortie is a saddle on her back and her belly. Both her hips are getting very mottled and so are her shoulders. I know how much Maxwell changed in coloring when his coat finally came in, so I'm excited to see what she is truly going to look like, as her colors on the fur she had are starting to deepen as well.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: Not sure what to call her dose..but its Working. AMPS 20

And Yeah, I figured it was time to swap her picture for Maxwell since November 1st will be his 1 year anniversary of being off the juice. So I thought maybe the avatar should be the current sugarcat. lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: Not sure what to call her dose..but its Working. AMPS 20

That is so awesome about Maxwell!
Musette's looking great! Her fur will be grown in in no time. I was just checking out her ss. What cha' doing there?
 
Re: Not sure what to call her dose..but its Working. AMPS 20

LOL I wondered when someone was going to ask...Don't worry she is going back on the juice tonight, but I wanted to see what she would do on her own so I had a baseline for her...basically what her for lack of better words...'normal' was. So I had a bette idea ofhow she was truly reacting to the Lantus. Now I know she wil pretty much keep herself in the 200s without insulin so I can tell is her liver is dumping extra sugar or not. Yes I'm stalking her to the litter box every time I see her headed that way with Ketostix in hand. Ketones negative btw :-D Somehow what her numbers at dxed I couldn't find in her old vet records so really didn't know if those 300s and 400s were her natual high numbers or if they were being her liver freaking out.

Tonight in exactly 1/2 hour she is going back on a tiny amount of insulin so hopefully I can gentle nudge her numbers down. Apparently she doesn't need much, she can drop herself 45 pts with just food, so she has some action left there, now to bring her down gentle so it can finish healing.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top