Newly diagnosed diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

memopad85

Member Since 2014
I took my nieces six year old cat, Mimi, yesterday to the vet for not eating and drinking for 2 days. They performed the usual tests and kept her overnight to rehydrate. Today we found out she has diabetes, and her blood sugar was 708. The vet said she is serious, but it will take time before she is back to normal. Mimi was given Prozinc, 2 units twice a day, and Hillspet W/D cat food (both dry and wet food). We've tried feeding her tonight after bring her home from the vet, both the new dry and wet food, as well as her normal wet food, but she is not interested in eating, thus cannot give her the insulin shot. Has anybody had a similar experience? If so, how can we get her to eat? Any help will be greatly appricated.
 
Welcome to FDMB.

Yes, sudden food switches often cause food refusals. Gradual switches of 20-25% different food each day tend to work better.

Since you are already giving insulin, we strongly advise you learn to test your cat's glucose levels. You'll need an inexpensive human glucometer, matching test strips, and 27-29 gauge lancets. Many of use use the WalMart ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro glucometer. If you prefer to shop elsewhere, use our SHOP link above and scroll down to American Diabetes Wholesale. Look up the Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini, which are unbranded versions of the Confirm.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

I took over care of my grandkitty, Hank, a month and a half after his diagnosis. My 26 year old son, who is out on his own, tried to take care of him but after the second check at the vet that was over 700, we asked again if he could bring Hank over to our house for us to take care of him. He finally agreed.

I've had Hank at my house now for almost 3 months. It was very overwhelming at first but has gotten a lot better.

So you need to know that it takes time and to be patient.

Hank is also on Prozinc which is one of the good long-lasting insulin's recommended.

About the food, when you are switching from one food to another, it should be done gradually. With Hank, he was a "dry food addict". It took 2 months for me to get Hank to even try the wet food. So you can mix the 2 foods and gradually decrease the old food.

You should check out the website, catinfo.org. It has some really good articles on the diet of cats. I didn't know that dry food was so bad for cats till I read articles there.

What most of us feed our sugar kitty's is either Fancy Feast or Friskies classic pate wet food. There is a chart on catinfo.org that we follow for carb counts. The food should have 10% or less carb counts.

Well, I don't want to overwhelm you so you have a good rest of the evening.

Any other questions, just ask away.

Kimmie
 
Thanks for the advice, and for the website, catinfo.org, I read through some of it and it was very helpful as well as the glucometer recommednations. As for the cat food, Friskies classic pate wet food is the regular food Mimi eats, so that's good (and since I read on catinfo.org, the W/D food is high in carbs, I won't have to keep buying that brand). I'm hoping she'll be hungry by tomorrow morning, she's been sleeping since she came home from the vet. Once again, thanks for the advice and the encouragement.
 
Just tell your vet that she wouldn't eat the food and they should refund your money.

Kimmie
 
Welcome to you and Mimi. Friskies pates are good, low carb choices. You have a good, mild insulin. And you are planning to home test. You are doing everything right to help your sweet Mimi. Fantastic!


I hope you can get a glucometer right away and start keeping track of her blood glucose levels. Two units is twice the usual starting dose we suggest - we like cats to start with .5 or one unit and slowly increase by .25 or .5 units, as your testing indicates. Most cats are stressed at the vet and since stress raises bg levels, often the dose suggested by those numbers can be too high once the cat gets home. We strongly suggest that new diabetics whose preshot number is under 200 not get a shot. We advocate stalling, waiting 20-30 minutes, without feeding which raises levels, and retest. If the number is rising, not falling, and 200 or above, give the shot, but maybe a little less than the previous shot.

We have put together a protocol for ProZinc. The link is in my signature in blue.
 
Big Boy, our 12 year old male cat was diagnosed with feline diabetes last month. We did a lot of research online to find out what wet and dry foods we could feed him and talked it over with his vet. We have switched all of our cats over to the same diet and notice a tremendous difference in our 12 year old cats, they are very active like their 6 month old siblings now. We changed over to EVO dry and been alternating between fancy feast, Friskies and EVO canned. Big Boy takes 2 units of insulin per day and eat both dry and wet kibble. We also give him the pleasure of drinking tuna flavored water that was recommended by a veterinarian online. When we last took him to the vet his blood glucose level had dropped from 456 down to 138 and the doctor was extremely pleased. He goes back this month for another check on his blood sugar. We found a lot of information about cat diabetes at http://www.catinfo.org. I have since found out that Tiki Canned is lower in carbs than the ones we had been purchasing so we are going to try this. Check your local pet stores or online, there are a lot more foods available for diabetic cats to eat than just the Hills and it's a lot cheaper. Be sure to talk it over with your cats vet before switching, our cats love the EVO canned and dry. They definitely eat it a lot better than the brands we bought before.
 
Thanks for the Prozinc protocol and encouraging stories. This morning, MImi still didn't want to eat, neither her regular wet food or the new Hills food; my niece was pretty much force feeding her by smashing up the wet food and putting a little bit of the food in her mouth a little at at time. Mimi did growl, but didn't try to resist or put up a fight and was able to keep the food down, as well the water that my niece gave her via a syringe. I'm currently looking at glucometers to buy later on this morning when I go run my errands. How long does it take on average for a newly diabetic cat to start eating on their own?
 
Welcome to you and Mimi,you have come to the right place! I can vouche for the Prozinc,it's a great choice! Wishing you much success!
 
Not eating is not a usual symptom of diabetes. Eating too much can be. Was she eating the Friskies before? Is there a special treat she likes that you could put on top? It is concerning if she won't eat. Some diabetic cats don't switch easily from their old food to a new one (especially dry to wet) and won't eat the new food. I'd keep trying to get her to eat - sometimes putting parmesan cheese or tuna juice on top helps.

Am I right that you haven't given insulin yet? Cats who don't eat and get too little insulin are in danger of getting ketones which can be very dangerous. When you get your glucometer supplies, pick up some ketone strips. (they are the same kind human diabetics use.) You can stick them in her urine stream and check for keyones. If she won't let you do that, we have ways to get it done.

Did the vet say anything else was wrong? Was there an infection of any kind? Diabetic cats can also have pancreatitis. Here is a thread about it. Do any of the symptoms sound right?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=83108

I don't want to scare you but you want her to eat. I'd keep working on that and get the testing supplies so you feel comfortable giving her insulin.
 
It's not good for cats to go too long without eating. I can't remember what the time frame is so if someone knows, please chime in with the answer.

She's not feeling good for her not to eat. My Hank, even when he was in the 700's, was still eating.

Have you got the meter yet to check her blood sugar level? Testing her would rule out that she's too low.

On a human meter, normal for a cat is 50-120. When it goes below 50, you should feed high carb wet food with gravy, some high carb kitty treats, corn syrup or honey (also can rub that on their gums) or high carb dry food. I think the saying here is, " highs kill slowly but low can kill quickly".

Have you read and printed out the article on what to do for hypo's? The article is on the main Health page of this forum. Maybe someone can copy/paste it to you.

I'm sure you're very concerned. I pray she starts eating soon for you.

Kimmie
 
2 or more days without eating may result in hepatic lipidosis, a potentially fatal condition which happens when there is so much fat breakdown for calories, that the fat overwhelms the liver and disrupts digestion severely.
 
The vet only said Mimi had diabetes and prescribed Prozinc. This morning my niece forced fed her wet food and water and gave her two units of insulin. I did buy a glucometer earlier today and checked her blood sugar, which was at 56. My niece did force feed her high carb wet food right afterwards as well as water. The vet did call not too long ago to check up on Mimi and I told him the same thing. The vet said when I check her blood sugar again tonight and if its noraml range, to skip the insulin dose. That's where we're at now, force feeding her and monitoring her blood sugar. Hopefully she'll start eating and drinking on her own soon. Also, should I have any concern if she hasn't used the litter box since she has been back home from the vet since last night?
 
Yes, I would be concerned that she hasn't used the litter box. Did you tell the vet about that? If she doesn't go soon, I would take her in. I suppose she could have a urinary tract infection.

How long after the shot was the 56? It's good you got some high carb in her. Do be aware that she may "bounce" up to a higher number later this evening. (when her body senses a lower number than she has been used to, it releases extra glucose and her number jumps up). If she were mine, I'd restart at one unit - as long as she is above 200 at shot time. And yes, watch her eating and I hope she uses the litter box soon. If she is not eating much, her numbers may be lower than they would be if she was eating well.

Just for reference: we generally think a cat is well regulated if they are in the lower 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir (5-7 hours after the shot) but not below 40 which is approaching hypo territory.
 
I didn't tell the vet about her not using the litter box, it didn't cross my mind until afterwards. Regarding her blood sugar of 56, the Prozinc was given at around 730am, and the blood sugar was taken at 1pm.
 
So that's about the nadir (lowest point)5-7 hours after the shot. A pretty good nadir. What is her number now and how long after the shot?

How many hours since she has urinated? I would be concerned about that if it has been more than 8 hours.
 
Mimi did urinate a few hours ago, I picked her up and put her in the litter and she went right away. I checked her blood surgar just before 7pm and it was at 22, gave her honey and 40 minutes later was at 46. I'm about to take her to the vet. Hoping she improves.
 
Take some honey with you and hopefully a passenger so they can monitor her and keep her numbers up. Glad she urinated. Hope she stays up above 40 and she won't need any vet intervention.
 
Just got home from the vet, Mimi's blood sugar stabilized and was at 107 when they did the blood work. Her electrolytes was slightly low, so they gave her fluids to help with that and gave us an appitite stimulate to give to Mimi to have her start eating in her own. The vet also decresed the Prozinc dosage from 2 units to 1 unit, and thata probably why her blood sugar dropped so much during the day. Will keep you guys updated.
 
That's great news! Thanks for the update.

So glad she is ok.

Also glad that the vet realized that the dose was too high. There's another saying here, "start low and go slow".

Get her through this.

I'm sure you feel better since taking her to the vet.

You're doing fine. Hang in there.

Kimmie
 
Update: I gave Mimi the appitite simulant last night after getting home from the vet. This morning her blood sugar was 156 and my niece still had to force feed her, but she had an easier time feeding her. Gave her 1 unit of insulin and let her rest till 1pm. We took her blood sugar at 1pm and it was at 170 and force fed her a little bit of food and water (she did put up a fight and was growling; she seemed to have a lot more energy). I put her in the litter box afterwards and she did urinate. Now she's laying on the cat post looking outside the window. I think right now she's just stressed out and annoyed by us bugging her a lot from having to take her blood sugar, feeding her and giving her insulin.
 
Awe...sounds like she's on the mend.

Glad she's feeling stronger. That's a good sign.

Hang in there.

Kimmie
 
I have a few more questions. I read the Prozinc protocol many times, just to be sure I understood it. For the most part, I do understand it, but regarding a preshot, if its less than 200, and remains under 200 after rechecking, do not shoot the insulin. Pretty much, Mimi will be skipping the dose until the next dosage? Also, since taking her to the vet after her hypoglycemic situation this past Saturday night, all she does is sleep. Is that normal? I'm assuming it is since she went through a lot since first being diagnosed as a diabetic last Friday with an initial blood sugar of 708, and now being on insulin and still trying to figure out the right dosage.
 
. I have a few more questions. I read the Prozinc protocol many times, just to be sure I understood it. For the most part, I do understand it, but regarding a preshot, if its less than 200, and remains under 200 after rechecking, do not shoot the insulin. Pretty much, Mimi will be skipping the dose until the next dosage? Also, since taking her to the vet after her hypoglycemic situation this past Saturday night, all she does is sleep. Is that normal? I'm assuming it is since she went through a lot since first being diagnosed as a diabetic last Friday with an initial blood sugar of 708, and now being on insulin and still trying to figure out the right dosage.

Yes. We generally suggest not shooting under 200 at first. Once you know what a particular dose will probably do for a preshot in a given range, you can shoot lower. Your job right now is to collect that data. :-D

I am not sure about her sleeping. What kind of numbers are you getting? Is she is going low, she might be sleepy. Also, she hasn't been eating well and has been in a struggle with you about her treatment. It could be that you both are tired. I'd watch her, be sure she is above 50 and eating.
 
After I bought a glucometer, the first one I took was this past Saturday:
7:00am BS=unknown (I bought a glucometer late morning) 2 units insulin given
1:10pm BS=54 and force fed her about 1/8 of a 5.5 oz can wet food
6:50pm BS=22, thats when I gave her honey and took her into the vet and they readjusted her dosage from 2 units to 1 unit, and when we left, her BS=176 around midnight

On Sunday:
7:00am BS=157 and fed her about 1/8 of 5.5 oz can wet food and 1 unit insulin
1:15pm BS= 170 and fed her 1/8 of 5.5 oz can wet food
7:03pm BS=262 and fed her 1/8 of 5.5 oz can wet food and 1 unit insulin

Today, Monday
7:45am BS=45 and fed her 1/4 can of 5.5 oz can wet food
9:10am BS=149.
1:00pm BS=55 and fed her a little less than 1/4 can of 5.5 oz can wet food

Before Mimi became a diabetic, she was never a big eater, when we fed her can wet food in the morning and evening, she would only about 1/8 to 1/4 and would nibble on dry kibble during the day. She's been eating Friskies classic pate for awhile now, long before she became a diabetic. As I said, she just sleeps a lot now, and when she's not sleeping, she just looks tired and stares at different things around the room, or looks outside the window.
 
A glucose of 45 mmg/dL on any meter earns an automatic 0.25 unit reduction in dose.

She may have gone much lower overnight, so you're lucky she is still with you.

Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top