Brie’s Mom
Member
Hi there,
I am very new to this and have a few questions - Brie has been bouncing a lot. She was just diagnosed in December 2022 so I have heard that its expected newly diagnosed, but I have no idea how to interpret her levels and there haven’t been many patterns.
Background:
On NYE I accidentally gave her her normal 1u when her BG was only PMPS 7.8mmol (140) (Very dumb I know). I realized my mistake right away and got her to eat some more food, hoping that nothing would happen if she ate more. Her BG started dropping fast over the next few hours and I ended up feeding her high carb treats, kibble, and wet. When that wasn't working I started putting corn syrup on her paws and she would lick it all off, as she would not let me rub on her gums. It still kept dropping and when it got to 3.2 (66) after everything we were trying I called our emergency vet and they said to continue monitoring and call back if she drops below 2 (40). She started to perk up a few hours later but I woke up every hour that night to make sure she was still high enough. I went into shock and almost a panic attack during the ordeal (especially because it was my fault). I did a reduced dose (0.5u) the next morning because I read on here that they are more sensitive to insulin the day after and because it was New Years Day, my vet wasn't open to ask.
Anyways! So today she dropped down to 4.7mmol (84) @ +4 today and I freaked out and started feeding her more. She ended up at 3.7 (66) @ +6.5. I was still pretty traumatized by the past incident so I am worried that I went overboard today and was too quick to feed her more as she then jumped to 11mmol (198) @ +7. That seems like a super large jump for 30 minutes and she has been over 22mmol (414) (I use the freestyle libre and it only goes up to 22mmol (414), otherwise just shows HI.) ever since.
So my question is this - When should you react to a low BG? If I hadn't tried to fix it this afternoon would the BG have started to come back up on its own?
I'm heading back to work tomorrow and won't be home until AMPS+5.5 which is usually around her nadir. I'm worried I may miss a potential low glucose event. Am I just being crazy? Any help or opinions would be amazing! Thank you so much!
I am very new to this and have a few questions - Brie has been bouncing a lot. She was just diagnosed in December 2022 so I have heard that its expected newly diagnosed, but I have no idea how to interpret her levels and there haven’t been many patterns.
Background:
On NYE I accidentally gave her her normal 1u when her BG was only PMPS 7.8mmol (140) (Very dumb I know). I realized my mistake right away and got her to eat some more food, hoping that nothing would happen if she ate more. Her BG started dropping fast over the next few hours and I ended up feeding her high carb treats, kibble, and wet. When that wasn't working I started putting corn syrup on her paws and she would lick it all off, as she would not let me rub on her gums. It still kept dropping and when it got to 3.2 (66) after everything we were trying I called our emergency vet and they said to continue monitoring and call back if she drops below 2 (40). She started to perk up a few hours later but I woke up every hour that night to make sure she was still high enough. I went into shock and almost a panic attack during the ordeal (especially because it was my fault). I did a reduced dose (0.5u) the next morning because I read on here that they are more sensitive to insulin the day after and because it was New Years Day, my vet wasn't open to ask.
Anyways! So today she dropped down to 4.7mmol (84) @ +4 today and I freaked out and started feeding her more. She ended up at 3.7 (66) @ +6.5. I was still pretty traumatized by the past incident so I am worried that I went overboard today and was too quick to feed her more as she then jumped to 11mmol (198) @ +7. That seems like a super large jump for 30 minutes and she has been over 22mmol (414) (I use the freestyle libre and it only goes up to 22mmol (414), otherwise just shows HI.) ever since.
So my question is this - When should you react to a low BG? If I hadn't tried to fix it this afternoon would the BG have started to come back up on its own?
I'm heading back to work tomorrow and won't be home until AMPS+5.5 which is usually around her nadir. I'm worried I may miss a potential low glucose event. Am I just being crazy? Any help or opinions would be amazing! Thank you so much!
Last edited: