No Insulin This Morning

Status
Not open for further replies.

TreySpot

Member Since 2010
Michael's BG reading was 151 for his AMPS so I didn't give him his shot. Hope I did the right thing.
 
I see that you are not new here, but maybe new with Michael. Given what I see on the SS, I am new here so take it for what it is worth, with the prior numbers, I would skip too.
 
Novolin can be a fairly harsh insulin for cats so, yes, I would agree that 151 was too low a number to give him a shot.
 
When you have a pre-shot that is too low to shoot, stall 30 minutes without feeding and re-test.
- If above your no-shot limit, the glucose is both rising and safe to shoot.
- If dropping, definitely don't shoot
- If level, you might consider a reduced dose, based on what you know about how much a given dose drops the glucose.

Have you got the U-100 syringes with half unit marks? We frequently estimate 0.25 and 0.75 unit increments on syringes. If he rises later in the evening and you want to shoot, you might give 0.25 or 0.5 units, so that you can shoot in the morning.
 
Last edited:
Based on Michael's spreadsheet, 1 unit seems to be too high of a dose of N. Also, not unexpected for N yo are seen a large swing in BG over a cycle. I would talk to your vet about getting a better insulin like Lantus, Levemir or even ProZinc.
 
Sorry to not get back here til now. Got busy yesterday and ended up with a sore back. Went to bed right after giving Michael his shot. His reading was off the chart last night. Thanks for the info BJM. Next time i'll wait 30 min and redo. This is so confusing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top