Kate and Bingo
Member Since 2025
Hi folks! Our 7yo Bingo was diagnosed last week after we rushed him to the ER and learned he was in DKA. Possibly the scariest night of my life.
Weirdly his glucose levels had been okay at previous vet appointments as recently as March (he goes a couple times a year for respiratory issues), but the hospital let us know it looks like he's been dealing with this a while, which was gut wrenching to hear. His visibly poor health and the ER visit seem to have been precipitated by an oral steroid prescription for a cough.
We are currently following doc's instructions on feeding and dosing, but learning here in the meantime so we can take control when the training wheels come off. Thank you everyone for the resources.
One question: Doc just increased his Lantus directly from one unit to two. He got his first 2u shot Wednesday PM (last night), and Thursday AM (this morning) at shot time his BG was still under 150 and dropping. Maybe this is dumb, but I was too scared of hypo to give him the AM 2u shot this morning. He did get 2u this evening on schedule. If his glucose is below 150 at shot time again tomorrow AM, is it really okay to give the full two units? (We were unable to reach doc directly today but we have a recheck Saturday.)
Weirdly his glucose levels had been okay at previous vet appointments as recently as March (he goes a couple times a year for respiratory issues), but the hospital let us know it looks like he's been dealing with this a while, which was gut wrenching to hear. His visibly poor health and the ER visit seem to have been precipitated by an oral steroid prescription for a cough.
We are currently following doc's instructions on feeding and dosing, but learning here in the meantime so we can take control when the training wheels come off. Thank you everyone for the resources.
One question: Doc just increased his Lantus directly from one unit to two. He got his first 2u shot Wednesday PM (last night), and Thursday AM (this morning) at shot time his BG was still under 150 and dropping. Maybe this is dumb, but I was too scared of hypo to give him the AM 2u shot this morning. He did get 2u this evening on schedule. If his glucose is below 150 at shot time again tomorrow AM, is it really okay to give the full two units? (We were unable to reach doc directly today but we have a recheck Saturday.)
Last edited: