Welcome to FDMB.
What is your kitty's name?
Most of us in the Lantus Tight Regulation Insulin Support Group follow the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol.
The TR protocol was developed based upon the premise that a cat's pancreas may be able to heal and return to producing insulin if the cat's BG is kept in a normal range, ie, 50-120. Caregivers following this protocol adjust insulin doses following the protocol guidelines, to aim for that range. Basic information on the TR is here
TR Protocol. If you want to follow the TR protocol, we strongly encourage you to post daily in the Lantus TR insulin support forum for a while to learn more about how it all works. The starting dose
for those following the TR protocol is .25u/kg of kitty's
ideal weight. If kitty is underweight, the formula frequently used is 0.25 unit per kg of kitty's actual weight. Requisites for following a TR protocol with Lantus or Levemir include:
• Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir. Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9. More monitoring may be needed.
• It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
• Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
• Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
• Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
• Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
• Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.
The Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) protocol has caregivers start with an initial dose based upon the BG at diagnosis and whether kitty has been transitioned to a wet low carb diet, hold that dose for a week or two while testing for ketones regularly, being consistent with food and shooting every 12 hours. Once a week a curve is done (test every 2 hours for one cycle) to check for the lowest point. the low number in that curve determines any dose change for the following week. Basic information on the SLGS protocol is here
SLGS. If you want to follow the SLGS protocol, you can post for advice on the TR ISG, the Relaxed Lantus or Main health for guidance and support.
Generally, we do not raise doses by 1u at a time. Regardless of either protocol used, that is too much, too fast. It's easy to go over a kitty's "fitting" dose by going up that much. Our increases are much more conservative....typically .25u every six cycles unless kitty's nadirs are above 300. Then we would only increase, in general, by .5u every six cycles.