Not sleeping well - Worried all night long

Status
Not open for further replies.

HyperJMA

Member Since 2016
Hey Everyone!
Has anyone noticed that their cat responds differently at night vs the day?
I find myself up every night until 1 or 2 because I get worried that his BG is dropping too fast, too much, or won't go up. I lay in bed reading my kindle, and when I hear him go to the food dish, I hop up worried about him having low BG and go to check his sugar.
Like tonight, for instance. His BG dropped from 243 @ 8:30 pm to 101 @ 11:30 pm. That's quite a bit right?

Also.... I wonder... if a cat is experiencing low BG, will they naturally go to eat food? Like, as long as I have stuff down then he will go to eat it if he feels sick?

I'm not sleeping well because I'm up all night worrying, purposefully keeping myself awake..... I just don't know what's wrong with me.

~~J~~
 
Many cats go lower at night. With ProZinc and mid-cycle test data to show it is safe, you can adjust the evening dose downward as needed to compensate for that.
 
There's nothing wrong with you. You love your furbaby! I went through the same thing with Sassy, jumping out of bed numerous times during the night to see if she was okay. And though it wasn't funny then, now that she is better, I have to laugh at how I followed her everywhere she went to see when she peed, pooped or ate, and how much because, I was keeping a record for the vet. If she slept for too long I would check to see if she was still breathing. This went on for 2 weeks. When she finally leveled out and I could relax, I didn't get off my sofa for 2 days. Hope you can relax soon too.
 
After 30 minutes he's up to 82. I think I heard him visit the food bowl on his own without prompting from me.
I guess I'll stay up a little longer to see if it keeps going up.

I am so tired ---- physically, emotionally, and mentally.
My friends don't understand how I can be so tired. I don't have kids and I don't work during the summer, so they look at me like I'm a drama queen when I tell them how I sometimes will get up early to do a BG check and then go back to bed and how I'm still too tired to do stuff. They just don't understand what being under constant stress and worry will do to a person.
 
97 at 130 am. The dude looks tired... so tired that he doesn't have the energy to become irritated with me. I think he's on the rise. It's time to give us both a well-needed rest.
 
I do the same thing. I finally started setting the alarm for 1 and 5 in the morning to let the dogs go potty. As long as I'm up, I test Callie. She's not too hapy with me, she does like the treats I give her. If I stay up and read, I will fall asleep.
 
After 30 minutes he's up to 82. I think I heard him visit the food bowl on his own without prompting from me.
I guess I'll stay up a little longer to see if it keeps going up.

I am so tired ---- physically, emotionally, and mentally.
My friends don't understand how I can be so tired. I don't have kids and I don't work during the summer, so they look at me like I'm a drama queen when I tell them how I sometimes will get up early to do a BG check and then go back to bed and how I'm still too tired to do stuff. They just don't understand what being under constant stress and worry will do to a person.

I totally understand your tiredness, not just the physical, but the emotional and mental. Unless one is a doting pet parent, as we all are on this site, they can never understand what we feel and what we are willing to do for our furkids. One of my kitties has other health issues, which makes his numbers unpredictable. The one night I feel I can actually go to bed at a decent time he will throw me hypo range numbers and I am up late monitoring. After 3 or 4 hours sleep before the next shot I am exhausted and go back to bed for a few hours after morning shots...which doesn't always refresh me. I have cancelled out on social events because of unexpected low numbers of because the event came at a bad time for my testing/shots. And so on.

We do what we do because we love our furkids....but we also need to take care of ourselves, because if we aren't healthy we can't take care of our kitties properly. It is a fine balancing act to be a good caregiver and still be kind to ourselves. As BJM suggested. giving a reduced dose in the evening might allow you more comfort about going to bed on time or even being able to go out and have some relax time away from home. You could also get an automatic feeder set to give some food at the times that he seems to drop more so that there will be food available if you are not there or are sleeping.

You aren't working during the summer, so plan some time for yourself and enjoy the time. If your weather is anything like where I am, summer is far too short and we need to be able to enjoy the time we have. Take time for yourself, even if it means having to give a reduced dose sometimes so that you can sleep or just get away and above all be kind to yourself. :bighug: :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top