not seeing food list & other question

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Member Since 2015
so i must be blind tonight, I dont see the list for which can food to buy

I want to switch over from all dry to can, how do i safely do it? Please see my SS to see my cat's high levels
 
Change about 20-25% new food each day to reduce the chances of GI issues and food refusal.
The food list is at Cat Info in the right hand column.
 
Change about 20-25% new food each day to reduce the chances of GI issues and food refusal.
He is on dry food and free feeds. Can you break that down a little more?
Im sorry, I have been busting my butt packing up a big 2 story home by myself and only being able to move from Friday Nov 13 th 10:00 AM to Sun Nov 15th at 3:30 PM . Im so tired ( mind & body ) that I can hardly think :(
 
Day 1: Remove 20% of the old dry food; put down the equal amount of calories of the new food.
Day 2: Remove 40%of the old dry food; put down the equal amount of calories of the new food.
etc.
If you're in the US, you might start by swapping out the dry M/D with Evo Cat and Kitten Turkey and Chicken dry.
 
You will likely see a big drop in his BG when you get him off the Hill's (very high carbs!) and onto a low carb, canned diet, so make sure to be extra vigilant about testing until you see where his numbers are going; sometimes a change in dosage is needed. :)
 
Hey Sheri, first Welcome and Skittles is a cutie, looks like he has a mustache. Some of the foods that many of us use here at the forum that are low carb are
Fancy Feast CLASSICS
Wellness NO GRAIN
9- Lives PATE

I put in bold classics, no grain, and pate because it is important that you get those particular formulas with in each brand as all Fancy Feast cans are not created equal. The food chart link that Chris gave you will give you some other options but at least you will have a few to get started with and when you have moved and are settled in, you'll have more time to read and research the link. Good luck with moving, not fun.
 
Evo Cat and Kitten Turkey and Chicken dry.
Can this be found in walmart? or do I need to look at PetSmart or another pet chain store?

Hills MD is $40.00 for a small bag and I have 2 cats on it ( and my dog will sneak it )

I have always planned to switch over to can because doing so years ago I got my other cat into remission. ( he has since pasted away)
I have moved and 95% unpacked. I do NOT have a job yet, but I am looking and everything cost so much! His insulin rins $105-$110 here. my bottle is 3/4 gone now.He
has been on it since Oct 13th and now up to 5 units

So since I am switching over to can and I let him free feed on his dry right not, should I put it up and only feed him when he gets his insulin?

I already have my dog's food on my bed because I have caught him eating it ( like this morning when I had it on the floor in my room ) he can not jump so thats why my dogs food is on my bed
 
You want to make sure that the test is at least 2 hours after he has eaten. Those here whose cats free feed make sure the food is picked up 2 hours before. It will be so much better when you get him off the Hill dry (expensive and higher carbs) You will need to get more test in through the day because when you do make the switch to low carb wet there could be a big drop in his numbers requiring a reduction of insulin. Do the transition at a time when you will be home to test him a few times through the cycle like at +3 and +7 to make sure his is in safe numbers.
 
Ideally you want to just switch to low carb canned such as Friskies pates except mixed grill. It is available at Walmart.
Evo Cat and Kitten is not sold at Walmart. You can find it at specialty pet stores or only. And you only need that if you have a die hard dry food eater.
 
If you can get him completely off ALL dry, it'll be one of the best things you can do for his diabetes and his kidneys.

A lot of us use auto-feeders or make "food-cicles" so we can leave food out at night for our cats to snack on instead of waking us up! To make food-cicles, just add water to canned cat food, blend and put into ice cube trays or small muffin trays. Freeze and then pop into a freezer bag and use as needed. Most cats won't eat frozen, but a few hours later when it's thawed, it's just like fresh!
 
I have started switching skittkes over to can food. this morning I picked up his dry food at 7:30 , at 9 I did his AMPS ( 461 ) gave him 4.5 units and then mixed some water with Friskies populty pate. So now, how often & much should I give him his dry?
 
If you can get him to eat only canned, I wouldn't give him the dry at all!! Some cats can be switched over from dry to canned quickly without having any problems, while others have trouble with diarrhea from switching too fast (I was lucky...I picked up the dry and put down canned and my cats never had any problem!) How Skittles reacts will determine if you can just dump the dry immediately or if you need to transition a little slower

Make sure you test often while you're transitioning off the dry...dropping the carbs in the diet can drop the numbers 100 points or more!

It is important that you take up all food for the 2 hours before shot times though so that when you do your pre-shot tests, they aren't influenced by food...so if you shoot at 9, no food after 7 until you get those pre-shot tests.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top