Newly diagnosed kitty, difficult first week

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clarence & family

Member Since 2024
Hi, my 13 year old Siamese Clarence got the diagnosis FD last week on 7/24/2024, and we’ve started insulin (proZinc) the next day. We’re in the Netherlands, so we use the other kind of measurements. I’ve tried to do my best to quickly make a spreadsheet for the last couple days which is posted in my signature, I hope I did it right and it makes things easier.

When at the vet his BG was 29.32, fructosamine was around 600. I took him to the vet because I noticed him peeing more, drinking more and he was a bit hungrier than usual (he’s normally a VERY picky eater). He lost a bit of weight too, but not huge amounts. He was also less active and what was the most obvious was that his third eyelids were suddenly nearly constantly up.

They did more bloodwork except the BG and fructosamine, but the vet said they saw nothing really concerning otherwise, even though there were other measurements that were out of range. They said this is most likely because of mild dehydration or a minor infection. T4 was also tested and was 15 (normal 10-60 nmol/L. The other measurements that were out of range were:
ALT (GTP) 162 (normal 12-130 U/L)
MCHC 372 (normal 281-358 g/L)
RDW 31 (normal 15 - 27%)

we have no idea yet what caused his diabetes, he’s never been obese and hasn’t been given steroids.

We’ve started with 1.5U of prozinc twice daily and I’ve switched him to low carb food. He was already on mostly wet food, though it was slightly higher in carbs than recommended here (12%). He sometimes ate dry food that did have a lot of carbs though, but in general he’s not a huge fan of dry food. Or most wet foods…
Before getting insulin he would eat nearly any kind of wet food (but refused dry food completely) as he was pretty hungry. Now after starting insulin he’s back to being extremely picky even though his BG is still mostly high. He seemed to be feeling better immediately after starting prozinc at first, but he’s going up and down with how he’s feeling in the past couple days, and today he’s not feeling well.

I’ve got a BG meter (human, freedom lite) and after some struggles he lets me check his BG now. Poking his ear is a very clear NO, as is any freehand poking. He lets me use the pen on the beans of his hind feet like a trooper though. The second day(Saturday) we got 11.0 at +5 after the morning insulin, and the third day the AMPS was 14.5. But he got very lethargic during the day, and when I tested at +6 he was at 3.1 and not feeling well. I tested every hour and kept offering him (low carb) food. He did become more active but BG rose only slowly before dipping down again. +6 was 3.1, +7 was 3.5, +8 was 3.8, and then +9 down to 2.8. I then gave him high carb food which at +10 brought his BG up to 6.1. At PMPS it was 10.8. I was advised on a Dutch forum (and I’m sooo grateful for their help because I wouldn’t have known what to do as the vet wasn’t very concerned) to not give him insulin in the evening, and to give him 0.5U the next morning (sunday, yesterday) and for the next 3 cycles.
BG was 22.5 after skipping the insulin, and I gave him the 0.5. Tested BG at +6 again and that gave us 16.7.
He was very active that day, wanted food in the morning and played a lot during the day. He also snuggled up against our other cat again, which he did a lot less often lately. In the evening he didn’t really want to eat, I’ve had to give him 3 options of wet food before the would finally eat. He did want treats though, so he’s not feeling too bad to eat but not hungry either. I gave him 0.5U again last night. This morning AMPS was 20.5, but he again did not want to eat anything except treats. He’ll beg when I open the fridge, but any cat food is immediately ‘burried’. He finally ate half a can when our other cat tried to eat his food. So I gave him 0.5U again. He’s also very quiet and wants to sleep, except when I get his leash to go for a walk in de garden. Then he’s very active and trots around, but inside it’s back to sleep on the floor. I must say the weather’s very warm atm here.
I just did BG again and it’s now 20.4 at +4, so really no change since the AMPS.

He also REALLY hates the insulin shots, distracting him does not work, and holding him is very hard (he won’t use his nails or bite, but struggles a lot). As soon as he feels the needle go through his skin he tries to get away, at first he tried to crawl away, then to run, and now he launches himself which is only causing more pain… he even bends the needles. I now turn him into a burrito using a towel, but that’s not helping his willingness to accepts the shots. Unfortunately I have to do this alone most of the time as I don’t always have help available, and most are scared to hold him anyway which doesn’t help.
I make sure to tent the skin (he has very thin tight skin so I do have to pull a bit), stick quickly and at an angle, and try not to inject to quickly. But even when restrained he jerks his neck back or up into the needle. I also make sure the insulin is mixed and give it some time to get to room temp and roll it between my hands, but he really hates it. So tips about better injection techniques are also very welcome.
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum. You sound as if you are pretty organised and set up. The spreadsheet looks great.
Do you think you could add information into the signature please so we can see all about Clarence at a glance.
Information about how to do that is in this link HELP US HELP YOU
This link also has a link to the hypo box which I would encourage you to get set up asap incase it is needed.
I am wondering if Clarence could be a bit nauseated if he is reluctant to eat. I would ask your vet for some ondansetron or cerenia to see if that helps.
I am going to tag @Suzanne & Darcy for you as she is a Prozinc user and can help you with dosing advice and anything to do with Prozinc.
When giving the insulin have you tried letting him eat something yummy?
Try and always get at least one test in during the pm cycle as well as the am cycle as that is just as important and cats often drop lower at night.
looking at the spreadsheet it looks as if he is bouncing from the lower green numbers which he is not used to any more. Bouncing is very common in newly diagnosed cats. Here is an explanation on bouncing:’
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Here is a link to
Prozinc basics
PROZINC DOSING METHODS


Here is a photo of where you can give an insulin injection. Sometimes if you are giving it too deep, it can sting. Try and make sure it is not too far under the skin (subcutaneous)
upload_2024-7-29_23-29-41.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-29_23-29-41.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-29_23-29-41.jpeg
    52.3 KB · Views: 104
I’ll give the vet a call to see if I can get some anti nausea meds for him. He will still eat treats though and begs (yells, he’s a Siamese after all) for the ‘good stuff’ when I open the fridge. He likes cheese, roast beef and yoghurt, but any actual cat food is burried immediately and dramatically. Unfortunately he does that not only by scraping around the bowl, he likes to make it clear by mushing any kind of fabric he can find into his food bowl…. Today he found a dish towel, but he has in the past also used cleaning rags and small items of clothing. Nothing says I hate this food more than finding your underwear shoved into the bowl.
He’s always been very picky and this behavior is not abnormal for him. But with insulin he needs to eat!

I’ve tried giving the shots while he’s eating something yummy, but he’ll still run away and not touch the treats again. He even hides under the bed or couch after. I’ve ordered syringes with a shorter needle and they should arrive tomorrow or the day after, I’m hoping that will help a bit. The ones I got from the vet are 28 gauge and 12.7 mm long (half inch), the ones I ordered are 31 gauge and 8 mm long.

thanks for the info on ‘bouncing’! It eases my nerves a bit to know it’s fairly normal.
 
Yeah I did some research and saw that most use thinner needles, the ones the vet gave me are labeled for dogs ánd cats. Clarence weighs around 14 lbs 5oz and he’s a very large cat, but even a large cat and say a 50lbs dog is quite a difference! And as a bonus the thinner ones I ordered are much cheaper too, like a 3rd of the price. I ordered the BD microfine 0,5 mg U-40.

I know that Clarence’s weight might seem like a lot, but he’s huge. He’s a male but has some small tortie patches, when he was younger a vet told us he’s probably a klinefelter (or mosaic klinefelter) male, so XXY chromosomes instead of the normal XY. And Klinefelter cats tend to be very large. He scores between a 2-3 on a 1-9 body condition score now.
 
I will say that the first week is definitely rough - my cat also HATES her shots. If I try to attempt while she's eating, she will just move to the other side of the bowl, away from me, and keep eating, and will continue that dance. I'd probably say since he showed some aversion to the treats after trying that, it'd be best to get him used to the idea of shot = treat (so shot first, then treat immediately after). This has seemed to help me a little bit (though she definitely still struggles. So many times I'll get a good stick and just as I shoot, she jerks away from me and we get a furshot :( )

mostly I recommend trying to restrain as little as possible (it's a bit threatening), gain your confidence (they can totally tell we don't want to do this anymore than they do), and try to get him to understand shot then treat (as immediately after as you can manage). For Ember, who has been on a dry food diet most of her life (working on switching it), she gets her dry, then I prep her wet food and her insulin. She comes running because she wants that food lol and then I keep the wet food on the counter, shoot, and tell her she's such a good girl and give plenty of pats and then wet food.

It definitely will get better once you get into the rhythm. It is completely normal to not be a pro yet (you or Clarence!), it's all new and honestly very overwhelming (I've had a number of breakdown-and-cry moments holding a syringe of insulin on the kitchen floor because she just would not sit still for me that morning).

For position, I've found two ways that work. I am right-handed, so syringe in my right hand. The more restrained way was putting her flanks between my legs, and leaning off to the left side (basically using my left arm to help prevent her from dashing forward, her head in the crook of my elbow), using my left hand to tent the skin on her right side of chest. Syringe goes in from behind, and I usually poke her and wait a solid half-second to make sure she's not going to jerk away before pushing the plunger.
The second way is the same idea but with her laying in front of me so we form a T (her being the top, head off to the left) and doing the same thing as above plus a little bit of my right arm securing her butt.

She is used to the T position for her transdermal meds (she fights me on those too), so I think it's "annoying but not threatening" but I definitely had to go with the more restraining position for a while until we hit our groove (and I still get furshots lol).

You got this, even though it is overwhelming right now; definitely do whatever tricks you gotta do to get him to eat, and try associating shots and tests as "opportunities for extra treats". You are already miles ahead of where I was when I first started, it's just lifestyle/habit changes and those take time no matter what.
 
I’ve just tried holding him like you describe, just to practice without a shot, and I think I can do that! Especially the T-shape you describe, but instead of with my right arm behind his bum, I rest it on top of him. He jumps kinda forward but mostly up. You know those videos of cats spooking really bad and launching themselves into the air? That’s what he does and he’s pretty strong. Fortunately he does like being held tight, so holding him doesn’t stress him in itself.

As far as habit changes, we already have a cat, Bunker, who also needs medication 12 hours apart so I’m kind of used to that part. He’s been on anti seizure meds (phenobarbital) for nearly his whole life. He had encephalitis as a very young kitten caused by toxoplasmosis, and it left him with epilepsy and ataxia due to neurological damage, but 14 years later he’s still going strong!
 
I’ve just tried holding him like you describe, just to practice without a shot, and I think I can do that! Especially the T-shape you describe, but instead of with my right arm behind his bum, I rest it on top of him. He jumps kinda forward but mostly up. You know those videos of cats spooking really bad and launching themselves into the air? That’s what he does and he’s pretty strong. Fortunately he does like being held tight, so holding him doesn’t stress him in itself.

As far as habit changes, we already have a cat, Bunker, who also needs medication 12 hours apart so I’m kind of used to that part. He’s been on anti seizure meds (phenobarbital) for nearly his whole life. He had encephalitis as a very young kitten caused by toxoplasmosis, and it left him with epilepsy and ataxia due to neurological damage, but 14 years later he’s still going strong!

oh awesome! practicing without the shot is also brilliant (and probably also doing it after you start shooting that way, just so he doesn't always associate it with the shot could be good too). I had to kind of work around her side because she uses a Libre (human continuous glucose monitor) because I can't home test, and it usually goes on her right side, so I try to not disrupt that area. But I'm so glad that seems adaptable for you!! Having to go it alone has been one of the hardest parts, honestly. Sometimes you just need one extra hand.

And for the habit changes, it can be hard on both of you! It also creates this whole new dynamic in your relationship and that can be stressful. But you are already in the best place for being able to ask questions (here), and super knowledgeable, you'll totally get there! Just give yourself (and Clarence) grace to get used to it all :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top