Not necessarily. Sometimes it takes several cycles to see the effect of a dose increase. Sometimes you will see it within the first cycle or two. Sometimes you will see higher numbers after a dose increase for the first cycle. Every cat is different.I thought once he starts taking the meds, within a day or two, what you see is what you get. Does it not work that way?
No. DKA and ketones are not the same, although ketones can be an early indicator of DKA. If he’s consistently negative for ketones then that’s excellent.It's not always DKA just if there's ketones, it's it?
It won’t necessarily be the same no. Lots of cats learn to use the insulin and over time their nadirs will get later— we will have to see. The feedings at +2 and +4 that you are already doing can help with this too.later."
- How does it change? I thought once he starts taking the meds, within a day or two, what you see is what you get. Does it not work that way? How does his nadir change? Because I was worried that his nadir was so soon in, and then it's just downhill for the remaining 8hrs.
Well that’s a hard question to be precise about since we don’t have round the clock data on him (nor am I saying we need it) but it’s a common phenomenon that cats will drop into lower numbers at night. We will find out his patterns over time.Why did he only go in the pink (if only barely) after the evening shot? Why not during the day?
Ok, that is just amazing. That the body works like that. Now if only the body will work right!Well that’s a hard question to be precise about since we don’t have round the clock data on him (nor am I saying we need it) but it’s a common phenomenon that cats will drop into lower numbers at night. We will find out his patterns over time.
There’s also a phenomenon called Dawn Phenomenon where there’s a natural increase in blood sugar levels that occurs in the early morning, typically between 2 a.m. and 8 a.m. Even people have this! The body releases hormones like cortisol and growth hormone to prepare for waking, which can lead to increased glucose production. This is why a lot of cats have higher AMPS than they do PMPS numbers
Would you like to go to bed earlier? You have that luxury right now. If you want to try a +3 tonight it could help is see if the insulin is starting to lower his BG.Ok, that is just amazing. That the body works like that. Now if only the body will work right!
Just did his PMPS, and they're 537?Shouldn't that have been higher than the previous? Geez. Anyhow, I'd really like to only stab him once more tonight. At what + would you suggest I test him at tonight? Or do I need to test him again? I'm still so unsure about all of this. Tomorrow I'll try to change the numbers like you said.
Thanks. And I would love to go bed earlier tonight. Funny thing, I used to regularly stay up to at least midnight to read in bed. You could find me closing a book at 2am. Not since he was diagnosed, he suddenly didn't want to stay out in the main living area anymore. I keep my bedroom area closed, where 3 girls that need to be back there. He decided he wants to live there now. And he does NOT let me sleep that great. He'll come up periodically and just cry by my face for petting. The one time he wanted to go out and stayed in the living room all night? I had to lift the whole couch as he was hiding. I don't want to have to do that every day. Chase him around the house for shots and testing. So I just let him stay in there. So thanks! Think I might even take an Ambien tonight. Wooh!You are doing great.
I hope he gets along with the three girls! I can totally relate to this.Thanks. And I would love to go bed earlier tonight. Funny thing, I used to regularly stay up to at least midnight to read in bed. You could find me closing a book at 2am. Not since he was diagnosed, he suddenly didn't want to stay out in the main living area anymore. I keep my bedroom area closed, where 3 girls that need to be back there. He decided he wants to live there now. And he does NOT let me sleep that great. He'll come up periodically and just cry by my face for petting. The one time he wanted to go out and stayed in the living room all night? I had to lift the whole couch as he was hiding. I don't want to have to do that every day. Chase him around the house for shots and testing. So I just let him stay in there. So thanks! Think I might even take an Ambien tonight. Wooh!
Just took his numbers at the +3. 374! Can't believe I'm so excited about those numbers.I hope he gets along with the three girls! I can totally relate to this.
Oh! And his Ketones are negative again.Tomorrow I want to increase Nico’s dose to 2.5 units (unless something crazy happens today and he drops into yellow or blue!)
I think the slight improvement in the evening numbers could also be attributed to the new ProZinc vial.
Then just now at just below the +3, he had 509?I don’t think you will have cause to freak out! I mean, what would you do if you saw a 200! Probably a happy dance! I think I would too.
Can you get a +6?+4 —421
Can you get a +6?
Try a +3 and +5 tomorrow?Ok. Looks awful to me, but I'll take your word. Am I still doing +3 tonight? Or did you want +4?
And how about tomorrow? Start at the +2 again? Thanks!
Well normally he would have been in black by now. And I am sure he will again, but we have to take baby steps unfortunately. If he doesn’t get better numbers soon, we can increase again. Some cats just need a higher dose than others in the beginning, but then they start going back down in dose.Looks awful to me
Nope, none of that known. He was just seen too & she tells me when their teeth need work.Well normally he would have been in black by now. And I am sure he will again, but we have to take baby steps unfortunately. If he doesn’t get better numbers soon, we can increase again. Some cats just need a higher dose than others in the beginning, but then they start going back down in dose.
He doesn’t have any inflammatory conditions (bad tooth?) or IBD or anything that might make him insulin resistant does he?
Thanks! I still feel like a monster sticking his ear so many times a day, but I've looked at other's charts and realize that 3x a day checks are still pretty much mandatory. Sucks.Hey @Tyleete I’ve been following along quietly and just wanted to reassure you that it is not at all unusual to see cats start out in higher BG numbers and stick there for awhile. Every cat is different, and it’s a process to figure out what each cat needs insulin wise. Slow, steady, and methodical wins the race, with lots of data collected to drive the dosing decisions. Sometimes we fast-track a bit given circumstances, but the rule of thumb is always to base the decisions on the data the cat is giving us and to be methodical, not impulsive.
You’re in excellent hands with @Suzanne & Darcy
Also, please know that once you reach a good dose, you’ll still want to track and monitor BG. It’s also not uncommon to find a “breakthrough” dose and after awhile at that dose, a cat’s body settles in and decides it needs less insulin. Meaning, you could conceivably work your way back down the dosing scale again at some point. It doesn’t happen with every cat, but it’s an exciting time when that happens. Anyway, like I said, every cat is different and I don’t want to put the cart before the horse, but I find it helps to understand the “big picture” of the possible trajectory of the disease, so I just wanted to toss it out there.
You’re doing a great job, by the way.
Question!Hey @Tyleete I’ve been following along quietly and just wanted to reassure you that it is not at all unusual to see cats start out in higher BG numbers and stick there for awhile. Every cat is different, and it’s a process to figure out what each cat needs insulin wise. Slow, steady, and methodical wins the race, with lots of data collected to drive the dosing decisions. Sometimes we fast-track a bit given circumstances, but the rule of thumb is always to base the decisions on the data the cat is giving us and to be methodical, not impulsive.
You’re in excellent hands with @Suzanne & Darcy
Also, please know that once you reach a good dose, you’ll still want to track and monitor BG. It’s also not uncommon to find a “breakthrough” dose and after awhile at that dose, a cat’s body settles in and decides it needs less insulin. Meaning, you could conceivably work your way back down the dosing scale again at some point. It doesn’t happen with every cat, but it’s an exciting time when that happens. Anyway, like I said, every cat is different and I don’t want to put the cart before the horse, but I find it helps to understand the “big picture” of the possible trajectory of the disease, so I just wanted to toss it out there.
You’re doing a great job, by the way.
I would proceed as normal, regardless of when you’re grabbing a test.Question!
Nico eats at 9:30 which is +2, his smaller meals. But I'm supposed to do the BG test at +3. I know food shoots up their glucose. Should I still keep feeding at the +2, even when doing the BG test at +3?
542 @ +5Oh and about tonight… I would just get a +3 to see if he’s doing anything interesting.