no sleep with Asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Mornin kids ~O)
I have a busy day and am about to dash out, but I wanted to post to see if anyone had any thoughts. I am stumped.

Asher has been on a lower dose and less food since his dental. The doc wants him to loose weight so we have cut his food by 1/3. Or have tried to.
He had too long a duration and we had to wait to shoot in the evenings. Like 2 hours. Happened 3 times so I lowered his dose.

Now he is dropping low, like into the 40s sometimes, mostly at night (I haven’t slept in two nights now) so I have to feed him to bring the numbers up. Last night I had to feed him twice, once after a 49 reading and once after the 50. When I feed him twice at night, I wake up to a 300. :evil:

So I am at a loss what to do. My next idea is to lower again, but at night. I couldn’t shoot a 1.8 into that 300 this morning. But maybe tonight if he is a normal pmps I could try that.
We don’t know if we should drop to 1 unit and work our way up, or if we should just try to keep lowering. I am assuming these 300s are either a bounce from going low, but most likely more food on board with less insulin. He is very food sensitive. Feeding him at night to bring him up screws up a diet, and keeps us up more than half the night, and it’s just scary when he hits the 40’s.

What do you guys think? SS is current as of this morning’s amps. Tom is home with him today and will get one or two mid day numbers I hope.

Thanks so much for your time. I am sleep deprived and at wits end. xoxoxoxoxo
 
Since you get your lowest numbers at night, how about a lower dose at pmps? Say, last night with the 159, maybe drop to 1.5. Then in the am, of he is up into 200s, go with your 2 units? Alternate the doses as long as he throws this pattern?

Just an idea. Let's see what others think.
 
No doubt, I would reduce the dose! It looks like the 2 units is a lot into the lower numbers, and the only pink or really higher preshots you are getting are off of bounces from the 2 units taking him into low green numbers. I am thinking if you reduce the dose, you might would see more consistent preshots by reducing the bounces and you could hold the same dose at am and pm.

His SS looks great! You obviously know him and his response to Prozinc very well....I would be trembling!

Just my thoughts!
 
Donna, Did that AMPS of 87 knock your socks off?
Hope you get Asher settled down. All in all and compared to Alex, his SS still looks better than ours.
 
Hi Donna
If it were me I would reduce the night dose and depending on the am dose reduce,
but I have to say, Asher is looking SO much better after the dental and with the new meter...JEALOUS!!
I am seeing quite a bit of green...I think I would see more if I could put Shakes on a diet
He is also very sensitive to food
Good luck with the lower dose tonight!!!
 
Thanks guys. I really appreciate your opinions.

He came down slowly all day today until +11 then went back up. We shot a reduced dose tonight of 1.4 units (down from 2) so we will see where that takes us. Hopefully tonight it will take us to see the sandman :-D Need some sleep. I am too old for this 2-3 hours of sleep two days in a row :shock:

I have a vibe he will need a bit more but when we reduced from 2.2 to 2 we still had the same going low issues, so we would like to hit this closer this time and will go back up if necessary.

I am having an adult beverage now so I’ll have to set my alarm to test him before 10 since I am SURE I’ll be sawing wood by then ;-) I-) I-)

drinking24 Please join me!
 
Well, might not sleep much tonight either. I guessed poorly. We're 62 at +4, so it looks like 1.4 was too much too.
I just fed a higher carb snack. We'll be fine so no worrying, just will have a bleary eyed momma again tomorrow. :?
 
Got him up to 90. Gonna try to grab an hour of snooze and check again. Never a dull moment.
 
Last years dental didn't seem to change a thing. This years dental made a whole new ball game it seems.
 
Mornin kids ~O)

We did get some sleep last night after the boy got up over 100. But as per usual we wake to a yukky 363 this morning :evil:

I shot 1.8 this morning and we’ll try to inch down his dose bit by bit. Prob for right now shoot a bit higher day than night. 1.4 was still too high last night shot into a pmps of 196.
Hopefully he will stop bouncing this way if we inch him down. He was never a bouncy kitty before this. Very odd.

I’m still toast, so forgive me for not sticking around this morning. I’m goin back to bed I-) I-) I-)
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Wow! He just continues to drop. Wonder if he is one of those kitties who really benefits from a dental?

Exciting but exhausting, huh?

How can having a dental change BG #'s? confused_cat
 
Lisa, the idea has always been that bad teeth=infection = higher bgs. For some cats (like Asher the first time) that didn't prove true. He had a dental and the numbers stayed the same. This time, it looks like the dental has really lowered his insulin needs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top