Normal blood sugar range for Feline?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evey

Member Since 2024
I noticed that there are 2 different normal blood sugar range for feline. one is 80-120mg/dL (4.4-6.67mmol/l). The other is 71 -159 mg/dL (3.94-8.83mmol/L). On the lab test result report, it says the normal range is 71-159. I'm confused. Which one is the correct one or what's the difference between these 2?
 
The normal range for a cat is 50-120 (2.8-6.6)
Some lab places have a slightly higher range. But for hometesting I would stick with 50-120 if it is a human meter.
I can see you are using a freestyle libre which can give you unreliable readings when the BG drops under 100. It would be a good idea if you could get a hand help human meter so you could double check any BGs that drop under 100.
 
The normal range for a cat is 50-120 (2.8-6.6)
Thanks for the info. Sorry, I'm just a bit confused. I'm wondering why this group suggests using the 50-120 range rather than the higher ranges I find from other labs we've used and researched online. The two ranges I keep running into are 80-120 and 71-159. Is this group's recommended range of 50-120 based on any articles or sources I can research? I really appreciate the help and sorry in advance if this is kind of an ignorant question to ask. Thanks!
 
The range is based on the Tight Regulation Protocol guidelines that were published in one of the feline veterinary journals (Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery) several years ago. As Bron was implying, the difference may be how they are measuring. Human meters run a bit lower than either a pet-specific meter or a serum chemistry analyzer which is what's used if the vet is sending your cat's labs out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top