Not sure if things are getting better...

Status
Not open for further replies.

pamelamh

Member Since 2014
Hello! Jack is five months into diagnosis and his sugar was over 500 and has been as low as under 200; currently he's at 300ish (last vet visit) and his weight is up. He was at 18.4 lbs. Only switch I made was skipping a bit of extra food during the night (no other changes). On his own, he's cut down during the daytime and his weight as of right now is 17.8. This is a good thing or a bad thing??? confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

he is on 2x day Lantus at 12 hr intervals, and eats only Fancy Feast classics.
 
He could be better regulated.

We have a research proven Lantus protocol which has been used to effectively control feline diabetes. In some cases, the cat has become diet-controlled.

In addition to feeding low carb, high protein, you should be giving the same dose every 12 hours - are you doing that?
 
BJM said:
He could be better regulated.

We have a research proven Lantus protocol which has been used to effectively control feline diabetes. In some cases, the cat has become diet-controlled.

In addition to feeding low carb, high protein, you should be giving the same dose every 12 hours - are you doing that?

Yes, we give him 1.5 units every 12 hours.

His litter 'output' is reduced as well...
 
If you test around +5 to +7 hours after giving Lantus, you can find out how low he is going. That is how to determine dose adjustments with Lantus, after sticking with the same dose for 3 full days (5 full days, for the first dose level).

You may find the following helpful:

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Obesity is a contributing factor to insulin resistance so getting a cat down to their ideal weight is a good thing. Sounds to me like Jack may need to shed more pounds.

See where Jack falls on this Body Condition Score chart. Has your vet ever said what his ideal weight should be?

Doesn't appear that you are home testing. Is that correct?

Are you only having Jack's BG readings done at the vet? Are they running a curve (tests every 2 hours, for a 12 hour period) or only taking a single BG reading and then adjusting the dose?
 
Pam,
Testing is kind of like the gas gauge for diabetes - it lets you know when you need to do something or it's safe to drive for a while. :-D Did you ever get your meter replaced?

HUGS!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top