SmallestSparrow
Member Since 2024
First yes I’m an idiot and horribly inept cat mom who needs to grow a pair. I’m just trying to figure out how what I should have done. I also have watched in awe as you all give 8U at pmps 100. I’m not there yet. I’d really appreciate opinions on how normal or not things are (I will go back to put in his earlier data in SS today if Methos ketones don’t increase and Tammuz’ pancreatitis lets him eat
Methos has been on Glargine since 1 Aug. slowly increased from 1U to 3.5 q12 without dramatic improvement. Some days he stays the same 300 all day. Others he goes up during a cycle. The last three weeks he’s had one day each week where suddenly it seems like the insulin is working. Better than I’m ready to handle. Then his pmps is lower than I’m comfortable giving an entire shot. Just as I thought I could maybe give 3.5 if he was below 200 he was 115 and there went my resolve. I should have given at least 1-2U I know, I kicked myself all night and cried this am. I can’t keep sending panicked texts to my poor vet.
I don’t know why I get a sudden good day—until last night it happended 36-48 hr after his b12 shot so I was beginning to wonder if it’s that ( @Heike & BInie and I both found interesting articles about that) but then 48 hr after a normal day (which my brain sees as low) he had another even more normal day (and today is paying for me skipping his shot). I’m going to make an appt for him to get repeat cortisol and aldosterone levels in case the sprianolactone (12.5 mg BID) and/or vetoryl (10 mg BID) are working too well (to be clear he’s been on those over a year, the DM is recent), or if his pancreatitis has improved (last fPL over 50, amylase & lipase above nml)—or this is just dm looking for a correct dose, or of course just me making bad decisions
My vet is probably going to reduce him to 3U today but now I’m wondering if I should have just given something last night and stayed the course on 3.5. Or if these sporadic drops to normal at pmps is means a decrease is in order but maybe to 3.25?
I just read an article @Wendy&Neko posted elsewhere that mentioned when vetoryl peaks (which I hadn’t been able to find before) and apparently it starts working at +2 and peaks at +4 (similar to Glargine) so I now wonder if that’s part of the reason his nadir usually falls at +4.5-5 rather than +6. So I don’t know if altering when he gets meds will help smooth things.
I’m sort of stuck with vetoryl at 0330/1530 so the clinic is open at +5 for cortisol tests but I can look at maybe shifting it to 830/2030 if the clinic can draw cortisol in the afternoon—if any of you think what’s happening isn’t just normal behavior of DM (and my poor decisions) in the first two months.
Thanks for any advice
Methos has been on Glargine since 1 Aug. slowly increased from 1U to 3.5 q12 without dramatic improvement. Some days he stays the same 300 all day. Others he goes up during a cycle. The last three weeks he’s had one day each week where suddenly it seems like the insulin is working. Better than I’m ready to handle. Then his pmps is lower than I’m comfortable giving an entire shot. Just as I thought I could maybe give 3.5 if he was below 200 he was 115 and there went my resolve. I should have given at least 1-2U I know, I kicked myself all night and cried this am. I can’t keep sending panicked texts to my poor vet.
I don’t know why I get a sudden good day—until last night it happended 36-48 hr after his b12 shot so I was beginning to wonder if it’s that ( @Heike & BInie and I both found interesting articles about that) but then 48 hr after a normal day (which my brain sees as low) he had another even more normal day (and today is paying for me skipping his shot). I’m going to make an appt for him to get repeat cortisol and aldosterone levels in case the sprianolactone (12.5 mg BID) and/or vetoryl (10 mg BID) are working too well (to be clear he’s been on those over a year, the DM is recent), or if his pancreatitis has improved (last fPL over 50, amylase & lipase above nml)—or this is just dm looking for a correct dose, or of course just me making bad decisions
My vet is probably going to reduce him to 3U today but now I’m wondering if I should have just given something last night and stayed the course on 3.5. Or if these sporadic drops to normal at pmps is means a decrease is in order but maybe to 3.25?
I just read an article @Wendy&Neko posted elsewhere that mentioned when vetoryl peaks (which I hadn’t been able to find before) and apparently it starts working at +2 and peaks at +4 (similar to Glargine) so I now wonder if that’s part of the reason his nadir usually falls at +4.5-5 rather than +6. So I don’t know if altering when he gets meds will help smooth things.
I’m sort of stuck with vetoryl at 0330/1530 so the clinic is open at +5 for cortisol tests but I can look at maybe shifting it to 830/2030 if the clinic can draw cortisol in the afternoon—if any of you think what’s happening isn’t just normal behavior of DM (and my poor decisions) in the first two months.
Thanks for any advice



