Deric Smith
Member Since 2022
Hello.
I am new to this forum - thank you so much to everyone who contributes to this invaluable resource.
I am in the UK.
My cat Boo was recently diagnosed with Diabetes, CKD - and this ontop of osteoarthritis and a gum infection which requires multiple tooth extractions!
Boo is a 14 year old BSH. He was historically fed on a dry-food only diet, but when we adopted him at 5 years old, he was fed a mix of wet and dry food.
He cannot have the teeth removed because the vet wants to stabilise him first on the insulin. He lost a lot of weight very quickly (down to 3.2kg from 5kg) and has been extremely poorly.
Due to the complicated diagnosis the vet says the treatment for one may potentially exacerbate the other!
So, according to them, we need to prioritise the CKD.
We must feed him on Royal Canin Renal food, which is low protein, HIGH carb, to support his kidneys.
We must administer 2x daily insulin injections to manage the diabetes.
I do not agree with this treatment. This effectively sentences this poor cat to a lifetime on insulin with no chance of remission.
Having done a lot of research on this subject I have found a few academic papers which stated that the Diabetes should be prioritised and one should instead feed the cat a high (animal) protein, low carb, low phosphorous wet-food-only diet. I have been following this advice closely.
Vet in the meantime started Boo off on 0.5IU of Prozinc insulin. His BG curve initially ranged from 27.3 (highest) to 16.3 (lowest). At this dose I felt Boo seemed to be getting a little better, not drinking as much water and a healthy (not ravenous) appetite.
Vet increased the dose to 1IU and suddenly the BG results shot up. BG curve done today with reading ranging between 31.4 (highest) and 23.9 (lowest).
Why has the BG increased since the insulin does was increased? I've also noticed Boo seems to drink more water (he's drinking a substantial amount of water although maybe not as much as he was just before his diagnosis), he is also hungry all the time.
I cannot say how frequently he is urinating and I cannot test the urine, because he goes outside.
Only positive thing is he seems to have put on a bit of weight since his diagnosis two months ago (although not as much weight as you'd expect given how much he's eating). He's not very active although he does seem to be more stable on his feet than he was two months ago.
I am confused by a number of things and I hope this forum might steer me in the right direction. My aim is to get Boo into remission or stable as quickly as possible so we can attend to his sore gums and remove the rotten teeth. Long term I would like him off insulin because it's a total prison sentence for both him and my partner who cannot (won't!) leave the cat for longer than 12 hours.
1. Given both CKD and Diabetes, was the vet correct to prioritise CKD?
2. If I continue on the diet I am feeding Boo, will this cause any more harm to his kidneys and is there any chance of diabetes remission?
3. Why has his BG increased? I read that ongoing infections (particularly dental infections) could lead to stubbornly high BG readings (and the remedy is NOT to increase insulin, but to decrease it) - has anybody here had any experience of this and what would you advise?
4. Given the vet will not treat the underlying dental infection, what do you advise we try to try to reduce / remove this infection so that we can eliminate this as a possible reason for the stubbornly high BG?
Thanks again for your help.
I am new to this forum - thank you so much to everyone who contributes to this invaluable resource.
I am in the UK.
My cat Boo was recently diagnosed with Diabetes, CKD - and this ontop of osteoarthritis and a gum infection which requires multiple tooth extractions!
Boo is a 14 year old BSH. He was historically fed on a dry-food only diet, but when we adopted him at 5 years old, he was fed a mix of wet and dry food.
He cannot have the teeth removed because the vet wants to stabilise him first on the insulin. He lost a lot of weight very quickly (down to 3.2kg from 5kg) and has been extremely poorly.
Due to the complicated diagnosis the vet says the treatment for one may potentially exacerbate the other!
So, according to them, we need to prioritise the CKD.
We must feed him on Royal Canin Renal food, which is low protein, HIGH carb, to support his kidneys.
We must administer 2x daily insulin injections to manage the diabetes.
I do not agree with this treatment. This effectively sentences this poor cat to a lifetime on insulin with no chance of remission.
Having done a lot of research on this subject I have found a few academic papers which stated that the Diabetes should be prioritised and one should instead feed the cat a high (animal) protein, low carb, low phosphorous wet-food-only diet. I have been following this advice closely.
Vet in the meantime started Boo off on 0.5IU of Prozinc insulin. His BG curve initially ranged from 27.3 (highest) to 16.3 (lowest). At this dose I felt Boo seemed to be getting a little better, not drinking as much water and a healthy (not ravenous) appetite.
Vet increased the dose to 1IU and suddenly the BG results shot up. BG curve done today with reading ranging between 31.4 (highest) and 23.9 (lowest).
Why has the BG increased since the insulin does was increased? I've also noticed Boo seems to drink more water (he's drinking a substantial amount of water although maybe not as much as he was just before his diagnosis), he is also hungry all the time.
I cannot say how frequently he is urinating and I cannot test the urine, because he goes outside.
Only positive thing is he seems to have put on a bit of weight since his diagnosis two months ago (although not as much weight as you'd expect given how much he's eating). He's not very active although he does seem to be more stable on his feet than he was two months ago.
I am confused by a number of things and I hope this forum might steer me in the right direction. My aim is to get Boo into remission or stable as quickly as possible so we can attend to his sore gums and remove the rotten teeth. Long term I would like him off insulin because it's a total prison sentence for both him and my partner who cannot (won't!) leave the cat for longer than 12 hours.
1. Given both CKD and Diabetes, was the vet correct to prioritise CKD?
2. If I continue on the diet I am feeding Boo, will this cause any more harm to his kidneys and is there any chance of diabetes remission?
3. Why has his BG increased? I read that ongoing infections (particularly dental infections) could lead to stubbornly high BG readings (and the remedy is NOT to increase insulin, but to decrease it) - has anybody here had any experience of this and what would you advise?
4. Given the vet will not treat the underlying dental infection, what do you advise we try to try to reduce / remove this infection so that we can eliminate this as a possible reason for the stubbornly high BG?
Thanks again for your help.
Last edited: