No one is around on PZI - AMPS 179

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Member Since 2013
I fed him accidentally instead of waiting to retest after not giving food. I am half asleep and I am so used to my routine of test, feed and shoot that I am on auto pilot. I put his bowl down and he ate a few bites. I took it away.

I retested a couple of moments ago and he was even lower by a point at 178.

I am not that much of a newbie that I am scared to give him insulin under 200, but I am very nervous about dosing him at that number, even with some food.

2 units too much? 1.75? 1.5? NONE?
 
I was told by someone on the board (don't remember who) that it takes 15 minutes after eating for the food to effect the BG and that if you could test within 15 minutes of eating then your BG would not be effected by food.
In that case even if Simon had a few bites then your reading should be correct.

I hope all is well with Simon!
 
I know it is correct, but not sure if I should shoot the insulin because we are supposed to not feed and wait and retest. His few bites did not affect the BG in 20 mins at all it appears as he was even lower by a point, so virtually the same.

I don't want him to zoom up by PMPS with NO insulin, but am not sure what dose to give him on this number as it is new territory. Looking back at my spread sheet, he was 199 a while back and I gave him 2 units and he did fine on that, even having a green number at nadir, but he is acting kind of odd today and not eating much so going to hold off and not shoot.
 
You know Simon better than anyone so if you think he is acting strange then I'd guess you would be correct in not shooting.
I hope that someone like Deb & Wink, Carl & Bob or Sue and Oliver gets on the board soon to help you out. I know that you are worried about Simon.
Sending purrs and prayers your way!
 
Joyce, you did some good reasoning to figure out what your dose should be today.

That 179 was only 20 points lower than the 199 you shot back on 5/26 with 2U. The 1.5U you selected for today was a compromise between the 2U you shot then and the 1U you knew was not enough.

I'd get a +4 and to see how Simon is doing. You want to see the blues and greens, just not below 50.

Sorry Joyce, just not up early enough on this weekend to help you. I think you made a good, reasoned out choice based on your past history and looking at Simon's SS. Good job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top