? Noah 29/12 vacation dose? amps 12.9 - +2 -6

When do you leave for your vacation? That is, before or after the PM shot? Can you get more tests this morning?
 
He was higher the last few days after the skip and the depot has now rebuilt so you will know what he will do on 1u today.

Will your roommate be at home with Noah or only take preshot tests and feed with the shot?
 
Last edited:
He was higher the last few days after the skip and the depot has now rebuilt so you will know what he will do on 1u today.

Well your roommate be at home with Noah or only take preshot tests and feed with the shot?
My room mate wil take preshoot numbers
And inject the insulin
She doesn’t have a fix schedule
Sometimes she will home sometimes not

today I can leave in the evening but if I see during the day today he drop too low
I can go in vacation from tomorrow

so I will take a +5 and we see from there
After the number of +2 he ate so for the next 2-3 hours he should be ok
 
He was higher the last few days after the skip and the depot has now rebuilt so you will know what he will do on 1u today.

Well your roommate be at home with Noah or only take preshot tests and feed with the shot?
After 45 minutes he is 4.5 …. Shall I take another test in half an hour ? Shall I give him food again now ?
 
Not required. Feed normal LC. He has slowed down. Can you get a +5?
I had plan to leave now for a couple of hours to do some errands
But if is dangerous to leave him alone I will go and try to come back for a +5 … as I’m afraid he will drop too low with those numbers
 
I'm meanwhile going to tag a few others on inputs on whether you need to go down to 0.75U from tonight as a vacation dose.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Yes I would reduce the dose for the vacation dose. Maybe even down to 0.5 U. He’s had a couple of dose reductions in the last 7 or so days. And there doesn’t appear to be any ketones in the picture.
0.5 might be an easier dose to draw up for the flatmate.
Do you think he will eat OK for your flatmate?
 
I just think you should maybe cut the dose back to .5 .75 is too hard to draw if you are not used to it. Sorry if I am repeating. I’m sitting here in my parked car and haven’t read everything. Early morning and I am out feeding my feral cats and saw your tag.
 
Okay, I see now that Bron has also suggested a reduction to .5. I would feel more comfortable with that. Even though he is very familiar with your flatmate, his eating may decline a bit if he misses you. I am very excited about how well he is doing. Of course he must do this when you are going away! Cats!
 
I would likewise suggest the 0.5u dose since it's easier to draw up the dose especially if your roommate isn't terribly familiar with the dosing. Also, please leave a sample syringe using colored water/liquid. There have been too many times a well meaning person dosed 5.0u and not 0.5u because they couldn't believe the dose was so small or they misread the syringe. Pictures or a sample syringe will help.

A couple other things to keep in mind--
  • make sure your roommate knows how to access FDMB and get help. You may not hear your phone and people are online here pretty much 24/7.
  • make sure your roommate has the name and phone number for your vet and the vet's address should your cat get sick
  • make sure your roommate has the same information for the closest emergency vet.
All of the above may be completely unnecessary but when I travel, I'm a completely neurotic caregiver despite having a petsitter I trust and who has excellent judgement. It makes me feel better.
 
Okay, I see now that Bron has also suggested a reduction to .5. I would feel more comfortable with that. Even though he is very familiar with your flatmate, his eating may decline a bit if he misses you. I am very excited about how well he is doing. Of course he must do this when you are going away! Cats!

right ?? The day I need to leave he goes green color …. I love to see how well he is doing ! And I’m afraid that going back to 0.50 will make him go backwards in his journey … but I’m also afraid to keep the 1 unit and having nobody doing middle cycle test …

I will be able for sure to speak with my flatmate every preshoot numbers
and I will be 40 minutes far away driving by car if something happen … so maybe I tell her to give 0.75 unit … not to make Noah going too backwards with his journey as I want him to go in remission soon :)
Eheheh
 
I’m also thinking to wait tomorrow morning to leave since I couldn’t leave once I saw his greens this afternoon….
And if I wait tomorrow morning I can still do 1 unit tonight and then from tomorrow morning start the 0.75 . Just to be on the safe side since today he was on the green numbers may be safer to leave tomorrow instead of today …

I will take a +8 and then decide when to leave
hopefully he will not be so low at that time since he is slowing going up
 
Ok so I decide to stay home tonight and leave tomorrow
shall I give him still 1 unit tonight and start tomorrow morning with the reduction ? @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I would not. I would go ahead and begin the reduction tonight to start draining the depot. This will be safer. did you decide on .75 units, and have you watched your flatmate draw up that amount? With water even? It’s only a few days and I really believe that you will be able to get Noah back into the place he is now without too much trouble. And the way he’s been surprising you lately with all of these reductions makes me think it won’t be too difficult.
 
I would not. I would go ahead and begin the reduction tonight to start draining the depot. This will be safer. did you decide on .75 units, and have you watched your flatmate draw up that amount? With water even? It’s only a few days and I really believe that you will be able to get Noah back into the place he is now without too much trouble. And the way he’s been surprising you lately with all of these reductions makes me think it won’t be too difficult.
Ok done 0.75. My flat mate put the dose in front of me .. just a bit more than 0.50 . Indeed a challenging dose to put in the siringe but I fully trust her

thanks everyone
Hopefully he will not go too down with this dose while I’m away
 
Back
Top