Normal Drop with switch to wet food

Status
Not open for further replies.

orangetabby8

Member Since 2021
Hi all,

My sweet girl was diagnosed with diabetes on Friday (BG at initial visit was 378). Her morning blood glucose prior to switching to wet food was 246.

I switched her to Fancy Feast Pate diet yesterday evening and she loves it.

This morning (pre-food) her BG was 186. I fed her, she ate the whole can, and then I tested her again 2 hours later. Her blood glucose two hours after food was 203.

I have my first insulin appointment next Wednesday and the vet wants to put her on 1u of ProZinc twice daily. Her blood sugars are already coming down quite a bit after only two cans of wet food.

How many days should I expect it to drop from food alone? I'm starting to get concerned with giving her 1u twice daily if her morning glucose is below 200.
 
You are definitely seeing the benefits to both testing and home, and low carb food. Some cats are horribly stressed at the vet, making their numbers soar. I had one non diabetic that tested over 220 at the vets one day, and 53 at home the next. It could also be that the vet was using a pet meter, which tends to read higher in higher numbers, making that 378 higher than your Relion would say.

Wet food can also make a huge difference, but it can take a few days to completely see how it'll impact your girl. As the dry food gets out of the system, you may continue to see the numbers drop. We have had the occasional cat that has gone completely off of insulin with a food switch. Keep testing her every day, and see if you continue to see a drop.

And yes 1 unit would be too much insulin to start, according to our dosing methods.
 
You are definitely seeing the benefits to both testing and home, and low carb food. Some cats are horribly stressed at the vet, making their numbers soar. I had one non diabetic that tested over 220 at the vets one day, and 53 at home the next. It could also be that the vet was using a pet meter, which tends to read higher in higher numbers, making that 378 higher than your Relion would say.

Wet food can also make a huge difference, but it can take a few days to completely see how it'll impact your girl. As the dry food gets out of the system, you may continue to see the numbers drop. We have had the occasional cat that has gone completely off of insulin with a food switch. Keep testing her every day, and see if you continue to see a drop.

And yes 1 unit would be too much insulin to start, according to our dosing methods.

Yeah she definitely gets stressed out at the vet. By the time they got her blood, she had sat in the waiting room, got weighed, examined, etc.

Her evening blood sugar (pre-meal) was 166! She is also drinking way less water (I've gotten to observe her all day since I was off today and she drank water once). She peed much less than usual and her urine was negative for ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top