Moo moo looks so much like Minnie! I agree with Janet not a life sentence at all. You’re doing all the right things and already testing. It took me 6 months to figure it all out and much longer to get my baby back so Moo Moo will be himself again in no time.View attachment 52989 Hi my name is Erica, and my fur baby is moo moo. He is my world and has been with me through my own personal struggles with juvenile diabetes, kidney failure which ultimately led me to a kidney/pancreas transplant 8 years ago. I thought my days of seeing a glucose monitor and vial of insulin were long behind me but then out of the blue I had a seemingly healthy cat as of 3 days ago then he started distancing from me which has never been the case. I can’t even go to the bathroom without him on my lap. Only to find out yesterday he is diabetic. I was devastated I feel it’s a death sentence, I’m so scared. His BSL was 400 when diagnosed at the vet and she said it would take about 2 doses of insulin for him to start feeling a little more like himself. But he hasn’t, I checked his glucose today and it was 215 which I then called the vet and they said that was good. He is my world I know him like my own body and he’s not my moo moo. When will I get my baby back to me?
Welcome Erica and moo moo to FDMB. As Janet said diabetic cats can live for many years with the proper care. it sounds like you're already off to a great start by testing glucose levels. Do you know what test they used who determine moo moo is diabetic? Was it a fructosamine test? Do you know if they also tested for ketones?
Testing your cat's glucose levels before every shot is the best way how to manage your cat's diabetes. A good low carb canned or raw food diet and also a long-acting insulin also help with managing glucose levels.
Can you tell us what moo moo is eating? Also what insulin and dose did the vet prescribe?
No one likes to find out that their cat has been diagnosed with feline diabetes. However it is great that you found us. There is a lot of experience on this board and we are here to help you. Please ask any questions you may have. There are also a lot of resources on this website so when you get a chance review some of them.
Thank you guys so much!! He was put on the hills M/D but as of tonight hasn’t had too much interest in it so I gave him some FF classics that combined got enough food in him to give him his insulin. He is on 2 units every 12 hrs. But his sugar dropped a little today and I noticed him getting very lethargic and dazed but I had not received his meter from amazon yet so I put some honey on his gums and shortly after he perked up a bit. Shortly thereafter, amazon delivered his meter and we were able to check it and that’s when it was 215. Now, I’m a nervous wreck through the night. The vet said it was too soon to adjust even though the old diabetic in me wanted to, but I didn’t. I’m scared the appetite stimulant they gave him yesterday had worn off and I’m nervous about tomorrow morning for feeding. He even snubbed his favorite FF flavor for a while. I have 2 other kitties that I never had to even pick up their kibble yet because moo moo has no desire to even go to it, that’s how I definitely know he’s not himself including from the other reasons mentioned before. Will he ever be himself again?
Also, he had no ketones in his urine which I know from personal experience is good, but did have a trace of glucose that along with A blood panel being done which had showed his sugar level. What drives me crazy, though, is that on February 12 he was at the vet for tummy trouble and they did a blood panel and his bloodwork was perfect. His glucose was 118. He is overweight, and they said that can happen at anytime. I’m so thankful for this site! Even though he’s in the other room I miss him so much because he is not cuddling with me at this time. I hope that changes soon.
Also, he has diarrhea now and when I talked to the vet today they said is more than likely it’s from the abrupt food change from majority kibble to high protein wet food but that concerns me because he has a history of tummy trouble so I’ll monitor him tomorrow and call the vet if it’s still frequent and they’ll pull him in to make sure he’s not dehydrated. So now along with everything else I’m worried about this especially since I just calmed the household down from him returning yesterday from the vet and then again next Friday so they can do a curve on him. I’m a ball of tangled nerves and I’m trying not to be, because, I feel the cats can sense it especially, moo moo.

Thank you guys so much!! He was put on the hills M/D but as of tonight hasn’t had too much interest in it so I gave him some FF classics that combined got enough food in him to give him his insulin. He is on 2 units every 12 hrs. But his sugar dropped a little today and I noticed him getting very lethargic and dazed but I had not received his meter from amazon yet so I put some honey on his gums and shortly after he perked up a bit. Shortly thereafter, amazon delivered his meter and we were able to check it and that’s when it was 215. Now, I’m a nervous wreck through the night. The vet said it was too soon to adjust even though the old diabetic in me wanted to, but I didn’t. I’m scared the appetite stimulant they gave him yesterday had worn off and I’m nervous about tomorrow morning for feeding. He even snubbed his favorite FF flavor for a while. I have 2 other kitties that I never had to even pick up their kibble yet because moo moo has no desire to even go to it, that’s how I definitely know he’s not himself including from the other reasons mentioned before. Will he ever be himself again?
Also, he had no ketones in his urine which I know from personal experience is good, but did have a trace of glucose that along with A blood panel being done which had showed his sugar level. What drives me crazy, though, is that on February 12 he was at the vet for tummy trouble and they did a blood panel and his bloodwork was perfect. His glucose was 118. He is overweight, and they said that can happen at anytime. I’m so thankful for this site! Even though he’s in the other room I miss him so much because he is not cuddling with me at this time. I hope that changes soon.
Also, he has diarrhea now and when I talked to the vet today they said is more than likely it’s from the abrupt food change from majority kibble to high protein wet food but that concerns me because he has a history of tummy trouble so I’ll monitor him tomorrow and call the vet if it’s still frequent and they’ll pull him in to make sure he’s not dehydrated. So now along with everything else I’m worried about this especially since I just calmed the household down from him returning yesterday from the vet and then again next Friday so they can do a curve on him. I’m a ball of tangled nerves and I’m trying not to be, because, I feel the cats can sense it especially, moo moo.
Great job getting that spreadsheet going already! Moo moo is going to do great. I agree that the diet change is most lightly the cause of his tummy troubles. Give it a few days. It's a marathon, not a sprint! The recommended starting dose is 1 unit twice a day. I'm glad you are testing because 2 units is a high starting dose.another thought, you mentioned tummy issues. Is he on any probiotics? Folks here turned me onto S Boulardii which works also well to control the stool, but it takes a few weeks. Metronidazole first of its an emergency and that will give you time to try other things.

View attachment 52989 Hi my name is Erica, and my fur baby is moo moo. He is my world and has been with me through my own personal struggles with juvenile diabetes, kidney failure which ultimately led me to a kidney/pancreas transplant 8 years ago. I thought my days of seeing a glucose monitor and vial of insulin were long behind me but then out of the blue I had a seemingly healthy cat as of 3 days ago then he started distancing from me which has never been the case. I can’t even go to the bathroom without him on my lap. Only to find out yesterday he is diabetic. I was devastated I feel it’s a death sentence, I’m so scared. His BSL was 400 when diagnosed at the vet and she said it would take about 2 doses of insulin for him to start feeling a little more like himself. But he hasn’t, I checked his glucose today and it was 215 which I then called the vet and they said that was good. He is my world I know him like my own body and he’s not my moo moo. When will I get my baby back to me?
This melted my heart. So very sweet!Yeap curve at home is the way to go. I was lucky my vet suggested doing it myself and just emailing her the numbers. I think you’ll both be less stressed.
Meant to say yesterday, Minnie used to sleep on the bed with me in between my legs every night. That changed once she got sick and wasn’t feeling well and then because of the neuropathy too. So the first time she jumped on the bed with me again I cried like a baby. You’ll get your companion back. Hope you’re both doing okay today. You’re a fighter and I’m sure so is he!![]()


Thank you Peter! I was wondering how Monkey was doingHi. It is not a death sentence, not even close. You come to the right place. 3 weeks ago, the health of my cat Monkey was declining rapidly. He lost like one pound per week!But after I received TONS of help here, Monkey is recovering quickly. You can see my spreadsheet, his blood glucose is improving. Hope this can cheer you up.![]()

Hi Erica,
My name is Renee. My furbaby Mikey was diagnosed about a month ago. I too was so scared because he is the most loving, always wants to be on my lap and one day he did not meet me for my morning coffee. I do not want to give you medical advice, as I am to new to this experience. But I wanted to share my story...
You got this Erica! Your love for Moo Moo is going to carry you through this. Welcome to FDMB
- Found him hiding behind the couch with poop next to him. When I got him out saw that he was limping on his back leg.
- Took him to the vet and did every test you can imagine
- Started him on 1 unit of Glargine for one week. They also had me give him 1/4 of a Cerenia pill 15 minutes before his meal once a day for one week. This helps him with any upset stomach issues he could have with his transition of foods. I also switched him to Royal Canin Glycobalance Wet and Dry. He was already on Royal Canin so it was not a big change for him.
- Took him to my vet for a glucose curve ( see my spreadsheet if you like)
- Increased him to 2 units for one week
- Took him again to the vet for a glucose curve. The vet suggested to increase to 4 units because his glucose levels were still high but I went with my gut feeling and took him to 3 units for one week.
- The hardest part for me was a home glucose reading. Mikey does not like me even trimming his nails. But I knew this was the most important aspect of his treatment and I had to get it right. I knew his vet readings were not accurate because of the stress of being left at the vet all day.
- After the one week on 3 units, I could not help but wonder if I should have listened to the vet and did the 4 units. So I tried the 4 units morning and night and Mikey started hiding again and looked sleepy.
- I took him back to 3 units and about 2 days later I saw him sleepy again. That is when I was able to do my first glucose reading and it was a 60. I was scared and paused on the insulin. The next morning my vet wanted me to go back to 3 units
- That's when I found this great group. My confidence level is so much better now and Mikey feels that. He is also doing better, and laying next to me right now prrrring with one paw on my lap.
- He is on 2 units right now and will keep him on this dosage for a week and then I will do my glucose curve at home and adjust 1/4 or 1/2 increments if needed.
Welcome Erica , you are with the best experienced members you can be with
You didn't mention what insulin moo moo is and the dosage
I would also do the curve at home, will be less stress on moo moo
Just send the results to the vet.
You have been through a lot yourself, I'm glad you are OK
Moo moo is a handsome boy
We are all here to help you
Hi Peter!! Thank you for your kind words!! So far moo moo was doing great all last week until last night he started having diarrhea/vomiting again. Does monkey have these episodes as well? I’m just wanted to know is this just how feline diabetic life is? I would feel better knowing this is just part of the process.Hi. It is not a death sentence, not even close. You come to the right place. 3 weeks ago, the health of my cat Monkey was declining rapidly. He lost like one pound per week!But after I received TONS of help here, Monkey is recovering quickly. You can see my spreadsheet, his blood glucose is improving. Hope this can cheer you up.![]()
Hi we suggest here that you increase or decrease by .25 so it’s a slow progression. Vets will always tell you to adjust by full unit and we think that can miss the right dose which could be somewhere in between. Do you have 1/2 unit marked syringes?Hi Diane!! Sorry for the late response. It’s been a journey so far. Moo moo was doing very well the last week and then last night he started with the diarrhea and this morning vomiting again. I’m wondering is this just part of feline diabetic life? Do majority of the fur babies have problems with this? Moo moo has always had a history with tummy troubles as well. I thank you for your kind words. He is on 2units 2x daily of the prozinc long lasting. I did a curve at home Monday and his sugar level is always in the 400’s in the morning and average 250-300 though the day. I want them to be at least lower 200’s. I’m waiting for the vet to call back. If she tell me 3 units I’m going to only give 2.5 because when I give him 2units in the morning his BG drops to 200 from 450 only an 1.5 hours after injection. I think 2.5 will be perfect for him. I know the vet tell me not adjust myself but unfortunately, I do know too much about this diesease for 23 yrs I lived with it since I was 10yrs old until my transplants. It’s so ironic that I had thought I left all the glucose testing and insulin injections behind me 8 yrs ago. But it was way easier to monitor myself and know how I’m feeling than it is a my kitty who can’t tell me anything.
Ale, did you mean metronidazole?She also did have a bout of diarrhea and was prescribed metraconozole for that which really does get it regulated in a few days
Yes!! Urghhh metronidazole. Thank youAle, did you mean metronidazole?
p.s. I'm betting autocorrect did something funky to what you typed.

