? Normalish numbers with .5u? Or .25u with higher numbers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lando demando

Member Since 2021
I am wondering which is the best choice of these two options?

when Lando is on .5u his numbers are in the 120s pre shot and swim in the 80s and low 90s post shot. He dips under 80 now and then ( thus the decrease)
When he is on .25u insulin his preshot numbers are higher 120s-140 and doesnt seem to go below. 90 post shot.

is there any DISADVANTAGE in shooting more insulin ( besides hypo) ? It seems like if insulin is natural and a part of the body anyways, .5u should be a good “fit” for him as a steady long term plan.

thoughts?
 
I don't think there's any harm either way. Technically insulin is a hormone, and it's not exactly the same as what their body makes. So some people aren't a fan of using more than they need.

I, however, am of the mindset that I prefer the whole body running as close to normal as possible. So when a function is missing or overactive - diabetes, thyroid, etc - I tend to prefer a higher dose that keeps them more within normal limits (while weighing side effects of course).

For Lando specifically, it's a little hard to say without midcycle tests (I just had the SS open but now Google is broken) - is he staying around 89, or does he dip lower after those +2s?. You can customize the SLGS reduction point, some possibilities include 80, or 2x under 90, etc. It's whatever you think keeps kitty in the range you want and helps avoid "failed reductions" (that's not really a thing on SLGS but I think you understand the concept).
 
I don't think there's any harm either way. Technically insulin is a hormone, and it's not exactly the same as what their body makes. So some people aren't a fan of using more than they need.

I, however, am of the mindset that I prefer the whole body running as close to normal as possible. So when a function is missing or overactive - diabetes, thyroid, etc - I tend to prefer a higher dose that keeps them more within normal limits (while weighing side effects of course).

For Lando specifically, it's a little hard to say without midcycle tests (I just had the SS open but now Google is broken) - is he staying around 89, or does he dip lower after those +2s?. You can customize the SLGS reduction point, some possibilities include 80, or 2x under 90, etc. It's whatever you think keeps kitty in the range you want and helps avoid "failed reductions" (that's not really a thing on SLGS but I think you understand the concept).
Thank you @FrostD . What you are saying makes sense and after i ride out this cycle on .25 and do some mid cycle tests, i may plunk him back at .5 ( if the cycle does what i think its doing). I appreciate the extra insight
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top