Newly diagnosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

samantha and mia

Member Since 2013
My cat Mia is 7 years old and just diagnosed as diabetic. The blood test came back at over 400. The only symptom she is showing is thirst and increased urination. The vet that took the blood was not our normal vet and made her very upset with the way he was handling her and was also late and she was in the carrier for over an hour before the test. She gets upset very easily, especially in the carrier or in the car. I have her on a low carb wet food diet to help drop some weight and control sugar levels. She is also prone to struvite. The vet wants to start her on one shot a day of vetsulin a day. I do not have a lot to spend on her treatment. It is just a bit overwhelming. I just need all the advice I can get at this point.


Samantha
 
A few questions
What low carb food?
Are you home testing?
What country are you in?

Best insulins for cats are Lantus, Levemir, ProXinc, and PZI.
Vetsulin/Caninsulin was developed for dogs and works fine for them. A cat's metabolism is faster than a dog, so it doesn't work as well for them.
 
Hi Samantha and sugarkitty Mia and welcome to the FDMB!

Vetsulin has come back on the market since a 2 year hiatus due to manufacturing issues. The formula for Vetsulin has not changed. It is not easy to get a cat regulated on Vetesulin, and very few cats will go into remission.

Lantus, Levimir and Prozinc are better choices for a cat, where as Vetsulin was developed for and works better in dogs.

With that hour wait in the carrier and the upset with the way the vet was handling your cat, any number taken at the vet will most likely be high due to vet stress, which can raise the BG (blood glucose) levels 100-180 points.

There are ways to test the cat's BG at home yourself. Go to Walmart and pick up a Relion Confirm meter, matching test strips and lancets. We can give you tips and links to videos that show how to home test.

We also have money saving ideas. Home testing is one of them, because it costs much less to test at home than to have a blood test or curve run at the vets.

With the change to the low carb food, that may bring a cat's BG's down 100 points or more. I recommend trying that for a week or two and see what the BG's are.

What food are you feeding?
 
She is on Friskies Special Diet. We have done one home test now and it was 314 on a relion meter. I an in the US. I am going to meet with the regular vet on Wednesday and see why he suggests vetsulin since a close friend that is a vet suggested Lantus.
 
Lantus is a better insulin for cats plus if you ask the vet to write or call in a script for solostar pens - with the coupon (below) you can get each pen for $25 - it is sold in a box of 5 pens - some pharmacies will sell you one pen at a time - you just have to call and ask. You use syringes with them - not the needle tips they can be sold with. When you fill out the lantus coupon card - be sure to put your cat's name and your last name and list the cat's age as 18 (otherwise you won't get the coupon).

http://www.lantus.com/starting/save...x?WT.mc_id=LNWB4333&WT.srch=1&iq_id=58228314

The special diets are good - just avoid the sliced chicken as it is too high in carbs. How long has she been on them?

let us know how you get on at the vets.

Wendy
 
Welcome Samantha and Mia. We are here to help you. My kitty Ozy was diagnosed two months ago. I've gotten a lot of practical advice and support here.

Mia's glucose level may have been more elevated from the stress.

How are you feeling about home testing? It's much easier to do than I expected. I was afraid it would be painful but I don't think it is.

donaleen
 
I plan on testing her at home. I will also ask him about other options. He just seemed only interested in the vetsulin. She doesn't eat the slice ones anyway. She has never liked them. She has been on that food because of struvite for about 2 years. But she also had access to dry food that we have taken away now. We also have her on a feeding schedule and are watching how much she eats.
 
Hi Samantha and Mia,

I am a newbie too so I know what you are going through. My Bobbie was diagnosed in June and we are still figuring everything out. Hopefully we can all help each other out so our furry babies can be in the best health possible. :-D
 
Perhaps print these out and show them to your vet?


The American Animal Hospital Association published diabetes treatment guidelines in 2010.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/AAHADiabetesGuidelines.pdf

And this journal article abstract .. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286

Article modified October 2008 from: RAND JS, Marshall R Feline diabetes mellitus: what diet should I choose and how do I manage problem cats. Proceedings of the American college of Veterinary internal medicine forum, May 2006 Kentucky, USA http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/article5.pdf

Wendy
 
I talked to the vet and he answered all my questions. She is going to be started on .5 units of vetsuline twice a day. I am going to start her on Saturday. The vet will be available if we need him and I will be home all day to see how she reacts to the shots. I want to be home to be able to keep an eye on her. I also tested her blood today after she had been fasting for about 5 hours and it was 338.
 
Ok - to keep her safe I usually recommend 4 tests a day

- always before the shot - this is mandatory as you don't want to shoot when too low. As a newbie this too low number is 200 but is reduced over time once you have the data to know if its safe.
- mid cycle - 5-7 hours after morning shot depending on your schedule. This is to see how low he is going. The low point "nadir" is what you base dose changes on since you don't want him dropping too low (under 50).
- before bed (2-3hours after Pm shot) to get an idea of what his overnight plans are. If this number is less than the pre shot test number you may want to set the alarm for a test a few hours later as this implies an active cycle.

Also its a good idea to track results in a spreadsheet so you can your vet can get a better idea of how the insulin is working and if/when to change dose: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
Wendy
 
Thank you for the advice I will be testing her at least 4 times. She has been acting better so the vet wants to keep an eye on the preshot. That is just. her least favorite part. I will let you all know how things go tomorrow.
 
Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top