underdawg
Active Member
Bo was diagnosed 9/23 with a BG level of 561. We went on 3 units of Lantus twice a day. Food was changed to Hill's m/d dry. Then when I read about dry food on this board, I changed to canned only with some 75% protein chicken treats. Later the insulin was increased to 4 units twice a day. Never could get many readings with the AccuCheck Aviva. Then he had a seizure last Monday night. I was able to use Karo and get him to eat before taking him to the emergency vet where his BG was then 74 upon arrival. The next day the regular vet changed dose to 4 units once a day to start on Wednesday. I did not feel comfortable to give 4 units but instead only gave 2 units Wed morning. Wed afternoon BG was 131 before eating. Thursday morning gave 2 units - BG was 349. Decided to feed 4 small meals. Actually midday and midnight "snack" is what is leftover from his portion for the breakfast or supper. Friday morning I could not get a BG reading so I did not give a shot. Friday afternoon his BG was 324 so I gave him 2 units. This was the last shot he has had because his BG levels are too low for me to give a shot: Saturday pm 119, Sunday pm 177, Monday pm 98, Tuesday pm 87, tonight 77. What does this mean? He has not had a shot since Friday night. He is scheduled for a curve This Friday to see what is happeing throughout the day. Can he hypo with no insulin in him? Tell me what this means. I was thinking it was maybe something positive..now I don't know what to think. Is he responsing to the diet change and loss of weight? Thanks for your help.