No shot for Riley tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbeerman

Member Since 2012
Riley's BG before feeding was 76 tonight. That was at +12. I thought maybe it was a bad reading and rechecked. It was 69. :? I fed him and it was up to 104 an hour later. I'm confused.
 
Not sure whether it is too much insulin or his pancreas joining the party or both. Either way, I'd skip tonight, expect a high number in the am, but reduce. Maybe .75? Or if you have U100 needles, maybe .6?

It looks like he has started to respond to the insulin and/or his pancreas is starting to work again. Both are good news!
 
Thank you! I honestly didn't know whether to be alarmed or relieved by tonights numbers.

I will be getting the u100 needles this weekend. (provided my Walmart has them) That should make measuring the smaller doses much easier. Right now I am just stopping just shy of the 1 unit mark on the u40 needles.


Thank you so much for all your advise. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it!!
 
WalMart generally carries the reliOn brand and I know there is a 30 mL (cc - same thing) version with the half-unit markings, a 30 or 31 gauge needle which is 5/16" long. You might call in advance to ask them if they have them in stock, and if not, to order some.

If you have a sturdy ruler with millimeter markings, you may be able to use that to get a consistent amount out of the U-40 syringes by always lining up a specific ruler marking to a specific syringe marking, then placing a mark on the syringe for the amount you want to draw. Not perfect, but a tad more consistent than just eyeballing.
 
I am dealing with the same thing with Charley. I also have the u40's too. I hoping Mr P is settling in for a nice long visit with our kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top