Nico’s New Thread: 2.25: AMPS 309, +6 164, +11 91, PMPS 99/127, +3 305

@Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess UNSTUCK!! +8.5 overnight, 69. AMPS, 178.

(Hindsight: I should’ve kept a closer eye overnight.. not sure what I missed at his nadir after catching a 66 close to +9.. dang it!)
Oh Em, so happy for youz! :joyful:

Now we know what a Pinkalicious Prison might mean for Nico! o_O

I missed something last night too.:( My hip has been really bothering me, I've been resting a lot and haven't been testing as much, especially at night....I got up this morning, checked my meter to record our early-mid cycle test last night and it wasn't there. I swear I got a test last night. I can see it, it said 5.1 (92). Anyway, when I did get a test at +9 she was high for her 8.1 (146), she musta went low and was bouncing :(....so I fed and three hours later she was 4.7 (85) and three more hours she's still green 4.9 (88), feel bad but feeling good at the same time :confused: I musta been dreaming :facepalm:
 
Nico looks to me like one of those cats that doesn't see much movement in the BG level at +2. So the +2 is more likely the food bump happening.
You might think about testing at +3 more often, instead of at +2.

Nico, you are headed in the WRONG direction sir! Could your mom have given you a fur shot this morning, 2/22/21?

p.s. Nice 69 last night! We need to see more of those greens please Nico.
 
Nico looks to me like one of those cats that doesn't see much movement in the BG level at +2. So the +2 is more likely the food bump happening.
You might think about testing at +3 more often, instead of at +2.
I agree with you here. +3 or even +4 definitely give me more of a sense of where he’s going, especially with as late of a nadir as he has.

Nico, you are headed in the WRONG direction sir! Could your mom have given you a fur shot this morning, 2/22/21?

p.s. Nice 69 last night! We need to see more of those greens please Nico.
Unfortunately no, zero chance it was a fur shot— I wish it was that easy of an explanation, or that I could reason an explanation at all.. BUT. We did get some “kitten” pâtés (Fancy Feast, so same brand as his usual diet is) that he’s been eating over the past few days.. several of the carb counter/chart links all claim they are the exact same carb content as his usual cans are, so I figured they were fine to give him. Now I’m thinking they aren’t/weren’t. So, I’m gonna feed him his normal pâtés for the next 2-3 cycles and see what happens. I figure that’s probably plenty long enough to see if that “kitten” food is an issue for him, and spiking his sugars. Any words of wisdom or experience on/with this @Deb & Wink or @Shelley & Jess?? Praying that maybe it’s that and that we aren’t, in fact, sliding wayyyyy backwards right now.

..nervous for his night tonight, he could be/go anywhere at this point..
 
PMPS, 364.
upload_2021-2-22_18-59-7.jpeg

+4, 271.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-2-22_18-59-7.jpeg
    upload_2021-2-22_18-59-7.jpeg
    43.3 KB · Views: 245
Last edited:
The kitten pates are ok carb wise. They do tend to be higher in calories, so if Nico needs to gain weight, that could be good for him to eat.

Please get a +6 today. Because you shot lower than you are used to.
 
The kitten pates are ok carb wise. They do tend to be higher in calories, so if Nico needs to gain weight, that could be good for him to eat.

Please get a +6 today. Because you shot lower than you are used to.
Yes. I very much plan to. I’ll let you know how it goes. And thank you for the info on the kitten pate. Nico is at the very bottom of a healthy weight for him, so the vet encouraged trying to boost him just a tad, for some “just in case, wiggle room.” I don’t plan on using them long term, but good to know they probably aren’t effecting his numbers in the way I thought they might be.
 
@Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess Thoughts on dosing..? He seems to be developing a pattern of having a low AMPS then running really high throughout his daytime cycle, then running (somewhat) low overnight. Plan to see if it continues for the next cycle or two, but no chance he’s getting into something he shouldn’t be and I still haven’t reintroduced the kitten ff back into his diet.. weird.

AMPS 185,
+8 384,
PMPS 414
+4 334
+8, 308
 
Last edited:
With those high blues at AM pre-shot times, he could be getting a longer duration. If so, you have to learn to shoot lower pre-shots.

Same cats can have longer than 12 hours. Averages are 10-14 hours duration with Prozinc.

Other idea is that Nico needs an increase again.
 
Back
Top