Newly diagnosed, question about glucometer/lancets

Status
Not open for further replies.

ramonaghan

Member Since 2014
Hello all,

My 11.5-year-old boy Henry joined this club the day after Thanksgiving when he had his annual exam and rabies booster. We asked the vet to do blood work since we'd noticed some increased water consumption and large pee "bricks" in the litter box. Henry's BG came back at 465, other values all normal and physical exam great except for a couple of extra pounds, which we've struggled with his whole life. Other than the drinking/peeing, he is very much himself: maintaining weight, eats well, grooms himself and his sister Olive, plays a bit, glares at the dog. I did some research and had him exclusively on FF Classics within 2 days of diagnosis. He has never been finicky and was previously fed a combo of Blue Buffalo dry and wet, so no issues with the transition. At his spot check this past Friday, his BG was down to 350 from the diet change alone. He was also started on 1U of Lantus 2x/day on Friday. He will go in this Friday (one week on insulin) for his first glucose curve. He really hates the car ride and the vet, but I'm hopeful he'll chill enough over the course of the day for them to get some good numbers. The vet says she hopes he'll be a "Christmas miracle," and so do we!

The shots have been going well, but our first attempts at home testing yesterday were disastrous. I feel like we turned his poor ears into a pin cushion! We tried the rice sock and we are using the CVS Advanced Glucose Meter, which the pharmacist recommended because the strips are so cheap. My suspicion is that (1) the lancet gauge might be too thin to start with (33g) and (2) perhaps it requires too much blood (.5 µl)? I need to buy more lancets today and wonder if we'd have more luck with the 30g. Thoughts? We were only able to get one sample at AMPS +10 and I don't think it completely filled the window so question its accuracy. Because the value seemed low for that point (117), we agonized over whether to give him insulin and kept failing to get a good follow-up sample at PMPS. We decided to go ahead with his shot after his normal evening meal of 1 can of FF. I kept waking up and checking on him during the night, and thankfully I work from home, so am mostly around to monitor him.

It's been an overwhelming few days, to say the least. We've been through kidney disease and sub-q fluids with a previous cat, so we aren't new to injections, but all the charts and numbers and potential for hypo have my head spinning a bit.

So that's our story! I've linked to Henry's spreadsheet, but it's pretty useless at this point because we're such glucometer failures. :smile:
 
Requiring 0.3 uL of blood is fine. Some do only require 0.3 ul. However, In the past I have successfully used meters/strips that required 1 uL and even 3 uL.
Regarding lancets, ones larger diameter than even 30 gauge (smaller number) are better. Look for ones that say for alternate site testings.
In humans, the normal testing place is the finger tips. Alternate human sites are other places and they bleed better with larger diameter lancets
 
Argh, failed again tonight with the 30 gauge (all I could find today), and even tried his paw pad. We can see bruising in his ears from our efforts last night, even though we tried to apply pressure each attempt. Poor Henry. :sad: He ate a full can of FF afterward though, so we gave him his prescribed 1U. I hate not knowing whether I'm putting him in danger. The vet did not seem to think we needed to home monitor this first week (though the practice is supportive of it in general, so maybe she is planning to go over it with us after his Friday glucose curve at their office). So frustrated.
 
You can aim directly for the vein if necessary; just be prepared to blot firmly to reduce scabbing and bruising.
 
Hi,
I must say, pretty impressive start! It took me several weeks to wrap my head around diagnosis and what was involved. Here you've got terminology down pat, his own SS and are already home testing. Think you are doing great!

The ear testing comes easier within a few days. The more you do it the more capillaries in that area. I cried buckets the first few times thinking I was making such a mess of his ears. In a week he will be waiting at the testing table you'll see.

Great job!

Juliet and Silver
 
KittyMom777 said:
Hi,
I must say, pretty impressive start! It took me several weeks to wrap my head around diagnosis and what was involved. Here you've got terminology down pat, his own SS and are already home testing. Think you are doing great!

The ear testing comes easier within a few days. The more you do it the more capillaries in that area. I cried buckets the first few times thinking I was making such a mess of his ears. In a week he will be waiting at the testing table you'll see.

Great job!

Juliet and Silver

Thank you! :smile: I needed some encouragement! We decided to give Henry (and his ears) the night off tonight. His appetite is hearty as ever and he has been acting completely normal other than maybe some increased napping (normal for first few days on insulin, right?), so I'm trying to be patient with myself and also rein in the paranoia.

Another question: we just gave him his evening dose and I could smell the "Band-aid-y" smell on him afterward. Does that mean a fur shot? I did not feel any wetness at the injection site, but would I be likely to feel that at such a small dose (1U)?
 
Hold the head firmly lest you wind up with blood drops spattered about.
And have a cloth ready to wipe up same, just in case! (Why yes, that happened to me!)
 
BJM said:
Hold the head firmly lest you wind up with blood drops spattered about.
And have a cloth ready to wipe up same, just in case! (Why yes, that happened to me!)

Will do! And will find somewhere other than the white couch to test him on...
 
Are you offering him treats with each test? My kitty loves Pure Bites Freeze dried chicken- offer a treat with every single test, whether you get blood or not. I also give a treat with each shot. Pretty soon Tiger was waiting for me o her pillow in the kitchen, she loves those treats so much! Take a deep breath, then another one- it will get easier!
 
Tiger and Ruth said:
Are you offering him treats with each test? My kitty loves Pure Bites Freeze dried chicken- offer a treat with every single test, whether you get blood or not. I also give a treat with each shot. Pretty soon Tiger was waiting for me o her pillow in the kitchen, she loves those treats so much! Take a deep breath, then another one- it will get easier!

Yes, he's been getting a Halo Liv-a-Littles freeze-dried chicken treat or an Orijen freeze-dried lamb treat at every torture session. Usually his sister Olive comes nosing around for one too, which doesn't seem quite fair since she's done nothing to earn it! :lol:

Thanks for the pep talk! I'm determined to get a test tonight.
 
Two successful home tests in a row! And both blue! At PMPS last night he was at 142 and at AMPS this morning he was at 186. Of course, two steps forward, one step back: pretty sure I gave him a fur shot this morning. Which is especially annoying because he has his first glucose curve tomorrow at the vet's office. Speaking of, should I ask them to check my meter against theirs? Seems like the CVS Advanced is pretty new and I haven't seen anyone else using it on here.

Thanks again, all--I'm feeling a lot better now that we've gotten some home tests in successfully. (Even though it's still a two-person job.)
 
Congrats on getting those tests in!!! Home testing is the most important thing you can do to keep your guy safe- great job!!! :YMHUG: I had to lol reading your comment about sister Olive getting a treat without deserving it :lol: (Tiger is an only child :lol: ) If your vet is using an Alpha Trak, know that their reading will be higher. My vet uses One Touch, I use Relion Micro- we have never compared because all I really want to know is a ballpark range of what the BG is and if it is safe to shoot. Sorry about the furshot, it happens and your kitty will recover. You already know this I am sure, but if you suspect a fur shot, don't try to re-shoot as you will never know how much insulin got in. Great job!
 
Tiger and Ruth said:
Congrats on getting those tests in!!! Home testing is the most important thing you can do to keep your guy safe- great job!!! :YMHUG: I had to lol reading your comment about sister Olive getting a treat without deserving it :lol: (Tiger is an only child :lol: ) If your vet is using an Alpha Trak, know that their reading will be higher. My vet uses One Touch, I use Relion Micro- we have never compared because all I really want to know is a ballpark range of what the BG is and if it is safe to shoot. Sorry about the furshot, it happens and your kitty will recover. You already know this I am sure, but if you suspect a fur shot, don't try to re-shoot as you will never know how much insulin got in. Great job!

Thanks! Definitely did not reshoot after the suspected fur shot, so we are good there.

Miss Olive woke me up at 1:30 this morning horking up the aforementioned treats and then did it again when I gave her a couple mid-day, so no more of those for her! Henry will get to feel special again. :lol:
 
Miss Olive, please, no yakking up the special treats, especially no at 1:30AM! ohmygod_smile Good boy Henry! cat_pet_icon

One more thing, you may have not had experience with low numbers yet, but there is a sticky note for How to Handle Low Numbers- I would recommend that you print this out and keep it handy with a Hypo Kit( extra bottle of test strips; high carb food such as Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers; Karo Syrup or Honey) As your probably are aware, yesterday this site was shut down all day and all night. It doesn't happen a lot, but it did happen when I had just joined this forum as well.
 
Tiger and Ruth said:
Miss Olive, please, no yakking up the special treats, especially no at 1:30AM! ohmygod_smile Good boy Henry! cat_pet_icon

One more thing, you may have not had experience with low numbers yet, but there is a sticky note for How to Handle Low Numbers- I would recommend that you print this out and keep it handy with a Hypo Kit( extra bottle of test strips; high carb food such as Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers; Karo Syrup or Honey) As your probably are aware, yesterday this site was shut down all day and all night. It doesn't happen a lot, but it did happen when I had just joined this forum as well.

I joined the Facebook group yesterday when I realized the site was down, so I am doubly covered now! No experience with low numbers (just a lot of anxiety about them nailbite_smile), but I bookmarked the hypo page, bought the Karo syrup, and will buy more test strips this weekend. I have Olive's Blue Buffalo canned food and kibble as well as some Simply Nourish canned food with gravy, which should do in a pinch. I read on catinfo.org that pretty much all Blue Buffalo is high carb, much to my surprise. (I am trying not to think of all the money I could have saved over the years feeding FF vs. BB, not to mention the obvious health consequences.) As soon as we're through this batch, Olive's getting switched too. She's a hardcore kibble junkie, which is probably why the "good stuff" didn't agree with her, so it won't be fun. I don't free-feed and I watch them like a hawk at mealtimes so thankfully don't have to worry about Henry getting into any of hers.
 
It may be helpful to get a small bag of low carb food - Evo Cat and Kitten, Youg Again 0 Carb, or Orijen 90 - and first transition to that by about 20-25% per day. Then, all food in home is low carb.

After that, begin the canned transition.
 
BJM said:
It may be helpful to get a small bag of low carb food - Evo Cat and Kitten, Youg Again 0 Carb, or Orijen 90 - and first transition to that by about 20-25% per day. Then, all food in home is low carb.

After that, begin the canned transition.

I will do that; thanks for the food suggestions. Though she loves her kibble, Olive will eat *some* paté style canned food, so she's not averse to the texture. She's just extremely finicky about flavors, so it will take some experimentation. She has immediately walked away from the Fancy Feast options I've offered her. That would have been way too easy, wouldn't it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top