No shoot today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bear and Julie

Member Since 2020
Because Bear's numbers fluctuated yesterday that when I did his amps it was 88 so I decided not to shoot. I'll keep a close eye on him today. Took him to the groomer this morning.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200612_100058.jpg
    IMG_20200612_100058.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 100
  • IMG_20200612_094725.jpg
    IMG_20200612_094725.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 99
Please print off and read closely.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-the-prozinc-basics-please-start-here.164995/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
I just copied this for you from the Prozinc sticky please try to read the links above

START LOW GO SLOW (SLGS)

The Start Low, Go Slow Method (SLGS) with PZ for Diabetic Cats has been adapted from the FDMB's original 5 Steps to Regulating Your Diabetic Cat. Adaptations were necessary to accommodate the action, nuances, and exceptions of PZ. SLGS is intended for those members who do not want to start out with or use the Modified ProZinc Method of dosing (discussed below):

Requisites when following the Start Low, Go Slow Method:
  • Learn the signs of and how to treat Hypoglycemia and prepare a Hypo Toolbox.
  • Test regularly for ketones and know about Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA).
  • Use a meter calibrated for humans, not a pet-specific meter. Reference numbers given are for measuring blood glucose with a human meter. If you still wish to use a pet meter, you will use the same reference numbers for making dosing decisions as you would with a human meter. For example, with a human or pet meter, a drop below 90 requires a reduction.
  • Most kitties are easier to regulate when fed small meals throughout each cycle. Others adapt well to free feeding.
Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Last edited:
Is your SS up to date? I can’t see any tests in after the +2 33, +3 40 and +3 65 in the am cycle on 6-11-20
It is very important that you keep testing after getting a low number, especially if the numbers are under 50.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top