? Niki still all over the place and another question

nikkiaz

Member Since 2010
Hi all!

Hopefully everyone is as safe and as healthy as we can be during this scary time.

We are back again. Two things regarding Niki:
1. If anyone has the time to look at his spreadsheet, we would really appreciate it. He is still all over the place and we are at a loss. Is this normal at this point still?
Just a quick note - huge increase in glucose between the middle of the night last night and his AMPS may be due to the fact that he *might* have found some pop tart crumbs from Scott’s middle of the night snack.

2. Niki is frantic at feeding time (and when he gets a treat after his BG tests). Like frantic. Like trying to climb our legs, bite our hands frantic. He also almost looks like he is hyperventilating- mouth open, eyes wide. Is this normal? Does he need more food? Does he need more food spaced throughout the day? Right now he gets his breakfast, then the automatic feeder gives him a snack at about 8am and then again at 10am. At night he gets dinner then another 1/2 can 2 hours later.

any advice or assistance would be greatly appreciated!

thank you!
 
Are you around to get any tests during the AM cycle? If not, it's especially important that you get at least a before bed test every night.

Another reason the AMPS may have been so high is that Niki "bounced" off of the numbers from yesterday. The PMPS of 130 suggests that numbers were lower during the AM cycle and subsequently, your kitty's system reacted by dumping a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into her blood streame and numbers spiked upward. It's a normal response to lower numbers.
 
Have you decided what dosing method you are following? I can't tell from the spreadsheet. Check out the Sticky Note on Dosing Methods. Once you decide, could you put either TR or SLGS in your signature and that'll help us help you. Niki's numbers may be all over the place, but so is your dosing. Remember that anything like a fur shot or deliberately skipped shot, delay or reduced dose restarts the cycle count. We also determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose is taking the cat, hence the need for more of those mid cycle tests Sienne mentioned. If you can't answer the question "how low is this dose taking my cat", you shouldn't be increasing.

Here is the link to your previous post, for connectivity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-10-niki-todays-pm-question.226856/
 
Thank you both for your replies. Just when I thought we knew what we were doing, I guess not! . We will go back and re-read the beginning info again and keep learning.

We will try to get more readings, at least one before bed. We are both still working from our offices, so other AM tests are only possible on weekends. So we also will start concentrating on being more diligent about that.

We will also try to add a few more mini meals during the day from his automatic feeder to see if it helps him become less frantic.

thanks for your help and patience!
 
Back
Top