Tomlin
Member Since 2019
Hi. I just joined the group. My cat is 12 years old & was diagnosed with chronic pancreatitis Fall 2014. He only had 2 issues with it (a year apart) but has been stable with no problems since his last issue in August 2015. He has been on Prednisolone & attempts to decrease it beyond 3.75mgs daily result in issues with his illness, so its not an option to change it. He's also eating mainly prescription Royal Canin Gastrointestinal Moderate Calorie wet food & occasionally snacks on the dry formula. He went in for his yearly exam on June 14 & his glucose was high so a frucotsamine test was done & that was also high. He was not symptomatic at all. He was started on 3 units of Vetsulin on June 17, but a Cornell U vet that specializes in pancreatitis was consulted & he suggested lowering the dose to 2 units, so he's been on the 2 units 2x/day since evening of June 19. We were asked to do some glucose measurements:
5/26 6+ it was 266 (he did eat some dry food 2h30mins before)
5/28 6+ it was 288
5/30 Pre Injection A.M. & Before Pred given it was 253 (ate some dry food 2h45mins before)
5/20 6+ it was 250 (ate some dry food 3h20min before)
The suggestion is to increase the dose to 3 IU. I've read quite a bit on this forum & it looks like people aren't fans of increasing the dose by 1 unit vs .25 or .50.
Would love thoughts. Obviously it also concerned me to see the advice not to shoot when BG is 200 or below & we aren't that far from that. Note: the readings were done using AlphaTrax AND my cat was definitely stressed for the last 3 readings because of multiple pricks to get the blood
!!
5/26 6+ it was 266 (he did eat some dry food 2h30mins before)
5/28 6+ it was 288
5/30 Pre Injection A.M. & Before Pred given it was 253 (ate some dry food 2h45mins before)
5/20 6+ it was 250 (ate some dry food 3h20min before)
The suggestion is to increase the dose to 3 IU. I've read quite a bit on this forum & it looks like people aren't fans of increasing the dose by 1 unit vs .25 or .50.
Would love thoughts. Obviously it also concerned me to see the advice not to shoot when BG is 200 or below & we aren't that far from that. Note: the readings were done using AlphaTrax AND my cat was definitely stressed for the last 3 readings because of multiple pricks to get the blood
