Newly Diagnosed-First home BG tonight, started PZI today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya&MK

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone!

I found out about this board through Facebook. I am Tanya and 7 year old Mr. Kitty was diagnosed on 11/28/14. We started PZI this morning, 2 units BID. His BG was 597 at diagnosis, 343 today. Have been feeding him Friskies Pate last 6 days, I believe that's what brought it down. I am concerned 2 units to start might be too much with the food change.

I am attempting first home test here in a few mins, have 2 human glucometers Relion Confirm which I bought today, and a Free Style from a girl at work which has expired but still may use to calibrate/compare.

I wanted to introduce us and say thank you already for this site, I have been reading the past few days and it has helped tremendously!! I feel a lot of courage already to face this new journey. :mrgreen:

Tanya and Mr. Kitty
 
Hi Tanya, Welcome! I think you could be right that 2 units might be too much insulin (we suggest starting at .5 or one unit and increasing slowly and carefully, based on the blood glucose levels you get at home). Our Oliver went down 100 points from his nighttime number to the am one when we switched from high carb to low.

If ypu are testing, you can stay on top of his numbers. But if you want to be cautious, you could start at one unit, get preshot and mid cycle numbers and raise the dose by .25 as needed.

We put together a protocol for ProZinc. It's in blue type in my signature.
 
Thank you! I just completed my first home BG test on him!! BG was 549, but he has been eating dry food during the day (vet suggested to leave some out on first day since I had to leave). So I bet that is why it was up from this morning perhaps.

I think that gradual increase makes more sense than risking a low BG, I actually work as a health educator for Diabetics so I am familiar with the condition and I have seen lots of LBG happen with the patient started out with insulin, every-kitty is different I am sure.
 
Thanks Sue ...I "met" Tanya over on FB and encouraged her to come and post here where you guys can help advise on Prozinc. I'm using Lantus so no help to her at all.

Juliet
 
That's a great idea! I actually have 3 cats but I tested them tonight and they enjoy the Friske's Pate as well, so I will leave some out with water for them tomorrow.

I just checked his BG 5 mins ago, 346 (pre shot 549) I gave him 1 unit of PZI about 3 hours ago. I feel more comfortable with the 1 unit to start vs. 2 but I hate to go against what the vet said. I imagine vets are like Primary care doctors vs. an Endocrinologist though--they just have general knowledge of most disease vs. being an expert like the people of these boards who actually care for their cats full time.

I am glad to see it came down and I am happy I was able to start testing today! He is not happy with me right now though! But I'm sure he will adjust to the poking. :twisted:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top