Newly Diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dclove85

Member Since 2011
I've had my now 13 year old cat (Geordi) since I was 12 and he was diagnosed 2 weeks ago with diabetes. He was put on 1.5 u of Lantus twice daily. When he was first diagnosed I was very overwhelmed by all of the information I was given by the vet so I came on here to get all the info I could. Before starting insulin, I switched over to a wet diet (Fancy Feast Classics). He just went for a fructosamine test yesterday and the vet called today to tell me that she wants to increase his insulin to 2 units twice a day and see him for another fructosamine check in 3 weeks. She has never mentioned home blood testing, but after reading here, I'm leaning toward starting that (although I still do have to work up some courage!) If I'm testing at home will I still need to have the fructosamine checks done at the vet every 3 weeks. I wish I was able to afford that, but on a fairly recent graduate's teacher salary I just don't think I can keep that up for too long. Thanks for all the great info on here!! It sure made me feel a bit more sane in the days right after diagnosis.
 
Welcome to the FDMB Family

Home testing is one of the best ways to keep your best friend safe while he is on insulin. And to answer your question...No, if you are testing at home, there is no reason to take Geordi to the vet for testing. I, personally, have to diabetics one who is in remission and one that is insulin dependent, neither have seen the vet for anything other than the routine cat stuff, because I test them at home.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Hi and welcome to the Board!

Quick answer to your question about fructosimine test at vet - no. If you are home testing, you'll be doing so at least twice a day, every day (and hopefully more often than that). The test at the vet gives you Geordi's average BG reading over like a two week period. If you've tested him every day, you can do the math yourself, and save huge bucks! You can also send all your numbers to the vet by fax or email, and she'll be in the loop and able to advise you over the phone or return email.

The best thing you can consider doing at this point is home-testing. It's one of the top 3 or 4 "first things" to do in order to best take care of your sugarcat.
Besides home testing, there's insulin injections and diet change (to an all canned low-carb diet), and you're already on board with those. The other is ketone testing but more on that later.

If you want to home test, you'll need a plain old human glucometer which you can get at a pharmacy or wal-mart. I use a Relion Micro (wal-mart exclusive), but there are lots of other options. Most cost about 10 dollars. You'll also need test strips, and many people choose Relion brand because their strips are affordable ($20 for 50 strips). You'll also need lancets, and your meter will come with a lancet device to prick Geordi's ear with to get a blood sample. The first time you try it, testing will probably be stressful, like with everyone trying it for the first time. But it gets to be easy, and so routine that Geordi will come to look forward to it and so will you. With home testing, you won't need your vet's advice regarding dose changes. You'll see what the insulin is doing every day, and you'll be able to treat him based on your test results.

One thing you should know about the diet change and insulin dose - You did it in the right order. The diet change, especially if he was a dry food fan before, will lower his BG all by itself. Your insulin doses would be based on that lower BG now (or should be if your vet hasn't taken that into account. )
Lots more people will be along to welcome you here.

Carl in SC
 
Welcome! And I would say no, you do not have to test at the vet and the home testing is more accurate as they do not have vet stress. My Sugar Bean was dx in 4/11 and was in remission by mid to end of May! All because of this site, teaching me the RIGHT way to do things! GO BEAN GO!
The meter I use is from Walmart and the original cost was approx. 35ish. The smallest amount of strips, the relion meter, some lancets, syringes and neosporin w/ pain relief. WE were set to go. I would suggest a sock with regular rice to warm up for the ears.
Good luck and again welcome to you and Geordi... I am sure there will be more on here offering advice as well! :YMPEACE:
 
I'm just echoing what everyone else has said, but no, you don't need any vet testing if you're home testing. Not only that, but your numbers will be more accurate and you'll be able to better guide your cat into regulation. Dosing off vet testing numbers is a lot of guessing because they don't give the whole picture of how the insulin is actually working on your cat--just an average of what his blood sugar has been like. If the dose is too high or too low, we don't know how high or low, or if hypoglycemic incidents are occurring, etc. Home testing seems scary at first, but it gets soooo much easier after the first couple weeks. Even difficult cats will be ok with it after a little while. And we have tons of tips here to get you started!

When Bandit was diagnosed, I started home testing simply because I could not afford vet testing with grad school and everything else. As it turned out, thank goodness I couldn't afford it because it turned out to be the best thing I could of done to get him regulated and in remission.
 
actually, slight correction on what has been posted. A fructosamine is 'like' a measurement of average blood glucose readings over the past two weeks or so. So getting one done at the clinic is accurate, in so far as vet stress will not affect it. But a fructosamine is useless in deciding dosage and should never replace hometesting, and really isn't required. I tried that route and failed miserably, changing doses based on fructosamines that is.

Hometesting is power. It gives you absolute knowledge of what is going on in your cat at any given minute. It can be liberating, saves money and can save your cat's life!
 
I went to Wal-Mart and got the RElion micor for $9. As Carl said, test strips are $20 for 50 (I believe they come in a pack of 100 also, but I only buy the 50s). the lancets I buy from Target, 28 gague needle, as they have little caps that go over the needle when you're done - under $5. the sharps container was between $5-10 at Wal-mart (I want to say $7, but I bought it in April, so i can't quite remember). All around, cheaper for you to home test, more accuate (cat is stressed at vet), and better for you to get him regulated. Especailly since you switched his food.

http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.j ... lmdn=Brand
i use the heating pad from this toy of Cedric's to heat his ear. I am not going to lie - I still have problems getting blood, but I don't do it every day since he's off the insulin.

Welcome!
What do you teach? I have a lot of teachers in my family.
Where are you located?
 
I just wanted to pop in and say we're glad you're here....in the very place you should be.

I promise you will find comfort, answers, and consistent support with this fabulous group. I've never seen anything like it and you don't know this yet....but you're exactly where you should be. Kudos to you for doing all of the right things. ;-)
 
Thanks for all the warm welcomes and great information. I am planning on heading to Walmart today to get all my supplies for testing. My biggest fear is that I will do something wrong while testing and hurt him in some way. As many of you said though, it's something that I'll have to get used to. He is not the most cooperative kitty although he's gotten to be really good with his injections as long as he's busy eating a treat while I do it. I love knowing there are people with much more experience here to answer questions I have!

Doombuggy, I teach elementary special ed. and I'm in RI. Just had our first day of school today!
 
ooo, lots to do today! Here's my teacher list:
Mom's older bro taught high school social studies
his wife high school english
their daughter teaches middle school remedial reading (at same school as her mom retired from)
their son teaches high school ...i want to say history like his dad, but i may be wrong...
son's wife also teaches at the same school, but their 1st baby is due next month, so she won't be teaching for long (they start the day after labor day)
my mom's middle bro's daughter teaches high school history; she's in NJ; the rest are in northeastern pa

My aunt mentioned above taught my dad's youngest bro 10th grade english, which was weird, as they knew each other for several years prior to her becoming his teacher (I think she was still Miss Lavelle that year).

I have to ask - did you name your cat after the Star Trek: Next Generation character? :-D
 
That is quite the history of teachers in your family!

Geordi is named after the Star Trek character! You're the first person to make the connection. I didn't actually name him myself. My uncle who rescued him did, but I loved the name so kept it.

On another note, I just tried to test for the first time. I was able to get blood, but I'm thinking I didn't have enough because I got an error message both times I did it. I got frustrated, but will try again tomorrow cause I know I'll get better at it. When I first tried to poke him he didn't bleed at all so I'm guessing I wasn't putting enough pressure on the ear?
 
Welcome!

Testing can definately be frustrating for the first few weeks. I found that watching youtube videos of diabetic cats being testing helped me get good ideas for how to do it better. I got lots of error messages the first few weeks (too little blood).

Ultimately, my best technique is to just keep poking if I am not getting blood from the first try. It seems to be less stress for S'mores to get multiple little pricks than having me play with his ear for a long time.

The other big trick is to get fat lancets. 26G or 28G will be MUCH easier than the 30 or 33G that typically come with the meters.

Good luck.
 
I was able to successfully test today when I got home from work which was about 6 hours after his morning dose of insulin. His BG was 44. He was acting normally, but I gave him dry food to eat since it was so low. Now, an hour and a half later, his BG is 91. I'm worried about giving him 2 units of insulin now though. The vet just increased it Tuesday based on his fructosamine test. Should I lower his night dose? He's due for it in about 3 hours. When I test again before his shot what numbers am I looking for to know it's safe to give him the injection? So far I'm feeling more confident with the info I'm getting here than with what the vet is telling me. Thanks again for all the help!
 
Most cats on a low carb canned diet do not need more than 1u of insulin. You cannot dose based of fructsosamine tests because that would have included the period before the diet change, and 1.5 could have been too high to begin with on the low carb diet.

Does Geordi have any history of ketones? Are you testing for them?

A 44 is an automatic dose decrease according to the dosing protocol, so you should definitely lower the dose. A normal dose decrease is .25u. Because he did not arrive at the 2u safely, and you were not testing at 1.5u (which may also have been too much insulin), I would go back down to 1u or 1.5u. Personally, I think starting over at 1u and using the dosing protocol to manage his blood sugar from there is your best course of action, as long as there are no ketones in the picture. Most cats on a low carb wet diet do not need much more than 1u. That's why we alter the dose in .25u. Cats are much smaller than people or dogs so they need much smaller doses/dose adjustments. Here's a link to the Lantus dosing protocol: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

If he is still low before shot time, please post over at the Lantus forum for advice before giving insulin. We usually recommend that new people don't shoot insulin on a low preshot until they have the data to support the decision, but they may recommend that you shoot a token dose of .5u or .75u to keep the shed (subcutaneous insulin depot) from depleting completely.

There are people in the Lantus forum who have a ton of experience with this insulin and give excellent dosing advice. I would urge you set up a spreadsheet and post over there for advice. Here's the instructions:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207&start=0

If for some reason the template doesn't work (it's been problematic lately), use this workaround: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=50130

Finally, don't be surprised to see his blood glucose rise high tonight. When cats experience a hypoglycemic incident, their liver releases glucose into the bloodstream and boosts their numbers high. This will clear eventually, but could take several days--which is why it is important to hold doses for at least 3 days before increasing the dose.
 
Just wanted to say congrats on home testing! you go!!!!!!!!! and I know your baby thanks you too. :RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top