Rhea & Majic
New Member
Hi All -
Our darling Majic, an 8 - 10 year old domestic short hair rescue cat, was recently diagnosed with Cushings after Dex, ACTH and Ultrasound tests. It all began back in December when she started peeing outside her box and drinking excessively that we suspected something was wrong and took her in for tests. At first we all believed she was a diabetic and started her on Lantus and TR. However, once I began researching her symptoms more this led us to Cushings as well. She has a pot belly, folded over ears, fragile skin (not too bad), hair that won't grow back quickly, excessive thirst, etc. She had an Ultrasound which confirmed dual enlarged adrenal glands but not tumor. She is currently taking Lantus, 2u twice daily but her BGs consistently read in 220 range morning and evening. Once I got a reading of 90 at 1pm in the middle of the day at 1pm but that seemed to be an anomaly. We've done a curve and then slowly increased her insulin dose but nothing seems to help get her BG's under 200. She was given her first does of Vetoryl (10mg) yesterday once daily and we'll closely monitor her BG's to ensure we've not giving her too much insulin.
I know there aren't of us with a cat with Cushings but any help, comments, observations or guidance would be welcomed and appreciated.
She was also diagnosed with Cholangitis but has almost finished her meds for this and seems to be feeling better, moving around much more and generally looks healthier.
Clinically she seems okay. She eats well, isn't listless, but still pees outside her box from time to time. And, this morning she pooped on a floor in a bathroom.
I understand from reading the forum Acromegaly is more common and has all the similar symptoms of Cushings. Can anyone comment on this?
I have attached a log of her BG's just in case you want to see these. I have not noted every dose of insulin provided to her unless it was a change meaning an increase up to 2u from 1u or 1.25u
Thanks in advance for sharing anything you feel that would helpful for us.
Our darling Majic, an 8 - 10 year old domestic short hair rescue cat, was recently diagnosed with Cushings after Dex, ACTH and Ultrasound tests. It all began back in December when she started peeing outside her box and drinking excessively that we suspected something was wrong and took her in for tests. At first we all believed she was a diabetic and started her on Lantus and TR. However, once I began researching her symptoms more this led us to Cushings as well. She has a pot belly, folded over ears, fragile skin (not too bad), hair that won't grow back quickly, excessive thirst, etc. She had an Ultrasound which confirmed dual enlarged adrenal glands but not tumor. She is currently taking Lantus, 2u twice daily but her BGs consistently read in 220 range morning and evening. Once I got a reading of 90 at 1pm in the middle of the day at 1pm but that seemed to be an anomaly. We've done a curve and then slowly increased her insulin dose but nothing seems to help get her BG's under 200. She was given her first does of Vetoryl (10mg) yesterday once daily and we'll closely monitor her BG's to ensure we've not giving her too much insulin.
I know there aren't of us with a cat with Cushings but any help, comments, observations or guidance would be welcomed and appreciated.
She was also diagnosed with Cholangitis but has almost finished her meds for this and seems to be feeling better, moving around much more and generally looks healthier.
Clinically she seems okay. She eats well, isn't listless, but still pees outside her box from time to time. And, this morning she pooped on a floor in a bathroom.
I understand from reading the forum Acromegaly is more common and has all the similar symptoms of Cushings. Can anyone comment on this?
I have attached a log of her BG's just in case you want to see these. I have not noted every dose of insulin provided to her unless it was a change meaning an increase up to 2u from 1u or 1.25u
Thanks in advance for sharing anything you feel that would helpful for us.